Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: LOI Fixtures October 14th-17th

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Any word on where he'll go or if he'll stay? I'd love to see him at Dundalk. McMillan has scored 15 league goals this season, a fit Christy Fagan would be getting nearly 30 in that team.
    Nope, no inside info. Can't see him staying though, unfortunately. I'd imagine you lot are probably favourites to get him, now that you've got literally gazillions in the bank (bastids )

Hope he's a massive flop for you (not bitter as you can see )
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

A top-quality striker and goalkeeper are probably the only things Dundalk are missing, and even so they've got on pretty well without. A fit Fagan up there would be ominous for Cork and the rest of the league.

33 Posts
    Drogs 2:1 UCD
    Drogheda had the better of the opening minutes, hitting the post. UCD had chances to win but Stephen McGuinness was excellent. Stretched full length in the first half. Then twice pushed efforts onto the bar from Jay Mclelland and Greg Sloggett.

UCD FANS were well looked after by Drogheda Utd. Best of Luck in the Play-Offs.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    A top-quality striker and goalkeeper are probably the only things Dundalk are missing, and even so they've got on pretty well without. A fit Fagan up there would be ominous for Cork and the rest of the league.
    Apart from a goalkeeper and striker, I'd also expect Stephen Kenny to be targeting a right winger plus a replacement for Horgan if he moves.

There may be further recruitment, depending on what other squad players move on

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I'd also expect Stephen Kenny to be targeting a right winger
    Chris Turner?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Chris Turner?
    Can Gary Twigg play right wing?

Edit: There is probably as much chance of Neale Fenn being offered terms as either of the above
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 15/10/2016 at 10:19 PM.

22 Posts
    Thanks.
    thought it was odd but actually probably to be expected.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    In fairness to Stephen bradley he's ditched a lot of seasoned pros rather then continue with guys with poor attitudes...he has almost (quick prayer) qualified us for europe when under fenlen it looked unlikely...he's also blooded a load of young guys that will grow for the experience. Id give him a cracker at next season.
    Ye were fourth with Fenlon (29 points from 16 matches) and still fourth with Bradley (22 points from 15 matches). Europe was maybe looking unlikely with Fenlon as it looked like it might only be the top 3 in the league that got it. Definitely gone backwards since the switch but it's the LOI so everything could change next season.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Titan View Post
    Why was the shels v Waterford game "interrupted" does anyone know?
    BD protest over the move to Dalymount

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TytEmFoipWQ

That's the biggest turnout of them I've seen in about ten years.

They should do kiddie candle waving day every week.

696 Posts
    [QUOTE=Nah Nah Nah Nah;1894447]Ye were fourth with Fenlon (29 points from 16 matches) and still fourth with Bradley (22 points from 15 matches). Europe was maybe looking unlikely with Fenlon as it looked like it might only be the top 3 in the league that got it. Definitely gone backwards since the switch but it's the LOI so everything could change next season

I agree with the points per game but if fenlon was still here we would be in about the same position playing dull and boring football with none of the young players getting a look in. We are in a far better place now, we just need to sign some decent senior pros with the right attitude.

3,491 Posts
    Nice of the Shels fans to hit the keeper with the flare. ****s.

Hard to have too much sympathy for them really given they sold their ground years ago and were happy to enjoy the days out in the sun it bought them.

Anyways, off to Tolka again next season, annoyingly. Thought we were a better technical side than Drogheda, but struggled to create too many openings. Drogheda had an advantage in that they could afford to sit back and hit us on the break, which they did well. But still, hardly out of the top three all season, hit the bar twice in the last match, couple of penalty calls turned down, and then dumped down to fourth on the last day. Not fun...

105 Posts
    That's the biggest turnout of them I've seen in about ten years.

They should do kiddie candle waving day every week.
    You must be a OAP. Most BD lads are in their 20s and 30s

It's kind of hard for me to know. Most BD lads don't go to games and I'm not a member.

I withdraw my comment. Those are mainly fully grown men showing up for one game to protest against nothing.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Of those who played last night, it is hard to see Trevor Clarke, Sean Boyd, Sean Heaney, James Doona or Luke Kiely turning into medal winners at Shamrock Rovers next season.
    Maybe not next season but youve got to remember their ages and especially Clarke (out of position due to Osam and Byrne being out for the season pretty much) and Boyd have been really good this year. Heaney has the makings of a very good defender and id back him to make a real impact next year with the right center back partner(s). So yeah maybe not league winners next year without serious additions but a 2nd/3rd finish would be great then maybe in two seasons push for the league. Thats the problem with the LOI everyone only looks to the next year instead of 3/5 years down the line and id much rather win regular titles down the line with a bunch of players developed in the club than win one next year then none for a while then another with the same old journey men.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Simon Madden is in serious decline. Rovers would be well rid of him.
    Are you being sarcastic or do you just not know who Madden is? Been brilliant all year and still probably one of the best right backs in the league.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Are you being sarcastic or do you just not know who Madden is? Been brilliant all year and still probably one of the best right backs in the league.
    I watched him, home and away, for a couple of seasons when he was the best right back in the league.

Fair play to you for spending that much time following Derry City up and down the country.

229 Posts
    Fair play to Cobh for making the play-offs.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Pats 1 up on us, Fagan with the goal

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast