Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Thread: Fixtures- April 22nd/23rd/25th

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Guys like Massey and Boyle would fit into the same category.
    Watching the Troglodytes has clearly affected your judgement or sanity

120 Posts
    I think Boyle is the best defender in the league myself

555 Posts
    "Maximising their talent through hard work". I agree.

"Least talented on the pitch"? I doubt you are saying that about Massey or Boyle.

Well I meant that about Shields. Maximising their talent was about Boyle and Massey, neither of whom would be the most naturally talented around, as opposed to the likes of Horgan and O'Donnell who are naturals. It's a compliment.

172 Posts
    Jesus wept, some of the you Dundalk fans could do with a bit of perspective. You have a couple of decent players, a few fair to middling players , and a few clogger's. Saying they are all the best in the league is not as big an achievement as you seem to believe ,when by common consent the league is of an exceptionally poor standard at present.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Jesus wept, some of the you Dundalk fans could do with a bit of perspective. You have a couple of decent players, a few fair to middling players , and a few clogger's. Saying they are all the best in the league is not as big an achievement as you seem to believe ,when by common consent the league is of an exceptionally poor standard at present.
    I can't resist - I'd love to know which players fall into what categories!

81 Posts
    Massey, neither of whom would be the most naturally talented around,
    Massey has played futsal internationally for Ireland. Very very skillful player.

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Massey has played futsal internationally for Ireland. Very very skillful player.
    I like Massey but saying he's played futsal for Ireland therefore he must be very skilful is hilarious

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I like Massey but saying he's played futsal for Ireland therefore he must be very skilful is hilarious
    Ah here, I was giving that as an example. Futsal is a sport based on dribbling and ball control. Would a hard working player as Massey has been described fit into that category?

I have seen Massey play for past three seasons. I think I'm a better judge of his skill levels than opposition fans that see him a couple of games a season. Massey is one of the most skillful players in the Dundalk team. The defensive side of his game has been his major weakness but he has improved himself greatly.

I'm not saying any of the players aren't talented, just that some are clearly naturally adept. I doubt Brian Gartland would get into the Ireland futsal team but he's clearly a very natural footballer, whereas for somebody like Shields or, yes, Massey I reckon it doesn't come quite as easily. I didn't mention anything about skills or ball control. That's all I meant and I wasn't expecting it to turn into such a rigmarole.

79 Posts
    I'm not saying any of the players aren't talented, just that some are clearly naturally adept. I doubt Brian Gartland would get into the Ireland futsal team but he's clearly a very natural footballer, whereas for somebody like Shields or, yes, Massey I reckon it doesn't come quite as easily. I didn't mention anything about skills or ball control. That's all I meant and I wasn't expecting it to turn into such a rigmarole.
    Gartland is probably our worst player on the ball that we have!

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Ah here, I was giving that as an example. Futsal is a sport based on dribbling and ball control. Would a hard working player as Massey has been described fit into that category?
    I know lads who've played futsal for Ireland and they wouldn't play in the top tier of the LSL. The amount of people who play futsal here is tiny so it's no indicator of anything

And again, I like Massey. I was just saying the futsal thing means nothing at all

I can only suspect Charlie has mixed up his centre halves if he thinks Gartland is a better footballer than Boyle

999 Posts
    Howie King once played beach football for Ireland.

Howie king was also once described by the Star as a 'towering hitman'.

G'wan Howie!

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    This old 'league is at its lowest standard but it was a higher standard when we were last champions' nugget. I think the league was exceptionally poor throughout the 1980s (except 81/82 and 87/88) it was totally pathetic 90s (except 90/91 and 94/95)! As said before I hope the standard remains as you say exceptionally poor as long as Dundalk dominate in to the next decade!

The PFAI TOTY I find is a good benchmark for players' standing in the league and among their fellow players. The 2015 team would be strengthened by the inclusion of Finn, McEleney will be there in 2016 if he gets an injury free run. Shields wasn't included yet was outstanding at important times last season. Lack of a ruthless striker is still an issue and could result in the league being a closer contest than it would otherwise. Rogers is finally shaking off the calamity waiting to happen feeling so could get in the 2016 side. Meenan and Mountney are by no means beyond a team of the year shout but their battle for a starting berth with each other and the reduced number of games it causes would see them out of contention. Then you have the back 4 who were all included 2015 and as currently the team that has conceded least would be a good bet for being the top back in the league again.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 04/05/2016 at 11:43 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Gartland is probably our worst player on the ball that we have!
    Hence why I deliberately didn't say anything about ball skills. Since there's a lot more to being a footballer than that.

120 Posts
    Hence why I deliberately didn't say anything about ball skills. Since there's a lot more to being a footballer than that.
    Like looking buff in your jersey...

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567