Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: LOI fixtures Friday 23rd & Sat 24th Sept.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.

He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!

Title race far from over, insists Cork City boss Caulfield
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...medium=twitter

125 Posts
    It's far from over. 7pts with a game in hand and you still have to play your rivals.

There is still plenty to play for. Especially when both clubs have to squeeze 7 (dundalk ) 8 (cork) along with fai semi final with a potential replay in 33 days.

I still believe 75 will do it for either club.
    The week after the semi finals also now is massive for both. Dundalk have cork squeezed between sligo and rovers .I think Cork have harps and galway at home

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    It's far from over.
    Exactly. If Cork beat Dundalk and Dundalk draw another game it's back in Cork's hands. A game at a time as they say.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

382 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    They're 4th

Until Tuesday
    Ok I'll give you that Charlie, I should of course said 'were 3rd'
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

382 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.

He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...medium=twitter
    It's a set back for Cork, that's all, and we might slip up in again, however it most certainly is not over, advantage Dundalk, that's it.
    Last edited by oriel; 25/09/2016 at 12:47 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    It's a set back for Cork, that's all, and we might slip up in again, however it's most certainly not over, advantage Dundalk, that's it.
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    It's far from over. 7pts with a game in hand and you still have to play your rivals.
    Of course it's still possible for Cork to catch Dundalk

The bookies think it unlikely (Dundalk 1/4, Cork 11/4), and judging from the quotes from that report Caulfield thinks so to.

909 Posts
    JC cant make his mind up as earlier in the season he was saying the league was almost done for Cork.

555 Posts
    I wouldn't read too much into Caulfield's comments. He was interviewed just after the game and must have been frustrated not to get the win. A draw in Sligo is not a disaster but he realises that Cork have less leeway for slip ups than Dundalk. It must be very frustrating to him and to Cork fans that they have not yet been able to capitalise when Dundalk drop points. Once a team begins to doubt itself, it gets a lot harder.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Yeah it's massively frustrating when dundalk have slipped up, we have been unable to capitalize. We have lost less games than dundalk but we have drawn 5 more than they have. Some of them draws could be good ones but ones like the wexford game at home where we had enough chances to win 10 games, that was one we definitely left behind. It can change over the next few weeks, but I'd much rather be in dundalks position right now.

382 Posts
    Drawing too many games is not good, can make it very difficult to claw back points. Dundalk had drawn only one match prior to last Tuesday, while last night was Cork's 7th. There will probably be more opportunities for Cork to try and reduce the gap, but the trend all season has seen them fail to take advantage.

I think the period in early August could turn out to be the turning point of the season, when Dundalk lost 2 in a row away to Galway and Bray, then Cork lost at home to Sligo then drew also at home, to Bohs.

Looking back its almost unbelievable, that a grand total of 1 point was picked up by both Dundalk and Cork that week.

96 Posts
    Cork looked like they were set up to take a point last night, hard to understand for a team supposed to be chasing the title. Cork under Caulfield are like British Labour under Corbyn, resigned to eternal principled opposition, though without the principles.

835 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Disappointing to hear as Derry fans are usually always accommodated in the Lilywhite lounge, maybe you were in the ground? as I saw a good few Derry fans in the upstairs bar at HT. I always recommend away fans if it suits them to go to the stand, extra fiver but full access to the bar and better options for toilets and food and drink. On the match, I was impressed with Derry, its clear to see why they are 3rd, and definitely one of the better sides to visit this season.

On tonight's match, I thought it would be tough for Cork, but expected a narrow win for them, decent result for Sligo and I think that's them unbeaten now v Cork all season? There will be more twists and turns for sure for both Cork and Dlk but for now its advantage Dundalk, but that's all it is really.
    They kept us back for about 20 minutes last season and same craic a line of fences and gardai. all it did was cause problems when there were none in the first place.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Cork looked like they were set up to take a point last night, hard to understand for a team supposed to be chasing the title. Cork under Caulfield are like British Labour under Corbyn, resigned to eternal principled opposition, though without the principles.
    They weren't like that in Tallaght against Shamrock Rovers. Perhaps they had more respect for Sligo Rovers.

542 Posts
    true about Dundalk last season Outspoken. that was the start of the decline in our vocal support of the team with the trouble with the FAI with the flares and certain fans of ours being wrongly blamed for holding them!

835 Posts
    true about Dundalk last season Outspoken. that was the start of the decline in our vocal support of the team with the trouble with the FAI with the flares and certain fans of ours being wrongly blamed for holding them!
    I was just talking about the heavy handed stewards and gardai but anyway.

96 Posts
    Stewarding at Longford totally OTT,.
    private security firms in LOI ground s are a turn off, how many clubs so their ground security in house?

577 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Stewarding at Longford totally OTT,.
    private security firms in LOI ground s are a turn off, how many clubs so their ground security in house?
    Seems to be a complaint every year, sorry to hear. There's nothing more aggrivating than stewards treating you like you've done something wrong, just because you want to go see some football.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Seems to be a complaint every year, sorry to hear. There's nothing more aggrivating than stewards treating you like you've done something wrong, just because you want to go see some football.
    You should probably put the flares away then.

577 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    You should probably put the flares away then.
    If I had crisps to eat, I'd not have free hands for funny business.

23. Thanks From:

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    If I had crisps to eat, I'd not have free hands for funny business.
    Crisp rage.

"He stated that he was upset because they didn't have a certain package of crisps," Garda Johnson told Judge Smyth.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news...-35078597.html

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast