Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    F€ck that, Im going to the pit!

Sometimes I wonder about ye old fogies!
    Too old to be arsed queing up from midday to get in the front is more like it. I have been right down the front in the last year or so (the youth of today haven't a clue...)

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    There's something in the region of 4,000 U2 tickets for the Britain and Ireland gigs being offered on ebay.co.uk
    That's not too bad I suppose, when you consider the number of tickets actually sold for the gigs.
    I expect the number on ebay will rise after the weekend.
    A lot of people are buying 4, keeping 2 and selling the other 2 in hopes of covering their original cost. Think you can buy 6 on Friday for the Dublin gig.
    I think that's too much and only goes further to help the touts.
    For slane they said it was 6 per person too but when i got to the counter then I was only allowed buy 4. I turned to the guy behind me and asked him to get 2 as he was only buying 2. Its such a load of ********. Scalpers will have a field day. The amount on ebay will increase too once the initial outcry dies down.

I bought mine on Monday. I panicked and bought in the canal end corner. Took me 2 hrs and 3 credit card entries before making it so just took the seats in the end. Had to get back to work ffs. Dont mind as I was on top of the hill in slane and bono looked like a little black ant but still had a fooking blast.

They should have announced the saturday show straight off the bat instead of 2 hrs later. That was lousy.

Why didnt they just use the best block in the hogan or cusack for the presale tickets and put us all in there. Cant understand that one. 80 quid for a canal end seat is pricey but **** it .

Haven't missed them since the point in '89 so thems the breaks.

Quote Originally Posted by Countyman
    They should have announced the saturday show straight off the bat instead of 2 hrs later. That was lousy.

Why didnt they just use the best block in the hogan or cusack for the presale tickets and put us all in there. Cant understand that one. 80 quid for a canal end seat is pricey but **** it .

Haven't missed them since the point in '89 so thems the breaks.
    Totally agree, when I got through it was back of the canal end top teir, so I was ready to fook it off. Went for my lunch break, and the Saturday was online when I came back. Even at that stage I was close to not bothering - but fook it, decent seats, managed to swap the hotel booking.....

Much better in the Propaganda days, form sent in the post, returned with you cheque, tickets came through a few weeks later. Plus you got magazines, CD's etc rather than the so called "priority" that we get now.

I just realised that I never got a confirmation e-mail from Ticketmaster.
    The money is gone onto my credit card alright though.

3,500 Posts
    Came into work at 7:30, no joy on the net at all, posts on boards.ie say nooone got tix over the net. Anyone get them?

Got mine on the 0818 number at about 8:05. I think it was easier book over the phone?
    UCD sha-la-la

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Came into work at 7:30, no joy on the net at all, posts on boards.ie say nooone got tix over the net. Anyone get them?
    quite a good few in Apple here in Cork got through online
    life is random

On the news that 160,000 tickets shifted in 50 minutes and that there will definately be no 3rd show.

I wonder how many were sold in the pre sale.

Love em or hate em thats serious pulling power there!

Suddenly my canal end seats are looking fookin great!

Quote Originally Posted by Countyman
    On the news that 160,000 tickets shifted in 50 minutes and that there will definately be no 3rd show.
    Kinda puts Larry's email in perspective. Who should we blame for continued 2 shows only in Ireland then, if not the band?

i still think we'll get a 3rd show
    they announce prob in a week that due to overwhelming demand.. u2 the band of the people will give the people of ireland what they want an play a 3rd night!!

life is random

Quote Originally Posted by James
    i still think we'll get a 3rd show
    they announce prob in a week that due to overwhelming demand.. u2 the band of the people will give the people of ireland what they want an play a 3rd night!!

thats provided der aloud. but suppose they would have announced 2 if dey weren't playin 3.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Yeah i get all that but i don't see how tickets for gigs in the Point/RDS end up costing 30/40 quid. I appreciate the expense involved in organising an event such as U2 in Croker. Perhaps not enough effort is put into ridding unneccessary middlemen in the industry which add a lot of weight to costs. Wouldn't be surprised if there is a lack of competition in the area and/or unwritten rules specifying certain companies or people who must be used when making such arrangements.
    It has nought to do with logistics. It's entirely down to what the local promoter thinks the local market will pay. Saw Metallica in the RDS last summer and my ticket cost €60-€62.

They played Barcelona the same week and tickets were €28.

Also I'd find it funny if it weren't so tragic that these U2 tickets sell out within minutes yet they have to go on sale 4-5 months before the gig -thus making their support, whom they appear to be showing barefaced contempt, shell out over the top money for for non existant first dibs -not to mention making them sit out all night in the middle of winter with no guarentee of a ticket at the end of it.

In more than one sense they deserve a good bloody nose from their Irish fanbase. Will they get it? Watch the scrum around the merchandise stall and you'll answer -will they fcuk.

And even if they did have a bad gig would it be reported? Madonnas gig last year (€140 a ticket) was branded a "sell out" and a "huge success" by TV3 despite people in attendance claiming the place was less than two thirds full.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    Also I'd find it funny if it weren't so tragic that these U2 tickets sell out within minutes yet they have to go on sale 4-5 months before the gig -thus making their support, whom they appear to be showing barefaced contempt, shell out over the top money for for non existant first dibs -not to mention making them sit out all night in the middle of winter with no guarentee of a ticket at the end of it.
    In fairness any of their support that was that arsed would've shelled out for the website long ago (it was always a selling point of the website, as it was with Propaganda).

How they went about that pre-sale is another arguement, but contempt for the fanbase wouldn't be far off my feelings at the moment with regard to it. No priority for former propaganda subscribers, announcing the gigs and details of the pre-sale before closing off membership, still the same booking fee as non-members were charged today etc being my main complaints.

I always thought the band leaned more towards their USA fanbase more so than here.
    Hence the extra Autumn shows promised for them.
    Why not the same here.?

Surely 1 or 2 more shows in Cork and Belfast could be accomodated somewhere along the lines. I've no doubt they would sell out.

Although I'm a big fan I cant help feeling a small bit pee'd on over the whole thing especially the late announcement of the saturday gig.

The amount of non-irish fans that got hold of tickets for Croker was amazing judging by ebay and the various u2 forums. Is that fair to the thousands left without a ticket that que'd all night here?

Tried to get through by phone and online, and had a friend of mine trying from her work. No luck. No one in our office got tickets.
    But, as mentioned, I think with such a demand there could be a third gig, despite the statement from MCD.
    They applied for three nights permission at any rate.

queued up from 5 in the morn last friday but was well off the front when the sold out banner went up
    peeved off at the whole hype bullsh1t
    feckin teeny boopers caught up in the buzz
    i recall no bother getting tickets for any of their gigs in the 90s....
    boll0x to it ...if some1 gives me a ticket face value grand...but not going to get caught up in the whole hunt....would rather sae me money for a nice holiday in germany next year

Good to get an apologetic email from Larry and an offer of refund of membership if I wasn't happy with the ticketing arrangements - although if you take that option you're banned from ever joining up again it seems.

However, the 'PS' he put at the end of the letter completely ruined it all. So 'real' U2 fans aren't allowed to complain then, eh ? Even if the booking system for some widely anticipated gigs have been nigh on a farce ? Well I've likewise got 2 words for him on that....

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123