Page 18 of 20 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 LastLast

Thread: 2016 FAI Cup

399 Posts
    It wasn't the best of games, but congratulations to Cork. Tough for us to lose it in the last min of extra time, but that's how it goes. Thought Dundalk were the better side in the first half, but we probably didn't do enough to win the match.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Thought Dundalk were the better side in the first half, but we probably didn't do enough to win the match.
    Need to score to a win a game!

430 Posts
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

555 Posts
    I think we should be charitable. Tired and emotional.

430 Posts
    Funny nonetheless!!

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I think we should be charitable. Tired and emotional.
    Yes I agree. I haven't watched the full thing but hopefully he didn't say anything insulting towards Dundalk as ye don't deserve that. I didn't think it was such a great thing to do myself really, a bit undignified but he was well cut. Fair play to the Dundalk fans who have posted here congratulating us. That's what football is all about. I wish ye the best in the Europa League, hope ye get out of the group.

Quote Originally Posted by rebel View Post
    I didn't think it was such a great thing to do myself really, a bit undignified but he was well cut.
    That's what I felt, like enjoy the moment FFS Mark and don't be thinking about Dundalk.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Out of interest did you think the 26,400 figure was accurate?
    About right. I thought there was maore there last year but not much in it.

Last year they announce a pretty specific number. This time they fell back into the international team habit of round numbers.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    About right. I thought there was maore there last year but not much in it.

Last year they announce a pretty specific number. This time they fell back into the international team habit of round numbers.
    Yeah - I didn't think there was more there then last year - maybe closer than I thought.

Still think 25k+ is an exceptional crowd.

86 Posts
    Absolutely delighted to have won yesterday.

Congratulations to both City & Dundalk for leaving everything on the pitch.
    It wasn't a great final but finals seldom are.

Good luck to Dundalk in Europe.
    Do yourselves & the League of Ireland proud.

Two glimpses from yesterday which will live with me for ever.

Attached Images Attached Images

123 Posts
    Was just scrolling through the posts here and was about to post my congratulations to Cork.

Then I seen disgrunteld's post, try and enjoy your win lad and get the Champions off your mind for a minute or are ya's that obsessed?

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Was just scrolling through the posts here and was about to post my congratulations to Cork.

Then I seen disgrunteld's post, try and enjoy your win lad and get the Champions off your mind for a minute or are ya's that obsessed?
    Yeah it's a bit silly in fairness. Lots of bitterness over on the orielweb forum as well. No need for it, I met a couple of Dundalk fans queuing for the dart after the game yesterday and we got on grand and wished each other the best.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Yeah to be fair a few dundalk fans came over to me to congratulate us which was very nice of them considering the manner of the defeat. The ones that were giving lip were probably the same ones that went out of there way to goad us in oriel in 2014.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Yeah it's a bit silly in fairness. Lots of bitterness over on the orielweb forum as well. No need for it, I met a couple of Dundalk fans queuing for the dart after the game yesterday and we got on grand and wished each other the best.
    I really don't get the fixation that people have about bitterness

To me bitterness means a resentment over some type of unfairness or injustice. This is very different from being disappointed.

Anyone who was emotionally invested in Dundalk winning yesterday would likely be feeling disappointed at the outcome- this could range from being mildly discontented to be extremely devastated - this is not bitterness.

555 Posts
    Fans over there are disappointed but bitter is something else. No one is disputing the result, Cork scored a fair and legitimate goal, we didn't.

125 Posts
    Oh Grow up and enjoy your victory. It's hardly bitterness in OW. More disappointment on the facts of the game and missed opportunites

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post

Kettle pot black accusing him of being obsessed in such a condescending manner... when your own club had an official banner celebrating your league win last year that read something like " We won it in Talaght" - being gracious in victory or defeat costs nothing.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Kettle pot black accusing him of being obsessed in such a condescending manner... when your own club had an official banner celebrating your league win last year that read something like " We won it in Talaght" - being gracious in victory or defeat costs nothing.
    Our club did not have anything to do with that banner, the kit supplier made it and displayed it at their function.

If you are going to point the finger at others, get your facts right.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Our club did not have anything to do with that banner, the kit supplier made it and displayed it at their function.

If you are going to point the finger at others, get your facts right.
    Oh dear the " we were only following orders " defence - the banner if I recall was used at your kit launch attended by players and management.

Still if you believe it was nothing to do with the club but only to do with your sponsor so be it, I'll leave it to others to decide their view

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Oh dear the " we were only following orders " defence - the banner if I recall was used at your kit launch attended by players and management.

Still if you believe it was nothing to do with the club but only to do with your sponsor so be it, I'll leave it to others to decide their view
    Did you not say it was an official club banner?

Page 18 of 20 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 LastLast