Page 10 of 154 FirstFirst ... 891011122060110 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2016

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    There is a pedestrianized street in the centre of town, rue d 'Alzette. We were in a bar called Mousels (?)

However, the best fun was when we got to the ground. They had a hut beside the main stand selling beer and hotdogs. The beer was sold in bottles and was cheap, €2 I think. They had to stop serving when the match started, but were serving again at half time and at full time. We must have been there for 2 hours after the game. They let the kids out on pitch for a kickabout too. Very friendly people.
    That was great craic at the ground alright. I recall a local
    TV station doing a report after the game with plenty of boisterous Dundalk fans behind the reporter.
    We stayed in Luxembourg City, only a 20 minute spin out on the train to Esch.
    The club were very friendly and welcoming, as were there players on the pitch!

447 Posts
    Buses in Luxembourg work on an honour system by the way... none of the people I know out there bother buying tickets.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Buses in Luxembourg work on an honour system by the way... none of the people I know out there bother buying tickets.
    The LUAS is very convenient for Richmond Park, minimum Culture Shock for both sets of fans using those forms of Public Transport. same same
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

65 Posts
    The Women's Champions League draw is on tomorrow with Wexford Youths representing Ireland.

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsl...ue+draw+friday

3,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Did UCD play in the main stadium the bartel last year
    No, we played in Dudelange. And Rovers played in their opponent's own ground too I think.

I stayed in Dudelange, but there was nothing there. Maybe better to stay in Luxembourg City and just travel to the match town on the day. Train and bus services are great, but again, avoid taxis.

3,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    You generally pay the driver, no?

That's what I did anyway!

222 Posts
    Train from Lux city to Esch was about €2.50 return. Train station in Esch is 5 minutes walk from the ground and 2 minutes walk from town centre.
    For those of a nerdy disposition it's a 5 minute walk from the ground to the French border if you want to visit France while you're there.

447 Posts
    You generally pay the driver, no?

That's what I did anyway!
    You can, but the tickets last for 2 hours, or return that last for 4 hours or so, so drivers don't expect people to pay them. I'm generally too honest for my own good so I pay the 2 euro or whatever it is, but the people who live there that I know say not to bother and just hop on in the middle and you'll be fine.

The city is really wealthy due to the fact that so many people work there and live in France or Germany so they don't really need the money anyway.

3,350 Posts
    Ah right. There was one driver who turned down my money coming back from the Black Stoff alright - that must have been why.

Also, changing at Bettembourg for the train to Dudelange, I realised I'd lost my ticket, and there were two ticket inspectors having a quick smoke before coming on board. I went up to them and said I'd genuinely lost my ticket and where could I get another one before the train left. They just said "Yerrah, be grand", or whatever the Luxembourgish is and ignored me when they went around checking.

Nice country!

2,394 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    The Women's Champions League draw is on tomorrow with Wexford Youths representing Ireland.

http://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsl...ue+draw+friday
    Ferrycarraig Park and RSC will be hosting group stage games this year too from whichever group Wexford are drawn in. Great news for them to get home games.

281 Posts
    I'm in Luxembourg a few extra days due to the fixture change so I'll be using public transport a good bit didn't plan on staying in esch for so long so it's good to know it's easy to get around to see somewhere different.

3,350 Posts
    It's a nice place actually - the south is where the main population lives, but if you go to the north, there's valleys and some nice countryside, if that's your scene. The branch line to Wiltz is nice, and a couple of the stops are request stops, so you can flag down a train if you want, which I've never done before! The local papers will have info on any upcoming friendlies around the area.

In a way, the above kind of gives an idea of how much there is to do in Luxembourg...!

288 Posts
    FH are playing against Fylkir at home tonight if any Dundalk fans are interested.

2,394 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    FH are playing against Fylkir at home tonight if any Dundalk fans are interested.
    What in the feck am I watching in Longford then?

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    What in the feck am I watching in Longford then?
    Muck.

1,922 Posts
    Aw shucks, did Bohs not make it to Iceland this year?
    Currently from the LOI, only Dundak would have a chance at matching FH. Both teams are currently the best in their leagues. It's wierd though but football wise FH are the most Dundalk
    like side in the Icelandic league and they also happen to play in white & black., that would be a Dundalk side under Kenny and minus Towell.

For pedants with a long memory, FH have Kristjan Finnbogasson (now aged 45) as their reserve goalie. He was the Iceland national goalie when Ireland came in Sept 1997 (WC 98 qual) and won 4-2 mainly due to 3 howlers from butter fingers Kristjan, though. FH´s main goalie is very good, he's the Faroes national keeper and the best in the league.
    Dundalk fans might remember Steven Lennon who played a batch of games for them about 6 years ago before he broke his leg. He's a grand lad.
    I think it's a 50/50 tie, though FH will feel at home playing on Oriel Pk's grass. It's a 50/50 tie but I'd expect FH to edge it.

364 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It's a 50/50 tie but I'd expect FH to edge it.
    We wouldn't have expected you to think anything else.

Dundalk being the unseeded team, have to be much happier with the draw than FH. As the seeded side, they would have hoped for a much kinder draw.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Dundalk fans might remember Steven Lennon who played a batch of games for them about 6 years ago before he broke his leg. He's a grand lad.
    Steven Lennon made his debut for Dundalk coming on as a sub away to Levski Sofia in July 2010 - he came close to scoring a cracker within minutes of coming on.

Although he didn't break his leg while at Dundalk, he did suffer a foot injury subsequently in a league game against Galway, which curtailed his impact at the club. He was signed initial in July to end-of-season and was not offered a new deal for the following season. My impression was that he was a very decent player. Certainly an affable individual off-the-pitch

http://www.dundalkfc.com/postcard-from-reykjavik/
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 25/06/2016 at 1:42 PM.

23. Thanks From:

1,922 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    We wouldn't have expected you to think anything else.

Dundalk being the unseeded team, have to be much happier with the draw than FH. As the seeded side, they would have hoped for a much kinder draw.
    When it comes to anything Iceland, Bohs fans really should just gracefully stay silent

FH could have drawn the unseeded Swedish champions, who in all probability would have been stronger than Dundalk. FH are not at all unhappy with drawing Dundalk, they note on their website that their hated rivals KR beat a team who are just a point behind Dundalk (at the time of the draw) and therefore FH are inspired not to do worse than KR.
    FH are a 'slightly' better team than Thor of Akureyri.

25. Thanks From:

288 Posts
    FH Hafnarfjörður scraped past the bottom team 1-0 at home last night. Stephen Lennon scored it.

Page 10 of 154 FirstFirst ... 891011122060110 ... LastLast