Thread: Very Worrying Developments....

Very Worrying Developments....

I don't know how many have heard the latest news about the squad. Wages have been announced and contracts are running for 12 months. However the amount that the players are being offered is in my mind an insult.

Players are being given between 35 and 50 euros a week as a base wage. There are incentives for winning, scoring, clean sheet, etc, but the basic wage is off-putting. We have many players who have remained loyal through the last few years and have shown that they really want to play for the club. This sort of wage scheme does not reward the loyalty that they have shown both the club and the fans.

Hate to be a "told you so" about NOC but it seems he's back to old form already: One of our players was worried about getting only a 50 wage. To play football he is giving up about 150 each Friday night. From the report I was given the conversation went as abruptly as this:
    Player: N, I'm having problems playing for such a small amount as I would be giving up a higher paid night's work.
    NOC: Fine (Hangs up)

This simply isn't good enough. Wages have to be revised. Our players have to be treated with a hell of a lot more respect for the loyalty they have shown.

This is an absolute disgrace and typical of NOC's old behaviour. I wonder will he refuse to give water to the players again just like his antics in Jackman.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

i know it wasnt you that backed them dessie so this is nt really aimed at you but

i have to say " ha ha ha ha ha ha ha " i tried to warn ye about this but got nothing but abuse ,people spying on me tracing my ip address and accusing me of all sorts , but hey ye know best !!!!!

coz i was only "making stuff up" but now it looks to be coming true funny how that happens !!

50 euro is a joke i would nt get out of bed for that

Hi Lads:

As a Supporter I dont think it's any of my Business what the Club decides to play the Players. As long as they are playing to their potential on the pitch thats all i need to know.

I dont disclose my earnings to all and sundry nor would anyone else and think that it is very unprofesional for Players to have done so if this is the case. From what I hear any Player playing regulary will be well compensated for their efforts, actually much better than last year. If This was such a major issue well then why have all the Kerry Lads(4), Junior lads, Carthy, Aherne, Mooney, Warren (v.Soon), Woulfe, Costello etc all signed without any hassle.

Seems to me like some players are stirring it a bit, maybe they feel they wont be starting so may not earn lots!!. Last year we had a poor team who earned the same weekly wage no matter how they performed.

We finished bottom of the League ....QED

All the best and loking forward to the new season

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Posted by John D:
    "We finished bottom of the League"

Are you talking about NOC's last attempts at Limerick?

If we run with that maybe we can see why they would be worried about this basic wage. The last time NOC was a manager he failed spectacularily in the league. He is renowned for creating personal problems between himself and players. This just seems to be another example of behaviour that I had hoped he had ridden himself of in Cork.

John: What is your opinion of the player who was listed as an example? Do you think this was the way to deal with him?
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Has Mick Ahearne signed for Limerick next season or has JohnD made a freudian slip in his list?

And to be honest John while the new wage scheme probably makes sense from a financial point of view Deise is right to highlight it. With all the talk of ambition I'm a little bit surprised by this announcement that's all. Effectively if Limerick are offering the smallest wages in the division (and based on those figures I'd feel fairly safe in guessing that we are) then we're effectively aiming to finish last again. The idea of bonuses is a good one, they're no disputing that but if you're a random player who's offered for arguments sake €200 a week by say Galway and €50 a week with a possible €200 on top of that in bonuses with Limerick it's gonna be an unusual player indeed who doesn't head to Terryland Park. A lot of the players we approach are gonna be dependent on their football income to varying levels and if Limerick can't provide the same level of security as other clubs we're going to lost out on potential signing (especially those with no real link to Limerick).

And while I agree with you that it's not really our business how much the players earn I'm certainly not going to ignore the information once it's presented to me. Nor do I think Deise should have sat on it. If the player has no problem disclosing his earning it's public domain and we can hapoily discuss it here as it's clearly not to the embarrassment of the person concerned. QED

Desie:

I presume this is the Phone Call you are referring to? If so I would say
    that NOC stated at a meeting recently to Players that he wanted total committment to the Team.

If that Player plays and keeps a clean sheet (Defender) Scores (Forward) Assist (Midfielder) etc he will prob want to be in a very good job to pay more for one Nights work

I have heard of Supporters being hard to please but lets give the Guy a chance we have not played a match yet

I Predict we will finish a lot Higher than last year

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Desie:
    Desie? Who is this Desie character!

What I would say is that NOC is probably not in sole control of his wage budget and people should remember that.

His attitude is disappointing though if that phone conversation is in any way reflective of his response.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 20/01/2005 at 2:12 PM. Reason: messed up my smileys

well if these rumours are true of NOC's ignorance (and thats all I can call that telephone conversation), and of the lack of wages being made available than I doubt we will John to be honest with you. As SLK already highlighted if a player is offered 200euro down by Galway, and 50euro down by Limerick, he's gonna jump to Terryland faster than you can say 'I made a mistake backing Noel O'Connor'.

Jebus Agree with you on that one. It makes sense doesnt it ?

The only thing I can see is that if it is 50E then the bonuses would want to be good to compensate. Still think though its an issue between the club and it's contracted employees not for us to Worry about

All the best

JohnD

[QUOTE=sadloserkid]Has Mick Ahearne signed for Limerick next season or has JohnD made a freudian slip in his list?

i dont think mick will be back through no fault of his own !! but if ye know noc you 'll know the reason . i think its a small bit petty

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    i have to say " ha ha ha ha ha ha ha " i tried to warn ye about this but got nothing but abuse ,people spying on me tracing my ip address and accusing me of all sorts , but hey ye know best !!!!!
    Harsh but fair...

Anto:

Mike Ahearne has signed as have many others. Lets hope their wages are massive next year. Plenty of Win Bonuses

JohnD
    Last edited by JohnD; 20/01/2005 at 3:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Anto:

Mike Ahearne has signed as have many others. Lets hope their wages are massive next year. Plenty of Win Bonuses

JohnD
    I'm glad to hear that JohnD A little surprised too if I'm honest but I thought Mike came on in leaps and bounds as the season came on and deserves a chance to prove himself again. Any chance of a full list of players signed John?

What happens guys, if your wage structure is very heavily bonus based ,and you actually do very well results wise. Will enough fans come back to increase the cash flow sufficiently to meet the wage bill? If not ye will be up the creek without a paddle.

I've been reading over posts from the past few months as I was going to reply to SLK's thread regarding Mike Kerley and what the supposed truth was about him when he was sacked. The players budget for last season was discussed numerous times by different posters including yourself John, while others such as Willie John (who I expect to see cheering Noel with his pom poms next season) and Joe Soap used it as a tool to attack Mike Kerley and call for his sacking. My point is this, why can't we discuss about the players wages for this season? No one objected to Willie Joe or Joe Soap so there is no reason why Deise can't raise the issue now whether he wishes to attack Noel or support him.

In regards To NOC's people's skills, he was never renowned for it and that's speaking from personal experience and from other people's encounters with him as well. If he's looking for dedication to the team then that should be expected, but because a player sought more money is no excuse to hang up on him or doubt that person's committment. Are players expected to play for peanuts because the days of just playing for the pride of the shirt are well and truly gone. It is quite common for players to seek the best possible deal for themselves, its called negotiation. I'm not going to get into the treatment of the player nor will I start judging Noel just yet because it would be too easy to base it on past experience. But I can't help notice that there seems to be a general feeling among posters, excluding a certain few, to just sit on the fence and bite their tongue rather than just speak their mind since the new consortium took over. Are people afraid that big brother is watching your every comment? Speak your mind this is the whole purpose of this forum.

I've noticed that Joe Soap isn't posting anymore is that because he is the club spokesman now, I think it would be good if Joe (I hope your reading this btw) in his official capacity replied to threads as they appeared here and would provide the club with a two way communication with the supporters.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

50 smackers

while i agree that 50 is very little i hope this gets rid of a few ****e players we have. id up it to 60 but i like the idea of performance related pay for our lot...at last. Yea Mick Aherne has signed as has McCarthy bigger news is that Derick White has tendered notice (3 months) to fairview rangers. I havent heard anything bout Brendan Sweeney though which is bad. Wolfe has signed as have the 4 kerry lads.ammmmmmm Dave Warren will sign but hes abroad right now. But we do need players big time or else it mid table or last again. And Anto, knowone traced your IP,it was a joke!

How do we know that this player isn't just stirring things? I doubt if Noel Mooney and Dave Warren are on a basic of €50. Maybe it's certain players? I think everyone should calm down and try to deal in facts only.

As far as I'm concerned, out of all of last years squad, all bar about 5 or 6 DESERVE to be on €50 for their shambolic efforts. There are only about 5 or 6 who deserve a good wage due to their loyalty. For the majority, their wages last year (if the wage bill was as high as we are lead to believe) were a joke when compared to what they returned on the pitch. Let them earn it this year. It's as simple as this: If they are good enough, and put in the work, they'll earn a good wage. If they don't, they won't. The 'don'ts', we can do without anyway. Too many of them last year. I presume if there is good improvement next season, the basic wage will be increased accordingly. Nothing wrong with that, I think it's a good system.

Can anyone clarify if ALL players are on a basic of €50? I doubt it.....

If the players (however many of them it is, if not all) are on €50 a week, then it's their business. While we might think it isn't enough, myself included, surely the players can either accept the money, or go somewhere else. No one is forcing them to sign. The bonus structure may be a good idea, but I would share 'observer's reservations regarding the problems it might create.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

[QUOTE=gael353] bigger news is that Derick White has tendered notice (3 months) to fairview rangers.

Why is this Bigger news for Limerick Gael..Is Derek coming on Board with Noel O'Connor.

Derek McCarthy

Just on a sidenote regarding Noel O'Connors people skills did he not have a falling out with Derek McCarthy a few seasons back?I presume this is all sorted now? And whatever became of your man Lims Fan? I bet he's delighted to see O'Connor back at the helm