Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: LOI & FAI Cup fixtures w/e 2/9/16

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Apparently, there are 30 Dundalk fans being hid in pub by a brave landlord while a mob of locals try to get in to attack them. Fans are calling the police who tell them that they can't enter the area as it is "unsafe". Is this Ireland in the 21st century?
    I know there's a whole 'history and whataboutry' regarding policing in NI but for one of Her Majesty's Constabularies, and the only fully armed and a very well equipped one at that, to state it was 'unsafe' for them to respond just beggars belief.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Hopefully one of the benefits of Brexit will be the removal of Derry from our league as their cavalier look the other way attitude to away fan safety just isn't acceptable and it appears they have no appetite/inclination/or capability of doing anything about it.
    A worrying part of Derry's set up is the policing of this area, we all know the brandywell area has challenges and that the club have struggled to maintain security around the ground, it has to be pointed though out that these type of incidents on away supporters are usually carried out by small mobs from adjoining estates who weren't even at the match.

However in late 2016, it's ridiculous that the Police cannot be called to attend to serious incidents outside or near a football grounds,with the response 'We don't go there'

Has it not been the case in NI that the PSNI have said 'there are zero no go areas for us', it seems ridiculous if this is still not the case. There are plenty of areas around South Armagh for example that I have seen PSNI patrols of late, and for the first time in probably decades.

I was told by two who were at the match that it should be mentioned that DCFC stewards and Derry fans were a great assistance to Dundalk fans last night. However the latest incident is not good news.

Anyway back to football, Derry should still make Europe and that will have to be seen as a successful season. I think there was 3,000 at the match last night, so that shows there is scope for good support. Shiels may be a bit of a crackpot but he's done a very good job this season, no doubt about that.
    Last edited by oriel; 05/10/2016 at 12:17 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I was told by two who were at the match that it should be mentioned that DCFC stewards and Derry fans were a great assistance to Dundalk fans last night. However the latest incident is not good news.
    I meant to acknowledge this too in my earlier post. In general, Derry supporters are a great bunch and great craic, whether as visitors to Oriel or as hosts in Derry.

However that does not mask the problem, and it is clear that it is not being dealt with effectively as these incidents rumble on from one season to the next.

It cannot wait for a serious injury or fatality to occur

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Oh dear - there was I thinking that they still used the league table!

If Cork finish as champions, I'll doff my cap to you sir. Until then I'll still believe the evidence of my own eyes
    League table is irrelevant in a cup final...

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    League table is irrelevant in a cup final...
    LOL

But the Presidents Cup win and your two league wins over Dundalk are relevant?

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    LOL

But the Presidents Cup win and your two league wins over Dundalk are relevant?
    When talking about the cup final yes, in terms of teh gap between the teams in head to head games.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    When talking about the cup final yes, in terms of teh gap between the teams in head to head games.
    They were three very different games. I wouldn't place any importance on a pre-season friendly. Teams use these to build up fitness levels and to experiment with formations.

The game in Oriel was very even, as even as the 2014 decider and the game in 2015.

The key game from Cork's perspective was the game in Turners Cross in June. Cork won that comprehensively by outplaying Dundalk. It was a better performance than the 5-0 win in Tallaght, in my opinion.

2,446 Posts
    Poor quality video, but, regardless, Cretaro couldn't have possibly put this further into the air. Quality.

195 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post

One weird moment was after Kilduff scored and started aggressively goading us. We were left thinking 'we did we do to ye?'. I quite like Kilduff and Dundalk in general, thought it was strange. Kind of reminded me of when Gerard Doherty done the same thing in Turner's Cross. They haven't forgiven him since, it's pretty funny.
    A can of beer was thrown at Killer when he scored.If it had've been me i'd have climbed in to the stand to get the wee scrote who threw it and fu*k the "goading" as you call it.

Some win for Dundalk and an excellent match.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    A worrying part of Derry's set up is the policing of this area, we all know the brandywell area has challenges and that the club have struggled to maintain security around the ground, it has to be pointed though out that these type of incidents on away supporters are usually carried out by small mobs from adjoining estates who weren't even at the match.

However in late 2016, it's ridiculous that the Police cannot be called to attend to serious incidents outside or near a football grounds,with the response 'We don't go there'

Has it not been the case in NI that the PSNI have said 'there are zero no go areas for us', it seems ridiculous if this is still not the case. There are plenty of areas around South Armagh for example that I have seen PSNI patrols of late, and for the first time in probably decades.

What the PSNI say and the reality are two different beasts. There are effective no-go areas in NI, and the Brandywell is just one.

The situation is unsustainable and I think the club has failed to address it. They are right to point out a certain amount of powerlessness, but they can, of course, control where and how away fans enter and exit the ground. That might not entirely solve the issue but to not try something at this point would be a major dereliction. It's embarrassing tbh.

There are zero quick answers to this problem but the club can't sit on its hands or simply say it'll do more with the community. The least fans deserve when travelling to football is to know they will get home safe.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

1,552 Posts
    Piece in Derry Journal- DCFC to meet PSNI. http://www.derryjournal.com/news/cri...acks-1-7614959

Just read this also: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/cri...fans-1-7614274

Colr. Donnelly posted: “Windows were broken, tyres slashed and ‘UTH’ and other slogans sprayed on it.
    What the flip is that about? Does UTH have some meaning I don't know about or were these wee scrotes declaring their allegiance to the Harps?
    Last edited by Mr A; 05/10/2016 at 4:50 PM.

2,446 Posts
    It's the same gombeens who caused a stir in Finn Park earlier this season. They call themselves City Service Crew and are all between around 15 and 18 years old.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Piece in Derry Journal- DCFC to meet PSNI. http://www.derryjournal.com/news/cri...acks-1-7614959

What the flip is that about? Does UTH have some meaning I don't know about or were these wee scrotes declaring their allegiance to the Harps?
    Up The Hoods supposedly.

195 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It's the same gombeens who caused a stir in Finn Park earlier this season. They call themselves City Service Crew and are all between around 15 and 18 years old.
    In all fairness to them they run a good bus service More reliable than that Harps54 crew i hear

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    In all fairness to them they run a good bus service More reliable than that Harps54 crew i hear
    Buses wouldn't be good craic if they were reliable.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I'm pretty sure those involved in the hassle outside the Brandywell probably haven't set foot inside a League of Ireland game for a long time, if at all. Its local scrotes out to cause bother, nothing to do with football.

195 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    I'm pretty sure those involved in the hassle outside the Brandywell probably haven't set foot inside a League of Ireland game for a long time, if at all. Its local scrotes out to cause bother, nothing to do with football.
    It is if football supporters keep getting attacked

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    It is if football supporters keep getting attacked
    If you get punched outside a shop, does that mean it's a problem with retail ?

It wasn't one set of football fans attacking another, which is what was being claimed earlier on here.

It was a group of hoods who hadn't been at the game attacking outsiders for sh!ts and giggles. No doubt they'd have been there had it been a late night game of any other sport, so it wasn't specifically about football. They're probably also picking fights with other young lads in the neighbourhood the rest of the time. It wasn't football-related or football-inspired.

1,552 Posts
    Then why did they attack Dundalk fans rather than home fans?

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast