Thread: What's going on at the seaside?

What's going on at the seaside?

Talk of 8 players leaving the club with 2 already gone with 1 announced but the other not. Uncertainty regarding the managers position, and a winless streak which has lasted 9 games now. The whole club is ran by secrecy and god forbid the powers to be running the club, would let the fans know what is going on. Club being ran into the ground. Shambles
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

Sure still no website to let people know what's going on... Hearing Curtis Murphy is leaving, whether that's true or not wouldn't be sure. The run we are on is very worrying. Harps and Wexford picking points up and we couldn't even beat 10 man Longford. Harps now 9 points clear of us. It doesn't look good. If we get out of it fair play to the players but it doesn't look like happening. It's ok to say ah sure we played well this and that but the performances when you lose don't matter at this stage. Big big job for whoever comes in.

Curtis Murphy 100% gone im led to believe but you wont get any confirmation from the club! Robbie Creevy left after him but the club only confirmed 1 departure not another

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatherman View Post
    The whole club is ran by secrecy and god forbid the powers to be running the club, would let the fans know what is going on. Club being ran into the ground. Shambles
    Well that's not true, they have regular meetings with stakeholders (season ticket holders), most recently last week so it's hardly secrecy.
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatherman View Post
    Curtis Murphy 100% gone im led to believe but you wont get any confirmation from the club! Robbie Creevy left after him but the club only confirmed 1 departure not another
    seen that in the paper about Curtis Murphy. said also that Mark Salmon is being let go.. whether thats true is another matter..

What about the other fans that are not season ticket holders?? Im led to believe that the people who attended the meeting were told not to release any information given to them on the night, would that be correct? They can let fans know through social media but god forbid they answer any questions the Bray fans ask on that platform. Sure i heard the Chairman himself would not release the names of the full time players at the club to a season ticket holder who asked that question so how is the secrecy not there??

3,219 Posts
    What business is it which players (if any) are full-time?

You can have an open club without giving out private employee information.

Because the Chairman said apparently at the meeting that 2 of the 6 full time players are going to be leaving and that one of them will never kick a ball again for the club. So the fans just wanted to know who the full time players were at their club. Suppose its none of the fans business tho

3,219 Posts
    You're right - none of the fans' business to know what players are full-time.

Ask what players are leaving, for sure - though it seems that may already have been answered here in part - but the club can't just give out every bit of private info just because someone asks.

Course it's the fans business. Their season tickets their jerseys their programmes their scarfs contribute to the players wages... Full time players should in theory be fitter than part time players and on better money and if they aren't putting the shift in then people are entitled to their opinion on how they're performing. The club allegedly said that a few full timers are leaving. 1 was retiring which was released through a statement but it's a guessing game who the other is. So the supporters should either be told who's on the FT contracts or release the news about the player.

3,219 Posts
    Buying a scarf no more entitles you to know what wages people are on than buying a newspaper in a shop means you can ask the shopkeeper whether they're full-time or part-time.

Curtis Murphy is the other player who has left the club but you wont find an official statement anywhere confirming that. Fans left in the dark yet again including season ticket holders

24 Posts
    I doubt very much that Bray have 6 full time players. Anyway the fans have been complaining that most of the players were not performing to their ability so I'm not surprised if some of them are moved on. Hopefully to be replaced by better players. The mid season transfer window is hard to get in good players unless they are returning from cross channel clubs.

I'd say Cherrie, Kenna, Brennan, McNally, Salmon and Lewis could easily be full time?

Well when you have the General Manager of the club posting vile stuff like this on Facebook its no wonder the club is going down the drain.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Holy God. Remind me to never pay to see a Bray game while he's there.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

52 Posts
    My God, that beggars belief.

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull View Post
    My God, that beggars belief.
    At the very least the club should hold an instant inquiry into the racist social media posts purportedly sent by a prominent individual in the club over recent days a statement should be made forthwith and a decision made if required

It made the Joe Duffy show today. Apparently it was only a bit of banter. Dennis O Connor was on defending his brother. I feel sorry for the club having him anywhere near it as he comes across as on horrible person (I could call him worse but better not)
    Podcast here: http://www.rte.ie/radio/utils/radiop...2D06%2D2016%5F

52 Posts
    Club statement just released:
    Bray Wanderers FC are aware of recent comments posted on the personal Facebook page of its General Manager.
    Having investigated the matter we are aware of the background to both. It was an exchange of views between him and a) a UK resident and b) a resident of Florida.
    Whilst the UK one was not authored by The General Manager it is still no defence or even mitigation. And as regards his comment s on the Orlando tragedy he allowed himself to be dragged into an exchange of words which are far from acceptable and are inappropriate.
    Anyone engaging on social media needs to be very aware of the consequences of stupid and hurtful comments – he failed in this regard.
    Also they need to be aware of passing on insensitive posts by others –again he failed.
    The General Manager had apologised and has closed his Facebook page. He has also undertaken to not engage in any Social Media as long as he is involved with The Club.
    Further he has been made aware of his responsibilities as General Manager and has undertaken to promote a new awareness in The Carlisle Grounds of our social responsibilities which includes equal opportunities for all and indeed equal treatment.
    If anyone has any concerns in this regard those concerns should be addressed to the Chairman.
    We apologise for the delay in responding to some media requests but ,unfortunately, most people are on holidays to coincide with the football break.

Bray Wanderers FC