Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Best fans!!!

Derry and Harps (they are both so alike but we wont tell them that) for all round soundness and support of their teams.

Rovers have to get a mention, to give them their dues they really got the whole tifo scene in Ireland going
    Oh no not them again

48 Posts
    Rovers for sticking with the club through all the ****e - but they still have a brave few ******* following them.

Cork fans are sound as fook - so are Bohs men.

Finn Harps fans have loads of passion, I like that.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    (I get the bit about the low crowds, by the way, so don't bother pointing that out! Though you should mention the six eL clubs with lower crowds than us last season...)

"call a spade a spade" .... it is still a spade no matter what language you use, so there is not way of hiding the fact .... it kinda lost its effect when i had to explain it to you though !!

1,552 Posts
    We get on well with Longford fans, but for sheer ability to generate noise and colour Derry have to be up there. Am looking forward to regular derbies again next year.

I've only ever seen more than a couple of Cork fans at Finn Park once, for the cup game a few years ago, it sounds like they've improved a lot in travelling terms.

In the first division only Galway have brought real vocal support in recent years and that seems to be dropping a way a bit.

Also, credit is due to the Limerick lads- nutters! (In the nicest possible way)

176 Posts
    As the best fans are generally accepted as being our lot, and we're not allowed to choose our own, I'd give it to any club's fans who leave us alone when we play them. They know who they are.

Most intimidating fans at a ground are Cork fans. Just looking at their full Shed End for every game there, makes you feel as if they have a goal start before the game every time. It has a real football atmosphere, sadly lacking at many grounds. It gave their players the impetus they needed to score several last-minute goals against Rovers over the last few seasons.

Despite that, Cork was one of only two games outside Dublin last season, that Rovers got a point from. Yes, we only managed to pick up 2 points outside Dublin last season. Home Farm, as bad as they were, got 3 in Derry in one half! That's the difference!!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

The fans of every club who still turn up when their team is doing badly.

Oh okay, Rovers I suppose.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    "call a spade a spade" .... it is still a spade no matter what language you use, so there is not way of hiding the fact .... it kinda lost its effect when i had to explain it to you though !!
    Ahhhh... So you were just trying to say it in a nice way! Well that's nice of you!

84 Posts
    Always liked the Shamrock Rovers crowd. They always bring some colour and noise and as stated here already stuck though with the club though thick and thin.

The Drogheda lads who were up for the cup game the season before last also were a sound bunch.

And despite rivalry the Derry fans do make a bit of noise, which is always great.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

I find the Rovers fans the worst in the league.
    They do bring colour, they do bring noise but
    they also bring the bad side of football.
    I reckon they a trying to be like English hooligans.
    All the Burrberry clothes, baseball hats,the foul language and imtimidatng behaviour. I brings my kids to th EL and It is the only fixture I don't like.

In fairness i purely based my remarks from the away fans perspective at both the Brandywell & Turners X!

Cork may feel that the noise levels are high in the shed but trust me it doesnt travel anywhere near the away fans section in the stand, that stand is what i've had to base my appraisal on, not a peep & then if (or far more likely against us, when) Cork score its the mad roar followed by numerous raised digits in our direction, complete silence is usually restored within 30 odd seconds though! the St. Annes end would be similar though slightly more understandable on the basis theres no roof to channel the volume of support.
    Away from home i've yet to hear much of a serious vocal support from the corkeee's at any game i've attended, though the fact relatively few travel to rovers may explain that particular situation!

The Brandywell the last few times up there has been similar, especially since the away fans have been moved to the far end of the stand, the noise (if any) just doesnt travel! Derry though i have to say deserve credit for the noise levels they make away from home considering the relative lack of numbers & a special mention for supporting our pitch protest last season! Pity your chairman wasnt so considerate!!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Longford Town have the best supporters and the best ground in the country. A lot of Town followers tend to have Gaa orientated mind sets and may not be regarded the most educated of soccer supporters around but they'll surely learn in time. LTFC is the most progressive club by a long shot and have made serious strides in such a short period of time.

Don't like saying it but the l@ngers from Cork have a great following at the moment. But why wouldn't they with a such a large population?
    Derry City is a sleeping giant and have great vocal support.
    Eh the question was about other fans! But thanks for the laugh anyway! For me it would be Derry and Harps. Derry, unlike other clubs, always travel.

For me it would be Rovers and Derry.

Rovers always travel in numbers to Ballybofey and nothing compares to the rivalry between us and Derry in the derby games. Best derby in the league and rarely any trouble.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Eh no, no you're not. I wont even mention Shels but the Derry fans are far louder than the Cork ones, espically the away ones, and they've had far less to sing about recently.

Were you at this game

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    Fair Play to Ye Lads

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You helped to make it one of the games of the season at Tolka tonight, and boy we've had a few this year. Probably the noisiest away support we've had this season.
    I think you showed tonight you're worthy title contenders. You seemed a lot sharper on the ball in the first half, though I thought we looked comfortable second half, with the exception of Kearney's drive. Both defences soaked up the pressure comfortably.
    Draw was a fair result. We could point to our 3 clear chances - Ollie, Rogers and Jayo - in the second half, but a win would have been unfair.
    You can probably point to having taken only 2 points from us this year as the reason why you didn't quite make it.
    Once again, well done, fantastic support.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Were you at this game
    I was and lets face it, it was a one off. Great support on that night though.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC

Rovers have to get a mention, to give them their dues they really got the whole tifo scene in Ireland going
    I was nearly going to mention that but I haven't got a clue about who got that whole tifo scene going in Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    New drums and megaphones bought for the new season already Cosmo

And we added to brass section that amused you in Tolka
    Are you carrying them all when the remainder of your club dont travel
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    I was nearly going to mention that but I haven't got a clue about who got that whole tifo scene going in Ireland
    It was the "infamous Nazi-sympathising" SRFC Ultras who started the tifo thing in Ireland. I don't think anybody disputes that - except maybe the Evening Herald.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123