Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland Condolences Thread

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Great person, great keeper. It's awful news to be reading.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

535 Posts
    Yeah seen the news on rte sport site earlier. Freddy Hall RIP. Fierce sad and tragic.

187 Posts
    Very sad news, far too young. Always put in an unbelievable performance any time I saw him play vs Pats, always very respectful to pats fans behind his goal too and enjoyed having a laugh with them too
    Paaatrick's Agletic

342 Posts
    Noel Campbell Ex Pats ,Rovers and Irish International .

https://mobile.twitter.com/stpatsfc/...83792495181831
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Noel Campbell Ex Pats ,Rovers and Irish International .

https://mobile.twitter.com/stpatsfc/...83792495181831
    RIP Noel Campbell played for a club in Germany also cant think of the team in question but its not what you think!

156 Posts
    RIP Noel Campbell played for a club in Germany also cant think of the team in question but its not what you think!
    Nearly 200 games for SC Fortuna Koln (Cologne). R.I.P.

535 Posts
    Read in paper earlier that Noel Campbell came back to Ireland in 1979 and Shamrock Rovers were the last club he managed in 1983 which I bet not many people know about!

27 Posts
    Mono, the one and only, mr bohs has sadly passed away. Will be missed by all

326 Posts
    Very sad news. You can see by the messages of condolences everywhere, what a great guy he was. RIP Mono.

1,522 Posts
    Clear from the messages on social media that he was much loved and a huge part of Bohs. May he rest in peace.

270 Posts
    It said in the Indo he did stadium announcements in Dalymount, just wondering if he was the chap on the pitch at half time during Bohs games. Condolences to his family and to all his mates at Bohemians.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    It said in the Indo he did stadium announcements in Dalymount, just wondering if he was the chap on the pitch at half time during Bohs games. Condolences to his family and to all his mates at Bohemians.
    No the pitch side lad is Paul Duffy, mono was the bar manager, delivery taker, daytime shop server, ideas man for work needing done, he showed visiting fans around dalyer , looked after younger fans like his own kids and is an irreplaceable loss to us.mr bohs, a real legend of the club. Players and managers come and go, but this hero showed why a fan owned club is a thing of passion. There’s a go fund me account set up to aid his too young family, please throw a few bob in if you’ve got it.

326 Posts
    Just to add to what Dermo said above. Here is the link to the Go-Fund me page for Mono’s family. I hope it is ok to post this link.

https://gofund.me/7a3d1baa

399 Posts
    Rest in peace Mono.

194 Posts
    RIp Mono(Derek) the kind of volunteer every club needs.
    I remember him well from away days at Dalyer and he was one sound fella.

Condolences to his family,his bohs mates and everyone that loved him.
    One of the good guys .......

RIP

194 Posts
    Des Casey RIP.

Des was a former FAI & UEFA administrator
    Mr.Casey was also the honorary Club President of Dundalk FC his family own OP
    He was a legend in Dundalk and beyond the town.
    May he RIP.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Des Casey RIP.

Des was a former FAI & UEFA administrator
    Mr.Casey was also the honorary Club President of Dundalk FC his family own OP
    He was a legend in Dundalk and beyond the town.
    May he RIP.
    Yeah heard it on LOI podcast with Johnny Ward and Dan McDonnell. Very sad news. May he rest in peace. I remember him in the press conference with Big Jack at press announcement. Was it him that interviewed JC for the job I wonder?

870 Posts
    RiP Des Casey. His legacy and that of his family leaves every Dundalk fan, past, present and in the future in immeasurable debt for the times they have facilitated in Oriel Park, good and bad - without the bad we wouldnt really appreciate the good. Des Casey is not a man whose influence on local, national football and indeed European football can really be expressed in a few sentences. But I think what will stand the test of time is that regardless of the jumped up, self-important failures that came after his days, his contribution to the betterment of our game, his integrity never in question and as some desperately worked to unpick rules that he was key in implementing, to break up and prevent cabals and corruption, he ultimately saw them all off in the end though even if in latter years it was from a distance. It has often been discussed about who Oriel Park or any (new) stand should be named after, many suggestions made but few were Des Casey and I suspect that was because it was known that he would have had many many others before himself. It would certainly be fitting if the subject comes up again that he tops the list.

One amusing incident I was present for at Oriel Park was when a new steward was placed at the players and officials entrance. Des had forgotten his pass and the steward would not let him in as he had been instructed to strictly not let anyone one who didnt have a pass no matter what. Off Des went with no protest, no tantrums or the 'do you know who I am' routine. The steward was quietly then told that he had just refused entry to the owner of the gaff, Honourary VP of the FAI and was recently Vice President of UEFA so not at all a chancer, and the poor chap was quite embarrassed as while he may not have known the person he did know the name. When Des returned the steward was all apologies and Des simply complimented him on doing his job properly, he was at no fault in any way, and that the pass will be remembered next time. A big man with a fierce but quiet manner. I would loved to have seen him in action as a Trade Unionist too!!!
    https://www.uefa.com/returntoplay/ne...rns-des-casey/

(Im pretty sure it was the same night that Brian Kerr as RoI manager was asked to show his ticket/pass or move out of the 'nice' seats in the stand, the look on his face was priceless and obviously why he has beef about Oriel Park and its pitch. That steward was also quietly tipped off on who he was throwing out of his seat though thinking back it would have been fun to just let it play out a bit longer. I suspect Des Casey might have mischievously enjoyed that one too).
    Last edited by Nesta99; 24/08/2022 at 10:24 PM.

3,195 Posts
    Brian Mullins, the Dublin GAA legend but also Director of Sport at UCD. Would have been a driving force behind the redevelopment of the UCD Bowl at the time the football club left Belfield Park to move in, for example, and also played a huge role in developing the scholarship programme. Obit here on the UCD website.

194 Posts
    Roy Mackin RIP

A lifetime supporter and great servant to Dundalk.

I'm sure programme collectors and early arriving away fans from other clubs would recognize him.He was a gent and great craic too. He was the sort of volunteer every LoI club needs.

He'll be sorely missed at OP

RIP Roy

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast