Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: LOI fixtures Friday 7th - Tuesday 11th October.

637 Posts
    Might even persuade the wife that the roads from cobh are bad and it needs to be an overnight : )

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Were ye fortunate to have an intermediary league in which to get by when ye were rebuilding?
    It did no harm to us to be fair, kept us in the picture, especially when we played off against salthill back in 2011, I remember a huge crowd up from Cobh for the away leg, it said to me that there was still an appetite for loi even though the club was in the doldrums at the time.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

56 Posts
    They do occasionally take the roads in for the night. You can use that excuse, it really works!
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

812 Posts
    [QUOTE=Darklordsbane;1893410]
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Agree. Mathews has done more with them in a couple of months than Big Yann had a shocker I'd be surprised if he's picked again.

Big Yann was player of the month for September how they came up with that is mind boggling for me anyway, agree with you I wouldn't pick him again either, but then I'd have left him out after the Wexford game, not all his fault thought to be fair to him, no protection for the back 4 from midfield regardless of who plays
    Sure nobody even knows who picks that anymore, it use to be open to all fans to text in but like everything else at the club it's a big fecking secret these days.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    True enough, we don't have a defensively minded midfielder in the squad. Kevin O'Connor's legs have gone and Gannon can't tackle.
    Gannon had his best game in a town shirt since last season last night. Agree with you he isn't a holding player but when he moves the ball he's quite a good passer of the ball but sadly we don't see this enough from him. If he played like he did last night week in week out in the FD he could be a good player for us. Mathews seems to have time for him anyway so don't be surprised to see him sign back for next year. Personally I think this squads mentality is rotten, they had the chance to turn things around last night and plain out bottled it. Apparently Mathews said he might look to bring in 14 or 15 new players next season and I'd totally agree with him Doing So. Tear this rubbish squad apart and start fresh.

1,081 Posts
    I would expect there to be a large turnover of players all right. There are a few he likes though by all accounts, Gannon as you mentioned, Davy, Cowan, and McGlynn also. Whether we can keep them is another question.

812 Posts
    Wouldn't cry if we didn't keep any. Davy would score goals in the FD, Don is hit and miss and mcglynn is one of the first I'd show the door tbh. We need 4 proper out and out wingers in the squad next season. It's been a problem for years now

218 Posts
    Mathews has already started the clear out for next season. Good to see him getting things sorted this early.

194 Posts
    Fair play Harps,kept going to get a late draw against Pats in FP.
    Prob safe now?

2,337 Posts
    Absolutely fantastic last 20 minutes in Finn Park and a beautiful strike by Houston to equalise.

Injuries hitting hard now and looks like Keith Cowans season could be over at Finn Park after being taken off on a stretcher tonight.

342 Posts
    Important point for Harps and another goal from Houston who's been a great signing for us,Pats looked pretty disinterested tbh and we actually hit the post after we scored.
    Says a lot about Pats at the minute when their Facebook page couldn't even be bothered mentioning that their first team had a game tonight , big changes coming there I'd imagine.

2,337 Posts
    Sean Houstons equaliser for Harps in the 91st minute.

Cowan is 100% out for the season, cruciate and broken fibula - He is due to head to either Belfast or Dublin today for operation - long road ahead to recover
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    Cowan is 100% out for the season, cruciate and broken fibula - He is due to head to either Belfast or Dublin today for operation - long road ahead to recover
    Ah christ, that's awful. Michael Black, the fitness coach, was saying nothing was broken as he was being carted off in the ambulance, so it's pretty devastating for all involved there is a break.

That's career threatening stuff there.

EDIT:

Ollie Horgan given a new one year deal at Harps:

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/ollie...ct-finn-harps/
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 12/10/2016 at 11:12 AM.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post

Ollie Horgan given a new one year deal at Harps:

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/ollie...ct-finn-harps/
    I suppose that quashes the Shamrock Rovers rumours then?

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I suppose that quashes the Shamrock Rovers rumours then?
    There was a Shamrock Rovers rumour?

I know there was rumours he was in for the Galway job, but never heard a thing about Rovers.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    There was a Shamrock Rovers rumour?

I know there was rumours he was in for the Galway job, but never heard a thing about Rovers.
    Neither did Rovers apparently
    He's done a good job at harps & good luck to him.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234