Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Olamide Shodipo M Lincoln (loan from QPR) b.1997

3,286 Posts

Olamide Shodipo M Lincoln (loan from QPR) b.1997

Straight into the QPR starting XI for their season opener against Leeds today, live on Sky at 12

602 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Straight into the QPR starting XI for their season opener against Leeds today, live on Sky at 12
    And all of a sudden, Shodipo becomes one to watch, now playing at the same level as Byrne, Hoolahan, Hendrick, Brady, O'Dowda, Judge, Browne, Duffy, Stokes, Westwood and D. Lenihan, while still being only just nineteen. And Hasselbaink seems to rate him, emphasising a few weeks ago that he has no plans to send him out on loan as he is part of his plans for the new season - call him up, MON!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    847 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    And all of a sudden, Shodipo becomes one to watch
    This is it
    So rarely the one you'd hang your hat on underage makes that final step up, often makes me wonder how many lads culled at academy level would have been ok longer term.

2,679 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    This is it
    So rarely the one you'd hang your hat on underage makes that final step up, often makes me wonder how many lads culled at academy level would have been ok longer term.
    ...and how / why / by whom our underage selections are made.

3,286 Posts
    Goal.com's report describes him as a "Nigerian starlet", then go on to say he was born in Dublin and represented the Republic at underage level.

847 Posts
    Do we need to stick a flag in this chappie nice & lively ?

602 Posts
    I'd say it might be worth our while sending MON to have a chat with him...although come to think of it, those chats have had mixed results at best. But seriously, the management team should let him know that if he continues to progress he will be picked and then if he does continue to progress, go ahead and pick him - that simple, no messing about. If he wants to play for us, terrific, but if he feels the pull of the land of his forefathers, then that's something all Irish sports fans should certainly empathise with.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Here he displays first his Nigerian and then his Irish skills.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    778 Posts
    Does this not count ? http://www.fai.ie/ireland/player/888842374
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

The new Jack Grealish. Ye couldn't really blame this lad if he changed to England or Nigeria.

It kinda depnds what age he was when he moved to England. fair play on them finding out about him.

847 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The new Jack Grealish.
    This should be an automatic ban.

357 Posts
    Excuse my ignorance, but is this bloke ours to lose, are we in a three way chase for him, or are people just being paranoid after the above mentioned dirty, rotten turncoat's behaviour ?

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    This should be an automatic ban.
    so should most of his posts

Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    Excuse my ignorance, but is this bloke ours to lose, are we in a three way chase for him, or are people just being paranoid after the above mentioned dirty, rotten turncoat's behaviour ?
    little of all three. He's only played underage football for Ireland, at least that I can find. There's no mention of him on the Nigerian FA's site, so right now he's ours. Having said that he is eligible, and his parents are Nigerian, so there's a strong link there. It's rare that an Irish underage player ends up playing senior international football for another country, and rarer still that it's one ranked ahead of us, but since Grealish changed allegiances so recently, it's fresh in people's minds and probably playing on insecurities.
    He's had one game at senior club level, and for now is still an Irish international, let's just enjoy that for the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    so should most of his posts

little of all three. He's only played underage football for Ireland, at least that I can find. There's no mention of him on the Nigerian FA's site, so right now he's ours. Having said that he is eligible, and his parents are Nigerian, so there's a strong link there. It's rare that an Irish underage player ends up playing senior international football for another country, and rarer still that it's one ranked ahead of us, but since Grealish changed allegiances so recently, it's fresh in people's minds and probably playing on insecurities.
    He's had one game at senior club level, and for now is still an Irish international, let's just enjoy that for the moment.
    He's likely to be in the next u21 squad - the FAI are aware and have been tracking him. I believe Nigeria expressed an interest but it was never reciprocated and as far as I know there hasn't been any contact from England.

85 Posts
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

I love Facebook stalkers.

2,679 Posts
    I think lone links without any accompanying intro or summary are really annoying!

2,081 Posts
    Does that mean you can't access Facebook at work?

It's just a quote from Shodipo under a picture of him playing for Ireland-

I was born in Leixlip and still visit my relations in Ireland, it makes me and my family proud to wear the Irish jersey.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I think lone links without any accompanying intro or summary are really annoying!
    Sorry
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

25. Thanks From:

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast