You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.
He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...medium=twitterTitle race far from over, insists Cork City boss Caulfield
You gotta love John Caulfield. He knows it is as good as over.
He tries to convince himself and others that there is still some hope!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...medium=twitterTitle race far from over, insists Cork City boss Caulfield
It's far from over. 7pts with a game in hand and you still have to play your rivals.
There is still plenty to play for. Especially when both clubs have to squeeze 7 (dundalk ) 8 (cork) along with fai semi final with a potential replay in 33 days.
I still believe 75 will do it for either club.
The week after the semi finals also now is massive for both. Dundalk have cork squeezed between sligo and rovers .I think Cork have harps and galway at home
https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined.
First Division 2014: 7 first teams and a B team.
Opportunity lost for new clubs to join GLITW.
Last edited by oriel; 25/09/2016 at 12:47 PM.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
JC cant make his mind up as earlier in the season he was saying the league was almost done for Cork.
I wouldn't read too much into Caulfield's comments. He was interviewed just after the game and must have been frustrated not to get the win. A draw in Sligo is not a disaster but he realises that Cork have less leeway for slip ups than Dundalk. It must be very frustrating to him and to Cork fans that they have not yet been able to capitalise when Dundalk drop points. Once a team begins to doubt itself, it gets a lot harder.
Yeah it's massively frustrating when dundalk have slipped up, we have been unable to capitalize. We have lost less games than dundalk but we have drawn 5 more than they have. Some of them draws could be good ones but ones like the wexford game at home where we had enough chances to win 10 games, that was one we definitely left behind. It can change over the next few weeks, but I'd much rather be in dundalks position right now.
Drawing too many games is not good, can make it very difficult to claw back points. Dundalk had drawn only one match prior to last Tuesday, while last night was Cork's 7th. There will probably be more opportunities for Cork to try and reduce the gap, but the trend all season has seen them fail to take advantage.
I think the period in early August could turn out to be the turning point of the season, when Dundalk lost 2 in a row away to Galway and Bray, then Cork lost at home to Sligo then drew also at home, to Bohs.
Looking back its almost unbelievable, that a grand total of 1 point was picked up by both Dundalk and Cork that week.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
Cork looked like they were set up to take a point last night, hard to understand for a team supposed to be chasing the title. Cork under Caulfield are like British Labour under Corbyn, resigned to eternal principled opposition, though without the principles.
true about Dundalk last season Outspoken. that was the start of the decline in our vocal support of the team with the trouble with the FAI with the flares and certain fans of ours being wrongly blamed for holding them!
Stewarding at Longford totally OTT,.
private security firms in LOI ground s are a turn off, how many clubs so their ground security in house?
Crisp rage.
"He stated that he was upset because they didn't have a certain package of crisps," Garda Johnson told Judge Smyth.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news...-35078597.html