Thread: Line out next season

Quote Originally Posted by briano
    you call yourself a fan?? how can you call one of your players a useless prik... it doesnt make sense.I never slagged off eric i just pointed out that dessie was a better team player and probably scored more goals in a season than eric has since he's been at the club... which is what they are payed to do...am i wrong??and i never slagged off matthews either... plus why are you sayin how good eric was at galway thats no good to longford town is it.. and if we're gettin into that dessie was class at shels... he's won everythin in the league and is the most succesful player at longford with a world cup medal to boot!!!!!!!
    Oh I'm such a useless fan looking out for the benefit of the club condemning timewasters For the record are you a sunshine boy. I don't know why everyone is so eager to lose Eric, Vinny who next Digger. If you read the post I do not accuse you of slagging Matthews.If you read the post you will see that I am comparing like with like- Eric in his primeat Galway to Dessie in his prime now. Finally, yes you are entitled to think that Dessie is a better player but Eric is not paid to score goals he is paid to play the best he can. Some people are so narrowminded they can't see his excellent play, "Oh hes not scoring", how many clear cut chances did he get last season? Even with Galway he wasn't a natural finisher, as for Dessie you said it pal, he done it all with Shels and thats where his ambitions lie, to get back there.

well if you compare dessie in his prime to eric dessie wins hands down his record speaks for itself... and sorry hes a centre forward and they are suppose to chip in with the odd goal here and there you know... plus dessie set up some many goals aswell in all round play hes better than eric(IMO) and i wouldnt wanna get rid of digger or vinny those lads wouldnt go off and paly in a big five a side competition half way through the season like eric did and then get the hump when hes was fined for it... to mention eric in the same sentence as vinny and digger is an insult to what those two have done for longford... i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life

well if you compare dessie in his prime to eric dessie wins hands down his record speaks for itself... plus dessie set up some many goals aswell in all round play hes better than eric(IMO) and i wouldnt wanna get rid of digger or vinny those lads wouldnt go off and paly in a big five a side competition half way through the season like eric did and then get the hump when hes was fined for it... to mention eric in the same sentence as vinny and digger is an insult to what those two have done for longford... i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life
    A sure you know best, sure Eric only saved the club.Yeah hes looking after no.1, that must be why Dessie is playing voluntarily then
    and sorry hes a centre forward and they are suppose to chip in with the odd goal here and there you know...
    A hint give up the Championship manager its impairing your views, and stop asking the coaches on the game for their opinion on Eric- he has progressed at the the club at an acceptable rate...

Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    This post is one of the worst I've ever seen . I've been reading all the posts and peeps shouldn't be slagging off Matthews . But also Eric . Dessie Baker is a useless prik, his work rate is bout 40% of the rest of the team. Myler and Lavine or Myler and Barrett.Secondly I dunno where you heard keeping your head down is the way to go! "Keep it up you muppet" is the saying I would think my dear boy, spiffing good.Thirdly more abiltiy than Eric- Eric is past his best, I'll admit that, when Eric was in his prime for Galway his pace and ball control were second to none.He now has huge experience.Fourthly, Dessie head is a fooking zepplin balloon unlike Eric's ambitious mature head . Fifthly, your some biy, I doubt Alan even how good Paiso is considering hes played a handful of games as he has benn hampered through injury etc.
    if your gonna say things like that about our players have the balls to use your own name and not hide behind some user name. and btw have you ever had a chat with alan about his squad, bceuase if you had ur unique as he doesn't go around talking about his players......

btw how do you know what mylers work rate is within our team if he has never played for us.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

I take back what I said about Dessie.Sorry Dessie It was out of order. I do stand by the idea though that his workrate is bad and I would like to think Eric is due more from the team and particularly the fans. He shouldn't be brushed off like he is trying to be. I never referred to Myler's workrate

eric wasn't the most model player last season, and others can back that up. remember the 5 a side in galway......

from europe onwards eric was a changed man, but he still took half a seasons wages and give us no return at all......

dessie is eh unique, thats the best way to put it and when he is on his game he is amazing, but he has his lulls and he needs a kick in the bottom sometimes as well.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    eric wasn't the most model player last season, and others can back that up. remember the 5 a side in galway......

from europe onwards eric was a changed man, but he still took half a seasons wages and give us no return at all......

dessie is eh unique, thats the best way to put it and when he is on his game he is amazing, but he has his lulls and he needs a kick in the bottom sometimes as well.
    Yes thats the best way of describing Dessie, as for Eric, one mistake tars his entire history with the club. Nobodys perfect, but it didn't go to the extremes of somebody named Avery John

no he didn't and i'm goin to air the dirty laundry here, i have much respect for eric as he made a few mistakes but came back a better player ( for his age ) and i hope to see him up front next season

Here here

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    No Spud Murphy??
    But...Alan Murphy?!?! He's sh!te!!

Sorry. Very long-running joke!

Nice to Johnny Martin getting in the team anyways. Good hardworking player, but of ability too. Makes a change from seeing players go downhill after leaving UCD too.

how will mr finn do in his new home ???

3,491 Posts
    how will mr finn do in his new home ???
    That is like soooooooo 2004!

We'll get over it. Like we've goten over losing other players...

1,104 Posts
    Jaysus lads, looks like ye had a lively night on here.. The way I judge Myler and O'Conor on first impression is that the Drogs fans did not want to lose either of them at all and have the height of respect for both of them, Gary Cronin too which is a good sign. It remains to be seen just how good they are for us but im willing to be optimistic about their chances..

As for whether O'Connor is better than Gartland or Paisley, I haven't seen enough of him to make a proper judgment but he is very highly rated by a lot of people so we'll be hopeful he can replace Gartland adequately, and he does need replacing. I believe we are talking to or have talked to two central midfielders which if they come would give the squad a very strong look to it, all in all I'd be optimistic about doing well next season, 10/1 for the Carlos Santana Cup looks like a good flutter to me

i will echo cop ons sentiments earlier on this board living off his hat trick

every player goes through lulls thats football plus its more likely that part time players go through more lulls than full time player and maybe dessie is not use to bein part time.... plus we know dessie is capable of great play and not bein disrespectable to longford but if he was to produce this all the time he'd probably still be at man u let alone shels or de town....the players had a great year last year but when a players form dips thats when its up to the rest of the team to cover in for them and thats what they did... thats what makes a great team gentlemen.....

Dessie is way too lazy. If you ever just watch the difference between him and Eric for about 10 mins and you will see a huge difference in work rate.

Anyway, My team would be:

Digger
    Dillo, Baz, Daz , Prunts
    Martin, Deano, Kirbs, Barrett/Cronin
    Myler, Eric/Barrett

[QUOTE=briano] man u[/ QUOTE]

are they from rooskey
    Last edited by Sonic; 17/01/2005 at 11:56 AM.

i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life

just look at the 34th minute of memories and heroes and you will find who eric is looking after briano

Desssie amy need a kick sometimes, but has a huge amount of natural talent, and to be honest i think many people have been unfair to him. Yes he has had lulls but I think his goals (from some poor enough service) prove that the good moments and the good performances far outweighed the bad and anyone that wouldnt have Dessie in the team is leaving out the one player who can really unlock any defence in the league, a guy cant be on his game every single match and I would love to see him more consistent, but like I say he has had more good performances than bad, he was top scorer, and it would be a crime to leave our team without someone of his ability. To be honest Ive never seen anything from him to suggest that he doesnt care about the club or the fans, in fact id say the opposite after some of his celebrations

Quote Originally Posted by Albert
    Desssie amy need a kick sometimes, but has a huge amount of natural talent, and to be honest i think many people have been unfair to him. Yes he has had lulls but I think his goals (from some poor enough service) prove that the good moments and the good performances far outweighed the bad and anyone that wouldnt have Dessie in the team is leaving out the one player who can really unlock any defence in the league, a guy cant be on his game every single match and I would love to see him more consistent, but like I say he has had more good performances than bad, he was top scorer, and it would be a crime to leave our team without someone of his ability. To be honest Ive never seen anything from him to suggest that he doesnt care about the club or the fans, in fact id say the opposite after some of his celebrations
    In fairness albert would you not celebrate no matter who you were playing with if you scored a goal from 30 yards