Thread: Series 22

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I thought the opposite to be honest.

I thought we were fairly comfortable in Market's Field until we gifted you an equaliser, although were were obviously lucky to escape with a point in the end.

Last night were were really woeful for an hour at least, and you were comfortably the better team until about the 75th minute. We obviously pressed then and got the goals, but I wouldn't say we even deserved a point last night.

You've a pretty good team there, at least in what I've seen. You're the only teams that's pressed us high and tight up the pitch, and it's been very effective. I'm surprised you're not clear in 2nd place.
    We seem to play better against the better standard teams in the league. We've been very good recently against Shels away and Limerick but absolutely muck against Athlone and Cabinteely, yet still won. Last night was the best we've played in a while. Enjoyable game of football all the same.
    You've got no fans.

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    based on the evidence i saw last night, where Longford were by a considerable distance the worst team we've played all season, they will be relegated.
    Hopefully TC can find a better gig for himself than that rubbish.

Rovers were open and naive at the back but the young lads enthusiasm seems to be rubbing off on the team, helped by a caretaker manager in Bradley who's not afraid to try something positive.
    The vast bulk of Rovers fans know this and are happy to see what happens

We are nowhere near cork or dundalk but the relative weakness of the current league means we might sneak into Euope
    tbh TC is yesterdays man and shouldnt manage any team imo.. he doesnt do anything to inspire me.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Great first half from us against a ****€ rovers team. We didn't appear at all for the second half. Totally unacceptable. No passion, no fight, no nothing. We are as good as gone IMO.
    To say 'a ****€ rovers team' is a bit harsh. We were very open at the back but we played some of the best attacking football we've played all season, not hard but still, we were trying new things with corners and 3 at the back and stuff and the players seemed genuinely hungry for a change. The young lads and Bradley coming in have really had a good impact on the team and if we sorted out our defence a bit and got a really good experienced striker to help out the young lads a bit it would be a pretty decent young team.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    To say 'a ****€ rovers team' is a bit harsh. We were very open at the back but we played some of the best attacking football we've played all season, not hard but still, we were trying new things with corners and 3 at the back and stuff and the players seemed genuinely hungry for a change. The young lads and Bradley coming in have really had a good impact on the team and if we sorted out our defence a bit and got a really good experienced striker to help out the young lads a bit it would be a pretty decent young team.
    Put it this way, you are far far far better to watch without Fenlon. Ye tried to play from the back, even though you have a keeper who shats himself with the ball at his feet, and ye try to link it up on the edge of the box but yeve absolutely nothing up front. That results in ye playing lots of aimless hoofball and that doesn't work either. A top class striker needed at Tallaght

171 Posts
    Put it this way, you are far far far better to watch without Fenlon. Ye tried to play from the back, even though you have a keeper who shats himself with the ball at his feet, and ye try to link it up on the edge of the box but yeve absolutely nothing up front. That results in ye playing lots of aimless hoofball and that doesn't work either. A top class striker needed at Tallaght
    Yeah but what we do have is 3 really good young lads coming through so as you said one really good striker to take the weight off their shoulders for a bit would be perfect. Pats don't really want to keep Fagan do they? We'll take him off their hands for them

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Absolute rubbish from us in that first half 2 nil down.. first goal in particular was disgraceful from mcnulty. if we're going to overhaul dundalk, tonight needed to be a win, difficult to see that at this point

555 Posts
    The first game after going out of Europe is always a tough one. Teams are often quite flat.

101 Posts
    We bounced back well at Wexford after a disappointing result in Longford, we are slowly creeping up the table after a poor start. Robbo worth his wages.

Corks seeming inability to score enough goals costing them there Bill.

That's a big loss for Cork. After our defeat and with the build up of games for us they should have capitalised. Still a long way to go obviously but these are the chances you need to take.

101 Posts
    Apparently they piled on the pressure on the second half but the goals wouldn't come, needed the peno to get the one.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Apparently they piled on the pressure on the second half but the goals wouldn't come, needed the peno to get the one.
    Goals seem to be a problem for them. Maguire only seems to score penalties now.

Great result for Sligo, Robertson seems to know what he is doing.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Such a frustrating night that was. Two abysmal goals to give away. Sligo to be fair play some good stuff at times. How we didn't score 4 or 5 in the second half is beyond me really. Need to be converting those chances if we are to take the fight to dundalk.

Has a keeper ever received two yellows for time wasting? Schlingermann definitely made a case for it to happen tonight, he got one yellow alright. Us in the shed even counted out loud how many seconds he had the ball in his hand each time and it always got in to double figures.

Unfortunately won't be at the bohs game but we need to improve for that.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Two tough games coming up.

Is Caulfield giving Holohan a sniff these days? Cork often look very slow and pedestrian in midfield, they need someone who run from central positions.

Some of the criticism from Cork fans on social media is a bit over the top. Last week's defeat to Genk is not easy to get over.

I thought both Dundalk and Cork would struggle this weekend.

125 Posts
    Said it at the start of the season and it's corks league to lose. Even with us now having 5 extra european games.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Said it at the start of the season and it's corks league to lose. Even with us now having 5 extra european games.
    Considering the 2 wins over Dundalk so far this season it is Corks to lose or should be. The difference the last couple of years was Cork not taking points off us, this year they have done yet our points tally is ahead of last season at the same stage (I think). With the demands of Europe for Dundalk I would consider Cork as favourites for the league!

We tried to play from the back under Fenlon too. Problem was that was as far as we got before losing the ball.

3,488 Posts
    Has a keeper ever received two yellows for time wasting?
    When we played in Luxembourg last year, our keeper was booked for time wasting before the hour mark. Derek Swan was beside be and said something like "That's grand; keep doing it now. No referee will ever send you off for it"

If it didn't happen in that game, it never will

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Considering the 2 wins over Dundalk so far this season it is Corks to lose or should be. The difference the last couple of years was Cork not taking points off us, this year they have done yet our points tally is ahead of last season at the same stage (I think). With the demands of Europe for Dundalk I would consider Cork as favourites for the league!
    Course you would!

448 Posts
    Such a frustrating night that was. Two abysmal goals to give away. Sligo to be fair play some good stuff at times. How we didn't score 4 or 5 in the second half is beyond me really. Need to be converting those chances if we are to take the fight to dundalk.

Has a keeper ever received two yellows for time wasting? Schlingermann definitely made a case for it to happen tonight, he got one yellow alright. Us in the shed even counted out loud how many seconds he had the ball in his hand each time and it always got in to double figures.

Except half the time he didn't have the ball in his hands, and when he did the counting was ridiculously fast.