Originally Posted by Babysis
Don't worry me and Pat are used to it by now, I think we'll sit this one out and let you get on with it.
Originally Posted by Jim Smith
Would I be right in saying that the great philospher of that quote is the greatest philosopher of them all Homer Simpson.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
Don't worry me and Pat are used to it by now, I think we'll sit this one out and let you get on with it.
Couldn't agree more. Most women I know can't cook for sh*t. I know a few recently married women, one who is my cousin, and they\she can't cook at all. Herself and the husband eat at work, no meals are ever cooked at home, even on Sundays or days off. The local chinese comes into play then. The funniest thing is, she has one of the most expensive cookers\ovens I have ever seen. At the moment she is getting ready to move into a newly built house with her family, and the cooker she has picked for this one is top of the range, even more expensive than the last one. It has something like 7 hobs, one especially for Wok cooking and all. The same girl wouldn't know a wok if it belted her across the face. Dishwashers etc, the whole lot, all top of the range, even though none of them will be hardly used.Originally Posted by Peadar
To me, she is typical of the modern woman, all show, all talk, all status, yet not worth a balls domestically. Has all the nick nacks, nice ornaments, designer cutlery, designer ware (John Rocha dinner plates, FFS), modern furniture etc - yet she can't even cook a meal. And as I said, it's most women these days, they haven't a clue. They feel that they don't have to do it nowadays anyway, equality and all that crap. We'll see how much equality means to them when they're facing a divorce later on in life
They're looking for a career with a good paid job, and a high earning boyfriend, so that they can spend their way through life. They'll try and live together before making any committments, marriage and kids is out of the question until early 30's. As far as I can see, men are wasting their time looking for relationships until their late twenties at least. And even after all that, she still won't be able to cook a meal!
Originally Posted by anto eile
I love wemon and respect women, Im not lieing/ but a women cant drink a pint properly/ a women cant handle as much as a man/ 1st reason because we drinkl more than ye anyway / dont take it personal/ / or else its in our jeans to handle more than ye/ i respeckt wemon more than drink so dont feel left out, the real reason we drink is to talk/think/dream about ye. But just cause we are MEN it doesnt matter cause deep down we love da lot of ye, ye *****s.
In my younger days I used to tell them, "its in my jeans", too; right after they said "Give me one good reason why I should go out with you?", the classic palm of hand to my lower jaw move usually followed seconds later...Originally Posted by hudhastings
A real woman!Originally Posted by Babysis
Any chance she give classes to women your age?
Originally Posted by hudhastings
My jeans tend to get soggy if i store drink in them. Otherwise its just because i didnt make the toilet in time.
Indeed it is. The original is :Originally Posted by sylvo
"Ah sweet sympathy, where would my love life be without you".
don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......
Originally Posted by davros
Was that your sister Mick that was with you in Quinns one night when we all went out on the tear in Camden town with the old man, HB, West of Ireland mafia and Pedro McMadman.
Originally Posted by Peadar
I am more than capable funnilly enough of looking after myself. I enjoyed cooking meals from scratch at uni, and as the lads here will agree, I make a very good cake, so I dont need any lessons thank you very much!!!![]()
I wasn't talking about you, I was talking about women who can't cook.
You like to take things personally Babysis.
It may surprise you how many women can't cook these days.
And im sure it wont suprise you how many men these days are still looking for some stereotypical unrealistic, "just like their mammy" kind of woman.Originally Posted by Peadar
In fairness to my Mrs , she is making a damn good effort on the cookery front.
For the 1st few years she didn't really do all that much (Neither did I for the record) but a few Darina books later and as they say the proof is in the pudding or curry or home made soup, yummy.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
What's so unrealistic about it?Originally Posted by Babysis
Our mothers weren't just some figment of our imaginations!
But yopur mothers weren't rearing you in the same environment as today. Im not saying women didnt have pressures in the past, but women (and men) are both under pressures which is making it increasingly harder to be "just like your mammy". thats not to say they dont exist, good luck to ya trying to find one!Originally Posted by Peadar
It could be argued that many of those pressures are self imposed.Originally Posted by Babysis
How are we going to pay for the MPV and a normal car?
How are we going to pay for the childminder?
How are we going to pay for the designer baby clothes to keep up with the Beckhams?
How are we going tp pay for the take-away meals every night?
It was interesting to read an article in Ireland about how much couples could save by job sharing.
You would never have made a historian, because all you do is GENERALISE!!Originally Posted by Peadar
Admittedly yes there are more and more people out there that match the description you have just given,but at the same time they are not the majority.
What about people who are under pressure to do well in their job/have decent social life/pay off bills/debts/student loans/look after a family/provide for a family! these are only a small selection, and no they are not all personal to me before you accuse me of taking things personally again. I am simply highlighting the fact that generalising, at least in this instance, is not good, clear or concise! I will say one thing, you are right about one thing, alot the pressures women feel, whatever they be, are imposed.......... by people who push for a stereotypical woman! Its just one more pressure your all adding to the list. Well done![]()
If you both keep fighting like that we're gonna get more and more convinced that you're madly in love. And of course I'll have to ban you both.
Babysis you might be aware of people having to leave their homes in Ireland and move to Britain during the 70's/80's/90's?
This was primarily due to the poor economic situation in Ireland at that time.
The majority of households in Ireland had at most a single income.
It wasn't uncommon to have 4 or more children.
The women of the house had the strength and resourcefulness to attend to the needs of her family with incredibly modest incomes.
They had to deal with pressure that you and I may never know.
They coped as they raised the children who drove the Celtic Tiger economy we enjoy today.
These are women who can look back with pride on their achievements. It's hard to look back with pride on a career spent pushing paper around a desk and banging your head off a computer screen.
Couldn't you just seperate us?Originally Posted by dahamsta
That way she gets the house and the kids.
I get to stay on foot.ie.![]()
On adams advice Im not going to carry on talking to you about this.Originally Posted by Peadar
(but i think you are totally wrong and there is nothing wrong with being proud of a career based in an office). Im saying no more