This is true. Ye had what - just the one draw with KR last year to add?
Birkirkara had five draws and two wins to add, which makes a huge difference.
Last edited by paul_oshea; 22/07/2016 at 12:40 PM.
Wins and draws don't matter for club coefficient. Its about how far you progress. We went out in the first round last year so 0.25 points, you get 0.5 for getting to the second round, 1 point for getting to the third.
Individual Wins and draws factor into the league coefficient, which each club from that league then gets 20% of.
We have now contributed the third most to the League coefficient for next season, behind St Pats and Dundalk.
St. Pats 1.25
Dundalk 1.1
Cork City: 0.85
Sligo Rovers: 0.75
Shamrock Rovers: 0.55
Derry City: 0.5
UCD: 0.2
Bohemian F.C.: 0.125
Drogheda United: 0.125
The 0.75 we have contributed in 2016 (2 wins, 2 draws) represents 50% of the total for this season so far. It is also the joint most in the past 5 seasons, tied with Dundalk in 2014 (3 Wins and).
Oh. Didn't know that.
Just looking at Birkirkara - it all adds up except 2013/14, when they got 1.000 points more than the country coefficient despite getting knocked out at the first stage (QR2 of the Champions' League)
Is the CL worth more?
Starting in QR2 - so getting points for "passing" QR1 - would help, but wouldn't make the difference up entirely (0.500 per El-Pietro above)
So maybe CL is worth twice EL?
Would make sense in fairness.
You get 0.500 for playing in the first round of the CL and 1 point for playing in the second round
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_c...ub_coefficient
Ya ye answered it, the national co-efficients and club co-efficients last 5 years. I was wondering was it just the National that was 5 and club could last longer.
McMillan's on fire! Champions League is terrfied! Repeat ad nauseum in Reykjavik while tourists record the singalong on their mobile
What a great couple of days, amazing country and city..... and then there was the football. Thought we were poor at home and in the first half but pulled out a great 30 minutes second half. Last 15 minutes of torture lasted an eternity. We put a lot of work into that tie and if we'd not gone through we'd have been looking back on it in 10, 20 years with bitter regret.
Great to see Cork go through as well, it really is a case that a rising tide can left all boats. Get a few decent results one season and one or two more teams might be seeded the following season. Meaning a better chance of getting a few decent results... etc
I was thinking a bit about that myself, the kind of intangible benefit of results in Europe especially this season. The day after Dundalk progressing the back page headline in the Irish Independent was about ....Dundalk progressing in the CL (good man Dan McDonnell). The other papers also had equal billing type back page headlines. Today's back pages have Corks progression in EL as one of the 2 headlines with the appointment of the English national manager. Inside the Sun there is a full page on Dundalk and the game with BATE and another page on Celtic playing Astana but the banner across the top "Dundalk and Celtic march on". So its a mixed bag, and some of todays papers wouldnt be out of place in corner shops across London. But there is definitely a more serious 'attention' given to the LoI side's participation, including St Pat's efforts. The language used is less patronising and in the St Pat's match reports there is little of the 'plucky effort' type stuff that you see rolled out. It is the likes of Hearts who bore the brunt with an 'embarrassing' defeat, the first Scottish side to be beaten by a Maltese side - lazy journalism as Birkirkara weren't a surprise to go through really. Hibs efforts got the 'plucky' treatment! It may be fleeting and we shouldn't be surprised to being featured in our sports media but you would often wonder if they even knew Irish teams were playing and representing our country at times! Yes you would think that Celtic was an Irish club going on the banner but at least it included Dundalk rather than a basic lip-service effort. I have experienced a bit of a change in attitude myself with people asking about streams, tickets etc for games from friends and family who wouldn't have bothered that much at all previously. At most it was 'what was the result/was it a good game' but this year it was very much 'where can I watch the game or will you get me a ticket'. More than prior to the cup final too which certainly attracts out the bandwagon.
The success breeding success stuff is adding up, get the good draw, progress and it could get a little easier than at the same point previous season. Sustainable back to back titles or European qualification rather than titles and Europe being 'shared' across the league with 7 or 8 winners in a decade. Good to have a competitive league but with the mediocrity of domestic prize money to win consecutive titles both financially and potential seeding improvement and subsequent improvement in the chances to progress in Europe kinda helps the league as a whole? Profile and even credibility with the most fickle sporting enthusiast public that exists lifts. Easy to say stuff like this when champions I know but this season in Europe has some sort of order to it with the top 2 clubs arguably performing best and obviously progressing furthest in respective completion and others putting in admirable performances, Rovers being the blot on the copybook. There is also reason to be optimistic in forthcoming ties albeit tough asks especially for Dundalk but with some luck in the draw for the EL play-off it isnt a total outside bet - but lets hope that we really bloody BATE's collective noses, they certainly deserve it after their antics last year, thrwing elbows and trying to find fights when the tie was done...the poorest most unsavoury shower of winners Ive seen!! As an aside i'm delighted for Cork and with Cork's result last night as at least we wont be the only side with a fixture headache and no better than the bunch that are on your tail in the league
Didn't realise €6.3million was the potential of EL group stages and we have the leagues top 2 clubs in with a shout - to use a worn out phrase it is game changer money! For Dundalk its really already spent in a way with most likely playing catch-up with facilities, for Cork with Turners Cross the best ground in the league imo, well what an amount of money to have to figure out what to do with! €6.3million or whatever figure around that that prizemoney might be is about €100k in annual interest at a little under 1% AER, so a bit like winning the league every year in terms of income....it'd pay for flare fines and replacement seating at leastIt is good to dream!!
Last edited by Nesta99; 22/07/2016 at 2:29 PM.
Kick-off for next weeks tie in Genk confirmed at 8.00pm local time. 7pm Irish time.
€3.2m if Dundalk get to the Europa League and lose every game I think. Breakdown here
Where'd you see €6.3m?
Still, way above even what Rovers got five years ago.
Last edited by pineapple stu; 22/07/2016 at 2:43 PM.
So uefa and the sky leagues, and all the european leagues awash with money is not in fact a bad thing, nor is UEFAs statement that 75% of all monies is put back into football....Discuss
I think stu you've made a good point, the generated income should be put to use for the long term, not put into short term gain - which is short term and nothings left from it in 5-10 years down the line.
The long term planning in 3.6 or 6.3 million is put it in fixed interest or index related instrument getting 3% a year, using it to pay the running and/or improvement of facilities. Short term would be buying a few players or paying a good bit more to keep the best lads, and nothing to show for it down the road. Progress is not just measured in short term success. Medals or titles or leagues.
Has McMillan’s 3 goals over the two legs been bettered/equalled by a LOI player?