Thread: How Many Goals Will First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC Score This Season

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Limerick have not strengthened from last seaso really where they were relegated. What makes them mid table Premier all of a sudden?

They're full time. That makes a huge difference in the First Division.
    We are absolute miles ahead of what we started the season with last year.

Last seasons opener:

Conor O'Donnell
    Sean Harding
    Paudie O Connor
    Aidan Price
    Robbie Williams
    Ian Turner
    Paul O Conor
    Shane Duggan
    Ross Mann
    Darragh Rainsford
    Dean Clarke

This season so far:

Freddy Hall
    Seamus Sharkey
    Paudie O Connor
    Robbie Williams
    Shane Tracy
    Paul O Conor
    Shane Duggan
    Lee J Lynch
    Stephen Kenny
    Chris Mulhall
    Aaron Greene

Take into account too one of Paudie O Connor or Robbie Williams were not at centre back last season for a while and Dean Clarke was nowhere near as good as a striker as when he was moved to the wing when we managed to get players in. Also the team listed for this season isn't even the strongest team we will be able to put out this season. We are a hell of a lot better this year than the start of last and when we are full strength I wouldn't fear too much from anyone below the top 5 in prem.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Limerick have not strengthened from last seaso really where they were relegated. What makes them mid table Premier all of a sudden?
    First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC only really assembled their squad for last season at the end of July. With hindsight this was a mistake.

First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FCs record for the final series of Premier Division games in 2015 was P11 W7 D2 L2.

First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC then went on to bottle the play-off as it is tradition on Shannonside. That's not to take away from finn harps. They proved that on the right day , on a terrible pitch, in a terrible ground, minnows can still do the business. It might not have been the right result for football but it is a lovely story all the same. Personally I'm delighted it happened for two reasons.

1. The promotion of finn harps to the premier division brought a much needed boost to county donegal, a thoroughly depressed and deprived part of our state.

2. So far this season has been thoroughly enjoyable, spreading the footballing gospel around some of the smaller clubs in Irish football. It's great to give the minnows a big day out, I'd like to think at least some of them will improve themselves from watching our professionals in action. It's a great opportunity for some of these lads to learn. And isn't that what football should be about? Helping one another and enjoying ourselves?

During the final series of games one of the supporters clubs of First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC intends to present each one of our opponents with a special set of participation medals before our games as a thank you. Obviously none of these other teams will be able to compete for the First Division championship this season. But by giving out these medals we hope that they will realise they are appreciated. Because ultimately without them lying down for us, First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC wouldn't be able to put on our exhibition games.
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 23/03/2016 at 12:05 PM.

As to where First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC would finish in the Premier Division I have no idea. On the one hand half the Premier is absolute pony and we are gorgeously pretty to watch. On the other hand we defend like drunk children.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Last seasons opener:

Conor O'Donnell
    Sean Harding
    Paudie O Connor
    Aidan Price
    Robbie Williams
    Ian Turner
    Paul O Conor
    Shane Duggan
    Ross Mann
    Darragh Rainsford
    Dean Clarke
    The absolute DIRT of that

So many memories.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    I'd be confident the current Limerick side could compete in the 7th-9th range of the Premier Division, ala the first two years back up after the last escape from the FD.

The Limerick side that started last season would struggle to be competitive in this First Division.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Is there anywhere we can see a list of the current first division top scorers? just for a laugh like!!! I think our keerer is our only Player not to score yet, he should have taken our injury time penalty last night!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    Is there anywhere we can see a list of the current first division top scorers? just for a laugh like!!! I think our keerer is our only Player not to score yet, he should have taken our injury time penalty last night!
    Seen it lasntight ill try find it for ya, think we have 4 of the top 5 definitely top 2 in Aaron Greene and Robbie Williams.

Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    http://www.extratime.ie/topscorers/2...irst-division/

Good stuff thanks!👍

86 Posts
    Great to see Limerick doing so well
    The League of Ireland needs strong regional sides.
    The challenge now is to go through the League season unbeaten.
    Could it happen ?

221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Could it happen ?
    The challenge now is to get promoted.

Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    Exactly!

3 of the last 4 leagues have been won by "regional" sides, 5 of the last 6 FAI Cups too. Also 4 of the top 5 spots in the Premier Division held by regional sides.

Still, fair play to you playing your part in the first division

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    3 of the last 4 leagues have been won by "regional" sides, 5 of the last 6 FAI Cups too. Also 4 of the top 5 spots in the Premier Division held by regional sides.

He is a Cork fan so not sure what part he is playing in the first division.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    He is a Cork fan so not sure what part he is playing in the first division.
    Should have guessed by his name

86 Posts
    Could it happen ?
    Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    Even at this early stage it looks pretty certain that they will manage promotion, barring a complete collapse.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

Always glad to add support to anything that doesn't come from Dubland

586 Posts
    Mentioned in fixture thread, but now with every team having played six games, astonishing to see Limerick are the only FD team with a positive goal difference.

355 Posts
    Really intrigued to see how they do against Wexford,I'd say Limerick will play the 1st team but Wexford will be squad players so might not tell us too much about how good Limerick might be.

586 Posts
    I'd say Russell will be taking the cups as seriously as possible this season, if things continue the way they are in the First Division. Only proper test of what the team can do against top flight opposition.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Really intrigued to see how they do against Wexford,I'd say Limerick will play the 1st team but Wexford will be squad players so might not tell us too much about how good Limerick might be.
    Can see why Wexford would play a second string team as survival is the most important thing but it's also very risky. They could be on the end of a hiding if they stick out a second string and we stick out full strength. You have to imagine their second string would only be about as good as mid to lower first division at best.