Thread: Cork 2005: The awakening cermony

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Re Galway- It can be a bit overplayed maybe, but I love the place
    surely you mean GAAAAAAAAWLLLLLLLWAAAAAYYYYY??
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Galway people seem to instantly develop a D4 accent when they move to Dublin.
    I've never been to Galway at night and not seen people kicking 50 colours of shíte out of each other. It's nothing more than a big country town.

522 Posts
    I've only been in Galway once, on the way home from Dublin (don't ask), shortly after the clubs let out. The scene outside Supermacs at that time was very reminiscent of the scenes outside Burgerland and the Grand Parade Hotel in Cork in the past.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    The scene outside Supermacs at that time was very reminiscent of the scenes outside Burgerland and the Grand Parade Hotel in Cork in the past.
    That's pretty much what I was reffering to.
    I'm not saying it doesn't still happen in Cork on occassion but it's behaviour more associated with rural towns than cities. In Galway it seems to be the norm for a weekend. The shades didn't bat an eyelid.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    Maybe that has more to do with chronic unemployment and lack of education than actual artiness or culture
    Nice one fella .... i like it !!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    That's a good point. At the very least it put a deadline of 2005 on getting Pana, Oliver Plunkett st etc all up to scratch, otherwise these works could have dragged on a lot longer.

Fair point .... but you would have to ask ...... what in gods name has the City manager been doing for the last 10-20 years ... it seems to be groundhog day for a few years to be honest.

Decentralisation cant come fast enough (even though they are making a complete fúck up of it) for alot od towns around the country. I think that will contribute a bit to improving facilities etc. for the towns ear marked for it.

But again ..... what has the City manager been up to ..... what actually happens at City hall ... Will some fireworks and a parade or two keep the public happy .... or do they even give a toss about it (it sometimes seems not)

I can remember a website site up a few years ago ... www.realcork.com .... the loft (or what ever it is called) on on cornmarket street were moved into getting the building cleaned, and City hall stop them saying that they would provide the contractor at 6 times the price ... it is still not cleaned

The tables and chair thing a while back (and before that, no chairs/tables were allowed) while every city across Europe they can been seen.

I know they are all small things ...... but i think the City manager should be put up against a wall and shot along with all his family. It is a joke what they are getting away with.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    That's pretty much what I was reffering to.
    I'm not saying it doesn't still happen in Cork on occassion but it's behaviour more associated with rural towns than cities. In Galway it seems to be the norm for a weekend. The shades didn't bat an eyelid.

I have to say i have been out in Galway a few times and thought it was fine ... actually very good to be honest. Didn't see any fighting, or anything of that sort.

Having said that ... i have been out in Limerick a few times and never got any hassle there either ..... bit of a let down actually, really psyched up for it and then nothing .... actually have a great night during the summer on the quay by the city hall, the pubs and restaurants by the river .... great spot.

I would believe half of the stuff you are lead to believe, go there for yourself and find out first.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I would believe half of the stuff you are lead to believe, go there for yourself and find out first.

I was giving you my personal experience Face, not something I'd heard from someone else.
    I've been out in Limerick and Waterford loads of times without seeing trouble but Eyre Square was a sure bet for a fracas!

Eyre Sq is a cert bet on a fixed odds for an auld scrap alright. Just grab yer manky curry chips and mighty mac and sit back and enjoy Friday night Fight Night. Galways a good spot but you can walk to through all the highlights in about 20 mins (from Eyre Square down to Dominic St) and thats yer lot. It just seems longer when yer blocked.

As for Colms statement:

Cork has always been the envy of the rest of Ireland but this cermony must surely have made the rest of Europe feel a bit jealous of us aswell!!
    Thats a wee bit strong there lad in fairness!!

what in gods name has the City manager been doing for the last 10-20 years
    Dolan's only had the job for 2 years A Face- give him a break

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Eyre Square was a sure bet for a fracas!
    still is AFAIK. Its been a dodgy spot for a good while. Galways no different from anywhere else, if you want trouble you'll find it- its perfectly easy to walk past and ignore it. As for what A face said about Limerick- I lived there for the best part of 4 years and never saw ANY hassle on the streets at night.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Cork has always been the envy of the rest of Ireland but this cermony must surely have made the rest of Europe feel a bit jealous of us aswell!!
    If the Yanks are looking for somewhere to practise their bombing, look no further!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

still is AFAIK. Its been a dodgy spot for a good while. Galways no different from anywhere else, if you want trouble you'll find it- its perfectly easy to walk past and ignore it. As for what A face said about Limerick- I lived there for the best part of 4 years and never saw ANY hassle on the streets at night.

Eyre square is nothing compared to Salthill in the summer, wooohooo, fight night at its best. I went to Galway 5 years in a row for a 2 week holiday in my early 20s (Sad I know)....I learned to stay away from Salthill, never seen much bother in the City itself. Some cracker bars like Taffes and the Kings Head.....

Mmmmm Galway or Cork ?????? Cork for the sheer fact there is less American tourists in rain macs standing sipping a pint of stout for 3 hours....
    At least up here in Derry hi, we are relatively free of annoying Yanks ..Fear factor.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Eyre square is nothing compared to Salthill in the summer, wooohooo, fight night at its best.
    true. hardly a summer goes by with out a shower of dubs having their own drag-racing tournament in salthill which eventually descends into an all out riot spot on about the yanks- try living in Blarney- coach loads of the ****ERS every bloody day

Yep, last time in Cork I stayed in the Sunset Ridge, Blarney road isnt it ?? A few 25 stone Yanks with caps and macs in the hotel bar alright ...
    As for Salthill, most of the lads that ****ed me off for no reason back then were from Limerick.....No offense to the Limerick lads on here.

As someone else mentioned each City has its arseholes.....
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Eyre square is nothing compared to Salthill in the summer, wooohooo, fight night at its best.
    Thats coz Salthill is full of creamers. Its nothin' but a halting site wi slot machines!!!. As far as the yanks are concerned...do they only see half of the weather forecasts? There they are all in there wee see through ponchos (or luminous ponchos) and a pair of ****in' shorts!!!!. Lived there for 4 years and always dreaded the spring/summer influx of them...them and their f**kin' half n' halfs!!!
    Last edited by dancinpants; 11/01/2005 at 9:05 PM.

Fair point .... but you would have to ask ...... what in gods name has the City manager been doing for the last 10-20 years ... it seems to be groundhog day for a few years to be honest.

But again ..... what has the City manager been up to ..... what actually happens at City hall ... Will some fireworks and a parade or two keep the public happy .... or do they even give a toss about it (it sometimes seems not)

I know they are all small things ...... but i think the City manager should be put up against a wall and shot along with all his family. It is a joke what they are getting away with.
    EXTREMELY HARSH. What are they "getting away with"?
    Have to say that the people who run this city are some of the most progressive and forward thinking civil servants in the country. (And No, I don't work there or am related to anyone that does). Going back over the years, they have tried so many things in this city, street carnivals, summer festivals etc., have tried so hard to improve the infrastructure of the city, drainage scheme, Patricks street, the whole Hugenot quarter to name a few, things like the Tour De France, Tall Ships Race etc.
    All this when they have to put up with some of the worst aresholes of councillors in the country, a ridiculous city/county divison which means that Douglas, Rochestown, Curraheen and a few other places are considered part of the county, and the complete lack of any civic pride or civic respect on behalf of the vast majority of Cork's population.
    They, and he, do a fairly good job, but is the first to be criticised when it suits.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    All this when they have to put up with some of the worst aresholes of councillors in the country.
    With a few exceptions
    Mick Barry
    Chris O'Leary
    Dave McCarthy.
    Totally agree about the civic respect thing.
    Nearly all of us are very proud of our Corkonianess.
    But getting involved in it is much more rewarding than a love of slagging matches at other cities or a boastful yet lazy attitude.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

.................................................. .........

the people who run this city are some of the most progressive and forward thinking civil servants in the country.

Get off the stage patsh ...... come on ... away down with ya, you'll fall and hurt yourself.

God above patsh ..... i am sorry but there is no way on this wide earth you could describe them as that.

Progressive .... no ..... Stalactites .... YES !!

They tried so so hard but guess what ...... will you stop making excuses, half the problem could be that civic pride that half of us dont have, but the other half dont have the balls to call a spade a spade and say what we think. If the City is below parr for what ever reason, being all pc and correct about it isn't going to solve it, establishing the problem and resolving it will. There is no other way.

EXTREMELY HARSH. What are they "getting away with"?
    Have to say that the people who run this city are some of the most progressive and forward thinking civil servants in the country. (And No, I don't work there or am related to anyone that does). Going back over the years, they have tried so many things in this city, street carnivals, summer festivals etc., have tried so hard to improve the infrastructure of the city, drainage scheme, Patricks street, the whole Hugenot quarter to name a few, things like the Tour De France, Tall Ships Race etc.
    All this when they have to put up with some of the worst aresholes of councillors in the country, a ridiculous city/county divison which means that Douglas, Rochestown, Curraheen and a few other places are considered part of the county, and the complete lack of any civic pride or civic respect on behalf of the vast majority of Cork's population.
    They, and he, do a fairly good job, but is the first to be criticised when it suits.
    Now, Patsh, you have been one of the more consistent guardians of common sense in this forum since I was a foot.ie nipper. You have contributed accurate information and good analysis on a wide variety of subjects.
    On this occasion, I reckon your post goes to show that even you can get it wrong once in a while.
    IMHO, with the exception of a minority of city hall staff, (including the manager Joe Gavin) the people who work there seem to forget that they are there to serve the public.
    95% of my dealings with the city council over the last 20 or so years has revealed narrow minded thinking, cowardice in naming and dealing with issues, and an overwhelming commitment to bureaucracy to the exclusion of making progress in the real world. The best example of this is the incredible tunnel vision of the different departments who do not, can not, or will not collaborate with each other on basic common sense matters such as when to dig up a street. For example, as part of the Main Drainage scheme, the Western Road was completely resurfaced last June, with an expensive smooth finish. Parts of this pristine surface have been dug up TWICE since then.
    The incompetence of our local authority is to be seen in face to face dealings with them. They will quote reams of excuses for not getting something done. There is a terrible culture of bullying in the place. There is a really awful attitude towards dealing with members of the public who are not articulate enough to stand up for themselves. Many people I know are sent from office to office with nobody telling them what they need to know.
    I work with several public agencies in my job, and I come across a certain percentage of oddballs and gobsh!tes in my travels. From my dealings with Cork City Hall, good people learn quickly to keep their heads down, as people of ability are dragged down by jealousy and vanity of their peers, and god forbid the poor young public servant who tries to be innovative. Few manage to break through this stranglehold of mediocrity.
    Cork City Hall is a public service wasteland, and the quality of services we get is an accurate reflection of that. I am a true Corkonian and I don't like to see our own being criticised, but Patsh, your impressions of our city council are very, very charitable.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.