126 Posts
    What's goin on

I wanted my trip to Windsor Park. I think that is possibly my least favorite combination of teams.

Quote Originally Posted by James
    Group 1
    Shels
    Cork City
    Portadown
    We can beat both of those teams.

Quote Originally Posted by Druss
    I think that is possibly my least favorite combination of teams.
    Me too but that sets us up nicely for a final with Longford.

126 Posts
    Jesus I jinxed us by saying I wanted Longford+Linfield.

WHAT A SH1TTY DRAW!

Will be good practice researching our European opponents.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    We can beat both of those teams.

Me too but that sets us up nicely for a final with Longford.
    Nah..Glentoran in the final.

B*llox!
    The worst draw possible....
    Don't care about $hels but in combination with the one team from the North I hoped to avoid, its a b*lls....

Oh well, we have to accept what we have got and put a supreme effort into winning this.

1st 2 fixtures in city'd group

Shels v Portadown March 22
    City v Shels March 29

so presumably then
    Portadown v City next ???
    life is random

Thumbs down

Probably worst draw we could have got. No visit to Belfast either.

Portadown 392km from Cork but only 138km from Dublin. Unlikely to be an overnighter now...

Odds on Longford will drop now.

Those $hels w*nkers are thrilled to be playing us. They will get to "humiliate us twice".....hmmm, we shall have to wait and see about that....

DATE & FIXTURE SCHEDULE
    GROUP 1
    NO. DAY DATE FIXTURE HOME CLUB v AWAY CLUB
    1 TUE. 15/3 IFA 1 v FAI 2 Glentoran v Longford Town
    4 MON. 4/4 FAI 2 v IFA 3 Longford Town v Linfield
    6 TUE. 19/4 IFA 3 v IFA 1 Linfield v Glentoran
    7 MON. 25/4 FAI 2 v IFA 1 Longford Town v Glentoran
    10 TUE. 10/5 IFA 3 v FAI 2 Linfield v Longford Town
    11 MON. 16/5 IFA 1 v IFA 3 Glentoran v Linfield

GROUP 2
    NO. DAY DATE FIXTURE HOME CLUB v AWAY CLUB
    2 TUE. 22/3 FAI 1 v IFA 2 Shelbourne v Portadown
    3 TUE. 29/3 FAI 3 v FAI 1 Cork City v Shelbourne
    5 MON. 11/4 IFA 2 v FAI 3 Portadown v Cork City
    8 MON. 25/4 IFA 2 v FAI 1 Portadown v Shelbourne
    9 MON. 2/5 FAI 1 v FAI 3 Shelbourne v Cork City
    12 MON. 16/5 FAI 3 v IFA 2 Cork City v Portadown
    life is random

the Guards wont be happy with that draw either, portadown are known for their "loyalist ways".
    http://theshedcork.proboards27.com/index.cgi

Quote Originally Posted by rebel army no1
    the Guards wont be happy with that draw either, portadown are known for their "loyalist ways".
    Would'nt worry too much about that rebel army no1 , Drogs played them in two friendlies last year - home and away - and there was no hint of any sectarianism , in fact a good time was had by all.

While I did'nt personally travel to Portadown some of the lads did and they were made very welcome.

As far as transport is concerned the Enterprise train stops in Portadown and there is an excellent coach service every half hour from Dublin with www.aircoach.ie

Getting Shels is the worst draw we could have got. Id say whoever wins this group will be favourites. Shels will be very strong.

Quote Originally Posted by iceman
    As far as transport is concerned the Enterprise train stops in Portadown www.aircoach.ie
    Uuuuuuuu! The Enterprise! I wish someone from CIE would take a ride on that so they could see how to run a train

Portadown is in the middle of the map. No mention of it on the Aircoach website though.

From CIE

Dublin Connolly -> Portadown 11/04/2005
    0935-1109
    1100-1234
    1320-1454
    1520-1654
    1650-1816

Portadown -> Dublin Connolly 11/04/2005
    2038-2215
    (Kinda fecked for getting back)

Directions also help

Shamrock Park is the home of Portadown Football Club

It is located on the Brownstown Road in Portadown, above the Mahon Industrial Estate and to the left of the Peoples Park! Im liking the sound of Portadown a bit more now
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

I wonder will the Rebel Army chant be misunderstood...?

If they lose Vinny Arkins will be lot poorer side.

[SIZE=1]Might as well be the first to say this...[/SIZE]

Group of Death!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    Dublin Connolly -> Portadown 11/04/2005
    Sorry to but in and all but have you any idea how much a return to portadown from Connolly would cost? I can't find it on the website anywhere.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Sorry to but in and all but have you any idea how much a return to portadown from Connolly would cost? I can't find it on the website anywhere.
    you can get the one rail ticket from cork to portadown which includes the bus from hueston to connolly station. Try www.irishrail.ie
    First Division Champions

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    If they lose Vinny Arkins will be lot poorer side.
    Damn right - he's a legend!!

ANYONE INTERESTED IN TRAVELLING BY TRAIN CLICK HERE - It shows the details for the train leaving Cork @ 9am and arriving in Portadown @ 4.54pm, this includes one change of trains in Dublin, for which the bus tickets are included.
    Last edited by adamd164; 28/01/2005 at 5:33 PM.