Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: 11th-14th March Fixtures

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Longford were appalling. We could have scored 10 or 12. They had no fight in them at all, stood off us for the whole game.
    dead right. Cousins out Graham Lawlor the real brains of the operation in!

448 Posts
    dead right. Cousins out Graham Lawlor the real brains of the operation in!
    I feel sorry for you for travelling to see that. Am I right in saying your players barely crossed the half way line to clap ye as well?

220 Posts
    Appalling result tonight. Wasn't expecting to get anything out of tonight but to be beaten 6-0 and lucky to be only that is disgraceful. We're well on the way to proving my prediction for our final league position right!

Shocking from Bray again tonight. No organisation, no commitment, no communication between each other and no desire to win any challenge or ball. Derry should have had the game out of sight by half time. We need something to happen against Longford on Saturday or else we are in big trouble for the season ahead...

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    I feel sorry for you for travelling to see that. Am I right in saying your players barely crossed the half way line to clap ye as well?
    Yeah I noticed that they barely even acknowledged their fans afterwards which was very bad especially after what had just happened. Really could've been 10 tonight apart from the goals we hit the post/crossbar 2 or 3 times and Sheppard missed a sitter. We took the foot off the gas after the 2nd goal and longford were able to keep the ball a bit but did absolutely nothing with it. Totally different proposition up in dundalk on Friday. Caulfield made a good few changes tonight and it worked so maybe that gives him a bit of a selection headache. Unfortunately can't make the game, a pity its not on tv.

399 Posts
    I got last half hour of our game tonight via below link, wasn't great, no sound but it was live and free! Give it a go for Friday.

www.live3s.com

Tab on Ireland to the left. It should be up, you might have to X out a few times but good chance it will work.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

555 Posts
    Fortunate three points for Dundalk tonight.

We controlled most of the possession on a very rough pitch and had good penetration in wide areas. We should have been 2-3 goals up but Wexford always looked dangerous from set pieces and got a deserved goal after a sustained period of pressure. Gary Rogers will not want to see a replay of the goal.

However, the lads upped the pace immediately after conceding and managed to get the winner.

That was the first game we missed Towell's dynamism from central midfield. Finn and McEleney played too much in from of an organised Youths defence and neither looked to run beyond McMillan. We became too predictable as a result.

Bohs were abysmal tonight. Back 4 all over the place, front players awful, midfielders worked hard but didn't do much.

Pats looked better but truthfully weren't up against much

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Fortunate three points for Dundalk tonight.

We controlled most of the possession on a very rough pitch and had good penetration in wide areas. We should have been 2-3 goals up but Wexford always looked dangerous from set pieces and got a deserved goal after a sustained period of pressure. Gary Rogers will not want to see a replay of the goal.

However, the lads upped the pace immediately after conceding and managed to get the winner.

That was the first game we missed Towell's dynamism from central midfield. Finn and McEleney played too much in from of an organised Youths defence and neither looked to run beyond McMillan. We became too predictable as a result.
    Its games like this you have to win. Tough enough place to go on a Monday after a weekend home game. Three points is three points. Still top with Rovers, should be an interesting fortnight coming up.

296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    Shocking from Bray again tonight. No organisation, no commitment, no communication between each other and no desire to win any challenge or ball. Derry should have had the game out of sight by half time. We need something to happen against Longford on Saturday or else we are in big trouble for the season ahead...
    Heard rumours Cooke rubbing certain players up the wrong way.

861 Posts
    Yeah yet some of our own fans on Twitter making a laugh out of it. Not much to ask when you've spent that amount of money. If I wanted recognition I surely wouldn't be following a Longford Town, I just think it's the least the players can do at the end of a game.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Yeah yet some of our own fans on Twitter making a laugh out of it. Not much to ask when you've spent that amount of money. If I wanted recognition I surely wouldn't be following a Longford Town, I just think it's the least the players can do at the end of a game.
    Agreed, its not a huge thing, but after taking a pasting like that they owe an apology, and recognising that you traveled that far on a Monday night is the very least that they can do. Its a respect thing.

Longford - Appalling, shocking. Bohs - abysmal and apparently we were abolutely dire against Galway.
    So bad that the word 'Hearyesque' has now entered the lexicon of the Sligo Rovers supporter.
    Last weekend everybody was sh1te as well!
    Should be an interesting season.
    God bless the LoI.
    I do miss it.

430 Posts
    Disappointing game in Finn Park last night,Rovers did just about enough to win ,Solid but unimpressive,injuries to key players for Harps is making it a challenge for us to even create chances nevermind score,I think we'll be ok because one thing we never lack is fight and once we get that little bit of quality that Coll,Molloy,Houston and Rafter possess Id be hopeful of turning more teams over .
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

I thought a draw would have been a fair result last night against Rovers, neither team created much, McCabe was excellent for Rovers but Harps defence stopped all Rovers attacks except bad decision by Brush to concede the penalty.
    Harps are lacking up front and will cost them games
    Personally i thought the crowd was larger than 2061.
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

147 Posts
    Sligo were appalling last night, but we failed to make them pay. Their front 2 just didn't look interested at all - yer man getting sent off was his only contribution, but having watched Soccer Republic this morning there was no way it was a red card. Still, if you said we'd have 7 points after 3 games, we'd be delighted.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Sligo were appalling last night, but we failed to make them pay. Their front 2 just didn't look interested at all - yer man getting sent off was his only contribution, but having watched Soccer Republic this morning there was no way it was a red card. Still, if you said we'd have 7 points after 3 games, we'd be delighted.
    Wasn't at the match but by all accounts Sligo were appalling. Saw them against Shams and Bohs and they have nothing up front. Their two strikers were described to me as two statues last night. And I'm told their goal was a bit of a fluke into the bargain.

Haven't seen SR yet but if you strike or make any attempt to strike another player, it's invariably a red card. Three games in and three red cards.

Looks like another difficult season.

147 Posts
    It was a slightly mistimed tackle, didn't seem malicious and was right in front of the camera. Will be interesting to see what others think, but not a red for me.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    Derry should have had the game out of sight by half time. We need something to happen against Longford on Saturday or else we are in big trouble for the season ahead...
    Agreed. Unusual to say, but left the game slightly disappointed that we didn't have it killed off by half time. Bossing a half like that, we should be more than one up.
    Thought Bray's defending was fairly poor, especially for the second goal. There was a general lack of organisation all round.
    As for ourselves, we dominated the game really, and probably could have scored a couple more if we committed to it. Good save from Cherrie in the first to deny Patterson, but he made up for it. It's great to see him in scoring form. He's the sort of player we badly missed last season.

I'd share your thoughts on Bray possibly facing trouble this season. It didn't look good at all.
    On the plus side though, I was impressed with the programme. Great read.

We ran into the Shams team in Monaghan on the way back up and were chatting away (except to Fenlon, he wouldn't leave the bus ), they agreed they were lucky to come away from Ballybofey with the win. Also gave out stink about the pitch, but that's to be expected. Thought it was weird that their bus didn't have a toilet though.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Bohs were abysmal tonight. Back 4 all over the place, front players awful, midfielders worked hard but didn't do much.

Pats looked better but truthfully weren't up against much
    Yep, shocking stuff last night, we seem to save those performances for Richmond Pk. Pats will be comfortably fourth, looks like seventh place max for us this year.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast