Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: For Ireland to make the Round of 16...

2,713 Posts
    For a team of such talent and technical ability Portugal have rarely ever had really good striker in the modern era. Figo and Ronaldo both were/are reliable goalscorers but from attacking midfield or wider positions but I can only remember Nuno Gomez and Pauleta as traditional central strikers and while they were both OK, neither pulled up any trees.

Portugal have always struggled for goals a bit. They can't line up against a back 5 of Forde, Kelly, Keogh, Duffy and McClean every game!

76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    There's a strong possibility if we get through, we'll take on France on Sunday with the winner taking on the winner of the England game.
    Winner A (France) plays third E if third place team are from following groups
    ABEF
    BCEF
    BDEF

Winner D (Spain or Croatia) plays third E if third place is from groups
    ABCE - unlikely Albania A will hold on with 3 pts and poor gd
    ABDE - unlikely, same reason
    BCDE
    CDEF - almost impossible that Slovakia B won't make it

So the most likely way we qualify and avoid France and potentially England is BCDE. So a good result for NI and Czech. And Portugal/Iceland then have to sort it out so that 3rd finishes on 3 points or less. So hope they don't both win I think. In other words we need to sweat to the last minute before we know if a win against Italy will do. Then we would have Spain/Croatia in round of 16 and Switzerland/runner up C(Germany/Poland/n ireland) in quarter....

So if results go our way then we could have Croatia next round and n. Ireland in quarter and suddenly we are in the semi! Possible, not likely.

Bookie seems to think BCDF will be magic groups. Or BCEF most likely of combinations that Ireland will still be involved.
    Last edited by davidatrb; 21/06/2016 at 12:27 PM.

773 Posts
    So lets say things go badly for us over the next 30 hours.....

Northern Ireland hold out against Germany.
    The Czech Republic beat Turkey.
    Austria beat Iceland and Portugal beat Hungary.

If Austria beat Iceland by 1-0 or 2-1 - we will need to beat Italy by 2 goals to go through on goals scored.
    If Austria beat Iceland by 2 goals we will need to win by 3 goals.

I'm not even sure why I shared that. But FYI etc.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 21/06/2016 at 12:21 PM.

3,269 Posts
    I guess the big advantage we have is that we're last group to finish, so we'll know what we need.

Though realistically, all we'll know is whether a win will be enough or not, I would say.

Poor Albania have to hang around for a couple of days not knowing if they're through or not - they probably aren't, but they'd be looking at our group for starters as one they could finish ahead of.

Why are ye bothering with any of this lads? no point at all.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

773 Posts
    Why are you not bothering with it?

Exactly. Doesn't mean I amn't going to go out and go the game, but I wouldn't bother wasting my energy going through these permutations but maybe thats the thing of this forum. Time to waste, to waste time.

1,813 Posts
    Why do you even bother? For a man who dwells in such a world of realism it seems strange to me that you ever watch Ireland or Mayo games at all? Now that's just silly.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

773 Posts
    Top 5 things I like.

1. Club Co-efficients
    2. Bonus points
    3. The Away goals rule
    4. 24 team football tournaments
    5. Fantasy football.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Top 5 things I like.

1. Club Co-efficients
    2. Bonus points
    3. The Away goals rule
    4. 24 team football tournaments
    5. Fantasy football.
    The worst thing in the world and should be done away with. Especially in Extra time of a second leg. Makes no sense.

76 Posts
    Two reasons really.

1) I find it interesting.

2) It can inform your tactics and team set up whether you need to win big, just win, draw or play like just a "friendly". What would you advise Ireland do if they find themselves fortuitously ahead 2-0 at half time and Sweden beating Belgium - push on for a third or save players? Is it better for us to finish 2nd or 3rd? Will it be Portugal/Iceland/Hungary? Or will it be France/Croatia/Spain? Do you think MON should be devising plan A, plan B etc and coaching the players for the eventuality where we need goals? I know nothing we can really do until 20:00 on weds but we can look ahead now and say if X happens can we be prepared for it. What if we are already out before kickoff? What if there is a side of the draw or a team you want to avoid and you find out you can. Wouldn't you want to know?

672 Posts
    Exactly. Doesn't mean I amn't going to go out and go the game, but I wouldn't bother wasting my energy going through these permutations but maybe thats the thing of this forum. Time to waste, to waste time.

C'mon Paul, admit it - you couldn't do without us.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 21/06/2016 at 2:11 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,713 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Why do you even bother? For a man who dwells in such a world of realism it seems strange to me that you ever watch Ireland or Mayo games at all? Now that's just silly.
    Roscommon.

I'll be far more interested in tomorrow's game if I know a 1-0 win will do us rather than a 4-0 win.

And we're fans Paul. That's why we bother.

2,713 Posts
    The more I look at Group F we really need one of tonight's results to come in as needed. I'm actually quite nervous.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Roscommon.

I'll be far more interested in tomorrow's game if I know a 1-0 win will do us rather than a 4-0 win.

And we're fans Paul. That's why we bother.
    It's his location that always throws me. I was thinking Roscommon... but ya know. I doubted myself, just like Paul never would.

76 Posts
    The more I look at Group F we really need one of tonight's results to come in as needed. I'm actually quite nervous.
    I agree. And I can't figure out the logic of Bet365 where we are 2/1 to qualify but to beat Italy the odds are LONGER 12/5.

The odds to qualify should be longer than the odds to win the match because we might win and still not qualify but if we don't win we can't qualify.

25. Thanks From:

Relax, the North haven't a hope of getting a result against Germany

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Siberian View Post
    Relax, the North haven't a hope of getting a result against Germany
    I think it's Germany we need the favour from. Czech Republic should beat Turkey in D. In F, I think there will be 3 teams on at least 4 points.

20 Posts
    Need Germany to win and win well. Simple as that. Five minutes gone and it's 0-0.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast