Thread: goal scorer

Foot.ie! goal scorer

limerick fc badly need a goal scoring centreforward.their defence is good enough for this league,but we are lacking a decent out and out striker.this will prove costly during the league.

any good junior soccer plays out their that would fit the bill?

a few but would require a few quid to travel the length & breadth of the country with Lims.

Robbie Kelleher is easily good enough

Quote Originally Posted by B1977
    limerick fc badly need a goal scoring centreforward.their defence is good enough for this league,but we are lacking a decent out and out striker.this will prove costly during the league.

any good junior soccer plays out their that would fit the bill?
    I'd rather a proven scorer than taking a chance on a junior player myself. It may cost but you get what you pay for.

If there were good junior players willing to make the step up they would have been found by now - there's more than just Limerick in th eL.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

have also heard that limerick have approached 9 players locally from the limerick oscar traynor panel any ideas who and is this a step forward?

Lims could do worse than sign the best in Junior Football.

The last time they done it under Dave Connell they got to the play-offs against UCD with a team full of Junior players & only just missed out on promotion.

Keep in local & you should get a team with heart at least & it won't cost that much either

I don't agree with Black Stripe - at least not totally. There are quite a lot of local players in the side already - though we have got some fine players from e.g. the Kerry league. I don't think a policy of only selecting local players is a good one. Why limit ourselves. Of course if a Limerick player is good enough he should want to play for the club and that's brilliant. But I don't think a policy of only (or most) Limerick players is necessarily a good one. The Limerick sporting public (IMO) will supprt a winning team and where most of the players come from is not too important if we are winning. If we can win with local players great - but if we are average with local players then we get no support.

As regards commitment - just because a player is from Limerick does not mean he will be more committed to the cause. Can we doubt the commitment in recent seasons of Steve O'Mahoney, Steve O'Flynn, Brendan Sweeney, Ciaran Foley etc - none of whom are from Limerick. there have been some Limerick natives who have coasted at times. On balance local players may be more involved in the club but Limerick native and fully committed are not one and the same.

I am not saying that a bunch of mercenaries (like Dublin City last season) is the way to go either. It is clear we need eL experienced players - this was really lacking in the last two to three seasons - and we need to go outside Limerick to get that. Also, I think a lot of junior players may look good in the junior leagues - but there is a step up to eL. It would be foolish to bring in too many junior players at one time - very risky. Some will make it (hopefully loads) but history suggests few do. The U-21 team will be important in that respect. I am very wary of this view that there is an army of brilliant footballers in junior soccer in Limerick that just need to be called on to get us to the top of the league. I think some people have an inflated idea of the quality of junior football in Limerick and underestimate the difficulty of doing well in the eL.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by samuel
    Dunlin City had an inflated view of Limerick Junior soccer a few years ago-and then Fairview hammered them 4-1 in the FAI senior Cup--eh ooooh said la-la out of the tellytubbies..
    Fairview Rangers have only been in with the eL teams twice in the last 5 seasons. The same year they beat Dublin City they were beaten by Finn Harps in Limerick (a first division team). There have been no other Limerick junior teams within an ass es roar of the senior draw in many years. (Balla were well beten by Garda the season before last). This is if the FAI Cup is your measure.

Since 1999 only four non-league teams have beaten First Division opposition. Out of what must be a few dozen games that is hardly sign that the first division sides are around the same level as junior clubs or even intermediate clubs.

La-la indeed....
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 08/01/2005 at 1:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by poacher
    limerick need to snap uo the best young talent in limerick . not go down the lines of saying there 2 young or any of that crap the junior players they had last year would struggle to get any of the top junior sides in town the only reason they are with limerick is to make up the numbers lets be honest when limerick were up there a few years back they had the best junior players at the time in limerick anthony tobny jason o connor ray o halloran and a lot more the players they have now would never be in there league....why sign players that will cost if they had a proper system set they would have the best u21s team in ireland which would lead to success in ther junior team.......limerick should be looking for the next best thing in limerick not singing has beens like last year
    Ray O'Halloran a junior player?

Anyway, I agree. The junior will be a great resource for young players of the future. The U-21 set will be great for that - as I said earlier. However, there is not a huge amount of finished talent just waiting to be taken on. The best 11 players from the junior league in Limerick would not win promotion from the First Division in the eL. They may not finish last (though I suspect they might) but what we want is a side that will challenge for promotion. You need a solid base of eL experienced players - not has beens (Brendan Sweeney, Dave Warren, Kevin O'Brien - the players we should be targetting - are not has beens or washed up or junior players). We need a mix I agree - but can we please stop with the idea that Limerick junior football is awash with superstars.

hopefully steven kelly might sign and we could have a look at him. his pace would be great asset

Has the happy butcher named his assistant yet ???

He could do a lot worse than Kev Fitzpatrick who is the holder of a UEFA B badge & a top class coach, he is not only a goalkeeper coach for the uneducated ones out there.

I hear Lims are giving the under-18 job to a Mr Hynes from Clare who ran their Kennedy Cup team last year, he's not up to much coaching from what I hear.

Quote Originally Posted by Black stripe

He could do a lot worse than Kev Fitzpatrick who is the holder of a UEFA B badge & a top class coach, he is not only a goalkeeper coach for the uneducated ones out there.

I hear Lims are giving the under-18 job to a Mr Hynes from Clare who ran their Kennedy Cup team last year, he's not up to much coaching from what I hear.

Denis Hynes is from north Clare and has coached the Kennedy cup team for the last 2/3 years. He also does Fai coaching courses in the area.

He is manager of Moher Celtic who last year won an U 16 cup in the county under his guidance. He seems to have all the qualities of a decent coach as regards Fai badges ect but I would worry about his personality tbh. I'm not sure would he be able to assemble a team either. Would that be done for him???????

He looked a bit of a spanner in one incident last season in Clare when he appealed a result and then spoke to the papers before the decision was made by the league. Backfired on him big time and he was laughed out of the appeal meeting.

I heard from good sources in Clare that he is a clown & that the only manager worth his salt in that County is Hugh Kelly who assembled, trained & led last years Oscar Traynor team to their historic victory.

Can't see why Lims are looking in Clare when they have the likes of Kev Fitz & Trevor Lovelle available in our own city

Agreed on 2 points.... Denis Hynes is a clown and I dont see why Limerick are looking in Clare for a manager...

Secondly Hugh Kelly deserves credit for what he achieved last year with the Oscar Traynor. There is nobody more arrogant than HK but maybe this is a good trait. He would certainly be a better bet than Hynes but is is also very ignorant and I would have doubts wether a bunch of younglads from Limerick would put up with him.... His training is not good but he knows good coaches to do that work for him. He is definetly a good reader of the game and has a good eye for talent spotting. Still not sure he would be the best choice though. He might be good with Trevor Lovelle training the team and HK picking it.

Quote Originally Posted by Black stripe

i didnt know we were having an under 18 side this year? is it the under 21's hes been given?

Well I would expect that those in charge will do their homework first before appointing anybody to any position in the club. If he is a clown, then they should find that out by asking around. It's basic background checking. To be honest, there's a hell of a difference between Kennedy cup and U18\U21s, the main difference being you're managing men instead of boys. If he's a spanner he won't last ****ing time, especially with the cheeky city lads.

Trevor Lovelle should be given the U21s, no question. They should get Eoin Hand involved to overlook the whole underage set-up, he's a man who knows what he's talking about. If asked, he'd oblige.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Well I would expect that those in charge will do their homework first before appointing anybody to any position in the club. If he is a clown, then they should find that out by asking around. It's basic background checking. To be honest, there's a hell of a difference between Kennedy cup and U18\U21s, the main difference being you're managing men instead of boys. If he's a spanner he won't last ****ing time, especially with the cheeky city lads.

Trevor Lovelle should be given the U21s, no question. They should get Eoin Hand involved to overlook the whole underage set-up, he's a man who knows what he's talking about. If asked, he'd oblige.
    Trevor and Eoin are FAI Employees and I think there might be a slight difficulty if they are formally involved with the club lads. It is something that needs to be examined.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Trevor and Eoin are FAI Employees and I think there might be a slight difficulty if they are formally involved with the club lads. It is something that needs to be examined.
    Trevor no longer works for the FAI.

Take that as gospel as I know the man & speak to him regularly

Talking

Take this as gospel also Tommy Barrett & Robbie Kelleher (both Fairview Rgs) were training last night with Lims.

It was a weight training session in UL with Dave Mahedy.
    Both good players & Kelleher is a top class striker while Barrett is a versatile player who could do a job in a number of positions.

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    Fairview were training in ul last night you nob-jockey
    Whatever pal. One of the current Lims players is a friend of mine & he said LIMS were training with Dave Mahedy doing circuits & Barrett & Kelleher were there.

Facts only please nob jockey hahahahaa!!!

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    Ya and the facts are that your stiring **** do you not think that maybe fairview and lims were training in ul
    I am sure both clubs like most junior clubs train in UL on Tuesday nights.

I spoke to a guy who is a mate & plays for Lims, the had a session last nite with Dave Mahedy.

Did you catch that Lims had a session with Dave Mahedy not Fairview, L - I - M - S & the 2 lads were with L-I-M-S while Fairview I am sure were being trained by Dereck Whyte.....

Did you catch it this time Buddy ??? Know I know ye travellers are the best a reading but ask your probation officer to help with the big words & you will get there in the end I am sure..........