Another problem is the increased security due to legia's reputation they caused a bit of trouble for our game in Tallaght.
When are tickets on sale?
DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?
Blow-in alert.
RTE this morning were reporting how it would be great to draw Celtic for the full house, even if it meant most fans would be supporting Celtic, and also little chance of progression.
Our sports casters just don't get it.
Funny when I heard they drew Warsaw, I worried about a big Polish support from Legia fans, rather than the Polish community. It's as good a draw as can be expected, hopefully a decent crowd, 25k plus will turn up to support Dundalk.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
RTE to show the first leg (the Weds) and TV3 the second (the following Tues) as far as I know? The proper tv rights kick in now at the playoff stage anyway!
My misses is Polish and all she had to say was "Warsaw is nice." couldn't care less I feel haha
Hope tickets are sold logically. Poles based here should be able to buy tickets for the away section rather than have pockets of them everywhere among the Dundalk/LOI Alliance. I think the small end in the Aviva holds 5,000, surely they wouldn't need more than that? I assume tickets will be available online and not just in Dundalk and on the door. Looking forward to it anyway.
It's better off that it isn't Celtic. We'd be having "Celtic are British v Celtic are Irish" arguments for the next two weeks.
"If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
“Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"
Remembering the absolute hammerings they gave Pats and Celtic a couple of years back I'd expect Legia are decent favourites for this. Still a performance like the last day and Dundalk have a chance.
They could segregate the way I seen it done back in Sweden in 1996..
I was working over there in Gothenburg, and Newcastle United were drawn to play Halmstad in the UEFA Cup, about an hour and a half away.. a pile of us Irish guys who were working there, went down to watch and on the approaches to the ground.. the stewards asked us in Swedish.. who you were supporting.. if you couldn't answer in Swedish, and we were English speaking of course, you were just directed into the Newcastle end away from the Swedish fans.. so we spent the game with about 3000 Geordies.. was great craic to be honest.
Only trouble we had, was over one of our lads wearing a red scarf peeping out over the top of his jacket.. a mad Geordie thought he was a Sunderland fan taking the ****.. turned out it was his Nottingham Forest scarf.. he was told take it off and hide it, before other Geordies got drunk.. and didn't bother to check
By feck did they hate Sunderland
Also went to see IFK Gothenburg beat AC Milan that year in the Ullevi.. that was a great IFK team.. was some athmosphere.
But the Swedes were funny.. me and the guy with the Forest scarf went alone to that.. and ended up with the IFK fans in the "quiet" section. Apparently they had the Ultras, who they called the Angelarna i.e. the Angels.. who made all the noise.. and the quiet fans who enjoyed watching the game and politely clapping.. me and Marcus were half drunk and cheering like maniacs.. the quiet fans thought we were a hoot.. we delighted to see us cheering their team on.. and brought us off drinking with them for nothing after the game..
Great nights we had in Sweden I tell you.
I'm just a small time a small time junior soccer fan here in Tipperary.. but I think I'll head up to the Aviva Wednesday week and cheer for Dundalk.. would be great to see Champions League soccer in Ireland
Sounded very loud for the half hour I watched as well.
Personally I couldn't care less about such discussions.
From a Dundalk perspective I think Celtic would have been much more preferable to Legia Warsaw, from a football perspective Celtic would have been a much less difficult opponent. The Dundalk players would have thrived in such a tie. I think Celtic are at a low ebb, in the beginning stages of a fundamental transition period, necessary because the 2015/16 celtic team were by far their poorest in modern times.
It's Legia Warsaw and I think it might well be favorable that the first game is at 'home'. By rights Bate should have scored one or two more in the first leg, Dundalk got out of that first leg lightly but now LW will be out of their comfort zone in the first leg and Dundalk with a huge crowd behind them might just gain an advantage.
There are reasons to be hopeful.
The Galway Cup is on ..
http://galway-cup.squarespace.com/#aboutthegalwaycup
500 tickets were given to the kids teams I think. However the european story added about 800/900 to the gate tonight I say.