Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Week 1 Fixtures - 3rd/4th March

185 Posts
    I predicted Sligo would get relegated that s year.
    Nothing I saw last night changed my mind. A run of the mill exercise for the Hoops.Brando us the one jewel we possess

Bray warned all patrons to attend early. Obviously to busy skulling pints before the game. We were in at 7.10. Wouldn't have been an issue if they have Q'd up when they arrived at the ground first.

397 Posts
    I was in the que at 715 exactly and there was probably 200 in the que at that point, the problem was the lack of planning by Bray with only 2 selling tickets from the hatches. One club member was doing his best walking up and down the que offering to sell tickets for exact change only, but overall this was poorly managed when they knew a large away support would be going.

Next time I go I'll be getting my tickets at least 45 mins before ko if I arrive that early, but the traffic into the town was dreadful, took 20 -30 mins at least to get to the ground from the outskirts.
    Last edited by oriel; 06/03/2016 at 9:47 AM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KR's Post View Post
    Bray warned all patrons to attend early. Obviously to busy skulling pints before the game. We were in at 7.10. Wouldn't have been an issue if they have Q'd up when they arrived at the ground first.
    Are you for real , so fans should scuttle along like nice little customers at the behest of Bray Wanderers. I don't know about you but going to games is a social occasion and people are entitled to have a pint before hand as if they went just for the entertainment provided they wouldn't come back. The lack of proper organisation is systemic in the league , clubs whinge about poor crowds & then can't handle them when they do come.Its not just bray at fault for this either but the vast majority of clubs.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    I predicted Sligo would get relegated that s year.
    Nothing I saw last night changed my mind. A run of the mill exercise for the Hoops.Brando us the one jewel we possess
    If we're getting relegated on that performance then ye must be a mid table side.

Very encouraged by that performance considering it was a 2 goal defeat and we ended up with 2 lads sent off! Feared for us at half time but much the better team when it was 10 v 11. Shams were always going to grab a second on the break at the and as we still kept pushing forward trying to get an equaliser.

Good crowd and big turnout of that lot. As well behaved as always.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I was in the que at 715 exactly and there was probably 200 in the que at that point, the problem was the lack of planning by Bray with only 2 selling tickets from the hatches. One club member was doing his best walking up and down the que offering to sell tickets for exact change only, but overall this was poorly managed when they knew a large away support would be going.

Next time I go I'll be getting my tickets at least 45 mins before ko if I arrive that early, but the traffic into the town was dreadful, took 20 -30 mins at least to get to the ground from the outskirts.

Dundalk arrived with 4 bus loads of supporters at around 6.30 and stopped right outside the ticket office, nobody went to buy tickets at this time, instead they all went for pints. Ticket office was open for business but nobody thought of planning ahead. .

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greywanderer View Post
    nobody thought of planning ahead. .
    Including Bray, no excuses for em to be honest it's terrible planning on the clubs part.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Including Bray, no excuses for em to be honest it's terrible planning on the clubs part.

Bray had staff in place for people to purchase tickets in time to gain entry, but other's decided to go to the pub instead. . All it took was one person from each bus to buy 20 tickets at 6.30. .

Dundalk arrived with 4 bus loads of supporters at around 6.30 and stopped right outside the ticket office, nobody went to buy tickets at this time, instead they all went for pints. Ticket office was open for business but nobody thought of planning ahead. .
    What utter nonscience are you talking. I was on one of those buses and about 80 percent of us did queue up when the buses landed. It took nearly 30 mins to get a ticket as only two lads were selling them. One couldn't count and kept mischanging people. There were bray fans also queuing at this ticket office so yes bray are to mostly blame for this.

296 Posts
    Is this the Airtricity league or the temperance league.In Ireland people go to the pub before sporting events this causes a late surge so clubs should be prepared.Im not saying that some small delays can't happen in certain circumstance but missing the first fifteen minutes of a game is unacceptable , I'm not picking on Bray as there were delays in Richmond on Friday aswell.
    Last edited by D24Saint; 06/03/2016 at 12:00 PM.

555 Posts
    I can't believe what I'm reading. Is the LOI so flush with fans and support that the onus is on fans to organise tickets for games?

86 Posts
    This happened to us last year too for the FAI cup semi final. Even though there were 2 people selling, it still seemed to move incredibly slowly.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

2,446 Posts
    Nice video put together by Jungleview Derry supporters from the game.

Dave Scully goal 1-0

Ryan Currans goal 2-0

Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 06/03/2016 at 1:10 PM.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Shamrock Rovers fans apparently displayed a banner calling Dave Robertson a war criminal tonight ...................
    Unlike said support who are mere criminals, up to their usual unpleasantness last night, but fair play to them it wasn't them who gave eugenics a bad name even if they made the phrase Shamrock Rover's scum a tautology.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Brought a non regular up he now regards the league as a joke.
    Smart fella.

Rovers were decent enough,Sligo will do ok but won't finish with 11 too often.I normally defend Rover support but to see one of their former directors getting battered by his own "supporters" needs to be dealt with.

I have no idea how to imbed them here but for those who want to be entertained the goals from First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FCs win v UCD are up on the club's Facebook page.

The club have apologised for the fact that it's only the goals but the video of the chances First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC created was much much too large to upload.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uk5pKW...ature=youtu.be
    Great goal by Marco Chindea last night
    That pitch is an affront to God.

Clubs already resorting to underhanded gardening tactics to stop First Division Champions 2016 Limerick playing.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Clubs already resorting to underhanded gardening tactics to stop First Division Champions 2016 Limerick playing.
    Heard Cabinteely even have a rugby team playing on theirs

Roddy Collins was seen out on the RSC pitch this morning with a shovel and three of his piebald ponies.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast