What's the deal with bringing in replacements for injured players after the official squad is named?
O'Neill seemed to say Arter may not play against Belarus, which infers he has a chance of being fit by tomorrow, but I'd say it's hard to know without him getting properly checked out.
What's the deal with bringing in replacements for injured players after the official squad is named?
They said on TV3 there that Kevin Doyle was due to fly in from Colorado but that instead he's been demoted to the stand by list and, as things stand, will not make the Euro squad.
Last edited by DeLorean; 30/05/2016 at 7:42 PM.
http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/201...tchie.html?m=1
Blog on Dutch game plus thoughts on tomorrow's squad selection. Apologies in advance for any typos, not had time to proof read yet.
Yeah, stand by list, last line - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/...-belarus-game/
Most obvious like for like replacement for Robbie is probably McGoldrick - or Stokes! We have quite a few no. 9 options, not many no. 10s.
There's no replacement for Robbie Keane Mr Stuttgart88, took us 100 years to produce one of him and I am resigned to probably never seeing his likes in green in my lifetime again. I just hope it doesn't end like this, on an injury two weeks out from a finals for the man.
I was kind of hoping he'd get one of those 'handy' hat-tricks tomorrow night to bring him up to an even 70.
Sorry, yeah, Charlie had already broken the news about Doyle being on stand by, I was just saying that TV3 seemed to report it differently i.e. that he won't make the squad barring pull outs.
Right, so I watched the game Sunday evening, after returning from a stag, so my concentration might not have been the best. I think the worst thing I did was read the performances of players here first, as being honest, no one really stood out and it made sense to me(the inconsistencies in analysing individual performances), as Kerr on the radio was very different to what was said on the papers and lots of differing opinions on here. I think geysir pointed out that he didn't feel Arter did that much, or McGoldrick for that matter. I think he was the only one wrt Arter, kerr also didnt really point out Arter, but did say Quinn played well. In my opinion I didn't really notice any of them to be honest, the only one who did stand out for me was Glenn Whelan, which kinda proved how average we must have been on Friday. It had a very much end of season thing about it, rather than the bite and hunger to go into a tournament all geared up on the back of a good performance and a win.
Randolph is getting worse, in my opinion, the more games he plays, but I never rated him that much anyway. A keeper coming out for a cross that is not inswinging is always a bad idea, it was curling back away from him, he would have had to climb all over yer man to get on it. He completely misjudged the flight of the ball. But what duffy was at was even worse, these lads have played together a few times now, they should be communicating well. I think O'Neill is a bit naive to dismiss the incident, which he has done in interviews. One good thing was Randolph came out again and got a good strong punch on another cross, but I think that over-confidence in himself could also be a hindrance. Time will tell.
I thought coleman looked good, it doesn't seem like Everton has affected him too much or his injuries. We always looked good down the right. Brady is very uncomfortable when he is defending facing goals, he is obviously uncomfortable on his right side, and you can see he wants to defend well, keeping the ball, but is a little unsure, probably because of past experiences like Poland - but I think thats a good thing, he shouldn't make mistakes easily. O'Shea looked good I thought, he didnt seem rusty. Duffy seemed good but the goal really worries me, as it looks like he is taking his club form into the international fold, even though we hadn't seen it before.
Midfield was ok, Mcgoldrick had a few nice touches but I don't think he does enough really, if we are happy that he doesn't offer any real defensive assitance or ability, then he needs to do more from an attacking threat and I didn't see that from him. Arter was very willing always putting in tackles and trying to get on the ball, but I didn't think he was oustanding or did enough, just that he was more busy than anyone else. I did like the turn in the first half though and run towards the box, he does seem to find a bit of space around there. Quinn I think did enough to be included, he was always willing to help out in attack, to get on the ball in tight spaces, and keep the ball, he gave it away a few times but he was still willing to do it again and again, no one else really offered that, and he also helped defensively too.
Walters was brutal, not sure what he was at half the time, he looks more uncomfortable in a central position. Game passes him by more. Luckily he is a cert from the qualifying campaign otherwise I am not sure he would be going anywhere. Long did ok, he ran around a bit and pulled them apart now and again, but I still prefer him coming off the bench.
For the first half we were very slow to start and get going, not sure why really, but in the second half for the first 20 mins we looked composed and assured, even a bit of a swagger about us.
I thought our set pieces looked much better, and more organised. We looked like we had a few different tricks up our sleeves and had worked on a few different formations/options from the set pieces.
All in all, I wasn't overly impressed with the performance and it didn't leave a lasting impression.
I'd say what O'Neill said in interviews and what he actually thought about the goal conceded might actually be different.
Ya, maybe stutts, probably didn't want to have any negativity. Fair point, I might have completely misread that, but he was so enthused about Duffy that I didn't see that. I guess if he starts against Sweden then that kinda proves that he obviously wasn't fazed by it.
Given
Christie - Keogh - Clark - Ward
--- Gibson - Meyler -----
McGeady - Hendrick - McClean
------- Murphy --------
Subs: Forde (GK), Westwood (GK),
Coleman, O'Shea, Duffy, Brady,
O'Dowda, Whelan, Hoolahan, Quinn, O'Kane,
Long, Walters, McGoldrick.
Last edited by Closed Account; 31/05/2016 at 5:40 PM.
So there's a chance we'll never see Robbie in an Ireland jersey again. A shame but removes a headache for MON
Gutted for Arter. Pity O'Kane isn't getting a crack tonight....
Gibson gets another chance to try and impress.
Why? He's just getting rested.
Everything people say about Long being suited to a "super sub" role could equally be applied to Walters surely? Long tires the defenders. Then the barrel comes on.
I mean he didn't close down the cross going in to De Jong, he failed to clear the first man with a simple cross, McClean was stretching the Dutch defence but had no support, he didn't link up the play...
We're well stocked with players that can play the wide role too.
I'm not against him starting per se. I just fail to see why he is a nailed on starter.
Long a far more important player IMO as is Hoolahan.
Edit: Excuse me. Just seen news breaking.
Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 31/05/2016 at 6:18 PM.
I smell no goals.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Great interview with Seamus Coleman.why are the country lads always so humble and down to earth that's probably why along with all the second generation with humble country parents, we have such a togetherness in the squad