We seem to play better against the better standard teams in the league. We've been very good recently against Shels away and Limerick but absolutely muck against Athlone and Cabinteely, yet still won. Last night was the best we've played in a while. Enjoyable game of football all the same.
You've got no fans.
To say 'a ****€ rovers team' is a bit harsh. We were very open at the back but we played some of the best attacking football we've played all season, not hard but still, we were trying new things with corners and 3 at the back and stuff and the players seemed genuinely hungry for a change. The young lads and Bradley coming in have really had a good impact on the team and if we sorted out our defence a bit and got a really good experienced striker to help out the young lads a bit it would be a pretty decent young team.
Put it this way, you are far far far better to watch without Fenlon. Ye tried to play from the back, even though you have a keeper who shats himself with the ball at his feet, and ye try to link it up on the edge of the box but yeve absolutely nothing up front. That results in ye playing lots of aimless hoofball and that doesn't work either. A top class striker needed at Tallaght
Absolute rubbish from us in that first half 2 nil down.. first goal in particular was disgraceful from mcnulty. if we're going to overhaul dundalk, tonight needed to be a win, difficult to see that at this point
The first game after going out of Europe is always a tough one. Teams are often quite flat.
We bounced back well at Wexford after a disappointing result in Longford, we are slowly creeping up the table after a poor start. Robbo worth his wages.
Corks seeming inability to score enough goals costing them there Bill.![]()
That's a big loss for Cork. After our defeat and with the build up of games for us they should have capitalised. Still a long way to go obviously but these are the chances you need to take.
Apparently they piled on the pressure on the second half but the goals wouldn't come, needed the peno to get the one.
Such a frustrating night that was. Two abysmal goals to give away. Sligo to be fair play some good stuff at times. How we didn't score 4 or 5 in the second half is beyond me really. Need to be converting those chances if we are to take the fight to dundalk.
Has a keeper ever received two yellows for time wasting? Schlingermann definitely made a case for it to happen tonight, he got one yellow alright. Us in the shed even counted out loud how many seconds he had the ball in his hand each time and it always got in to double figures.
Unfortunately won't be at the bohs game but we need to improve for that.
Two tough games coming up.
Is Caulfield giving Holohan a sniff these days? Cork often look very slow and pedestrian in midfield, they need someone who run from central positions.
Some of the criticism from Cork fans on social media is a bit over the top. Last week's defeat to Genk is not easy to get over.
I thought both Dundalk and Cork would struggle this weekend.
Said it at the start of the season and it's corks league to lose. Even with us now having 5 extra european games.
Considering the 2 wins over Dundalk so far this season it is Corks to lose or should be. The difference the last couple of years was Cork not taking points off us, this year they have done yet our points tally is ahead of last season at the same stage (I think). With the demands of Europe for Dundalk I would consider Cork as favourites for the league!
When we played in Luxembourg last year, our keeper was booked for time wasting before the hour mark. Derek Swan was beside be and said something like "That's grand; keep doing it now. No referee will ever send you off for it"
If it didn't happen in that game, it never will