Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Tom Humphries on identity and Irishness

I think that anyone not born in Ireland to at least one Irish parent is not Irish!
    Anyone seeking the privilege of being Irish should have to pay a nominal fee of €10,000 or more. In return for this you’d get a certificate of your Irishness, a chip from the Blarney stone, a Glasgow Celtic FC football shirt and vouchers for two complimentary pints of Guinness.

I’m off to Bertie now with this idea and when I offer him a small cut for himself I’ve no doubt my little venture will be up and running in no time.
    I could be offering franchise rights in Q4 of this year.
    Watch this space!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I think that anyone not born in Ireland to at least one Irish parent is not Irish!
    Anyone seeking the privilege of being Irish should have to pay a nominal fee of €10,000 or more. In return for this you’d get a certificate of your Irishness, a chip from the Blarney stone, a Glasgow Celtic FC football shirt and vouchers for two complimentary pints of Guinness.

I’m off to Bertie now with this idea and when I offer him a small cut for himself I’ve no doubt my little venture will be up and running in no time.
    I could be offering franchise rights in Q4 of this year.
    Watch this space!
    ... With the option to upgrade to a crate of red lemonade, tayto crisps multipack, faded "Smash H-Blocks" Moving Hearts tour 1981 T-shirt and a sackful of briquettes delivered to your door upon receipt of the Green white and gold clubcard.

Worst of it is, it's all true!
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davey

In my experience, whether at Ireland games or in general, Most sarky remarks about my Irishness have come inhabitants from Gods City - Dublin. I can totally sympathsise with dcfcs comments about the Dubs he met in Paris. I've met very few 2g in Britain whose parents came from Dublin compared to other parts of Ireland. I suspect Dubliners didn't face the same Economic pressures that many "culchies" faced in the 50s,60s and 70s. Whether its this ignorance of the true nature of the diaspora or just simply the fact that many Dubs are simply fu*kwits - Im not sure.
    Its an interesting point. Much as yourself, growing up in Manchester nearly all of my friends were 2g Irish, though I cannot think of one example where a parent came from Dublin - they all hailed from the country. It would be interesting to know the demographics of emmigration during this period and I suspect you are right that Dubs didn't do it on quite the same scale. This could in part explain the lack of appreciation from some Dubs on the diaspora, 2G issue etc...

On the other hand however, the % of dubs (as a % of the overall attendance) attending games at Lansdowne Rd will be very high say 60-70%?? - If someone is going to make a smart arse comment, law of averages says it will be a Dub.

Since attending Ireland matches from the early 90's, I've made numerous friends, in the main these have been Dubs or fellow 2G lads. The Dubs I've met have become some of the greatest friends you could wish for and are more than aware of what being 2G is all about and respect the fact.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by green goblin
    Worst of it is, it's all true!
    Isn't it such a thrill to go into a shop or pub while you're not in Ireland and buy Club orange and Tayto crisps!?
    Tanora was almost a national institution.
    Do they still make it?

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    It would be interesting to know the demographics of emmigration during this period and I suspect you are right that Dubs didn't do it on quite the same scale. This could in part explain the lack of appreciation from some Dubs on the diaspora, 2G issue etc...
    Sure it's not emmigration for the Dubs, simply relocation from West Britain to the mainland.
    Last edited by Peadar; 13/01/2005 at 10:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    Its an interesting point. Much as yourself, growing up in Manchester nearly all of my friends were 2g Irish, though I cannot think of one example where a parent came from Dublin - they all hailed from the country. It would be interesting to know the demographics of emmigration during this period and I suspect you are right that Dubs didn't do it on quite the same scale. This could in part explain the lack of appreciation from some Dubs on the diaspora, 2G issue etc...

On the other hand however, the % of dubs (as a % of the overall attendance) attending games at Lansdowne Rd will be very high say 60-70%?? - If someone is going to make a smart arse comment, law of averages says it will be a Dub.

Since attending Ireland matches from the early 90's, I've made numerous friends, in the main these have been Dubs or fellow 2G lads. The Dubs I've met have become some of the greatest friends you could wish for and are more than aware of what being 2G is all about and respect the fact.

Have to admit I can't remember many 2g kids that I would have grown up with that would have Dublin folks either, mostly the majority of countys in the Irish community over here that seem to be represented bigger in numbers are the Connught and Munster ones.

But do agree, it is unfair to say that the Dub's are the ones that always make smart ass remarks about 2g's at Ireland matchs. I know most of the Dublin lads your mentioning in your post, likewise yourself with a lot of the lads that are mates with all the London RISSC. Igronace towards why 2g's would be following Ireland is something that is across the board not just Dublin, had run in's with people from all over the country on this subject, including on an away trip with somebody who was from 5 miles from my moms family home in Kildare, who could'nt work it out.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    Have to admit I can't remember many 2g kids that I would have grown up with that would have Dublin folks either.
    Like most European big cities, including countries with large emigration, Dublin was itself an immigrator. My dad was born in Dublin but his mother was from Galway.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345