Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Week 1 Fixtures - 3rd/4th March

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Briuk View Post
    Could anyone watch the games in Bwin or any other place? I could only wath Saint Patrick's - Galway
    From what I understand, in certain grounds, internet connection was the problem with the lack of broadcasts the other night.

I'm told it'll be up and running in Finn Park for the next home game against Shamrock Rovers on Monday next.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Fair enough, saw it grouped in discussion with the other stuff on social media as well and was surprised. Perhaps its just because of everything else and its easy to group it together.

It will be interesting to see Derrys reaction to him.
    I'd say it'll be tasty alright. At least there's a greyhound track around the place.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    "The dugout is placed at a disadvantage to us halfway into their half".
    Is there not a rule about this - that dugouts have to be equidistant from the half-way line?

I've seen it in a few grounds in Ireland, and wondered about it.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is there not a rule about this - that dugouts have to be equidistant from the half-way line?

I've seen it in a few grounds in Ireland, and wondered about it.
    The dugouts in Finn Park are in the same place they've always been and nobody has ever complained about them. See the image below, the home dugout is just left of the halfway line, the away dugout is at the edge of the centre circle. It's the most ridiculous excuse I've ever heard for a defeat.

Attached Images Attached Images

Listenend to part of the extratime podcast this morning. How Ollie Horgan can sound quite so miserable after winning the first game of the season is beyond me.

445 Posts
    Galway fully deserved their win on Friday night. Pats new midfield very poor. I miss Brennan, Forrester and Bolger :-(
    Here on a technicality.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I miss Brennan, Forrester and Bolger :-(
    How does a team replace a midfield of that quality? Saints fans will be talking about that midfield in 50 years time.

1,025 Posts
    The dugouts in Finn Park are in the same place they've always been and nobody has ever complained about them. See the image below, the home dugout is just left of the halfway line, the away dugout is at the edge of the centre circle. It's the most ridiculous excuse I've ever heard for a defeat.
    yeah thanks, that's great, but nothing to do with what I asked, which is whether there is some rule about where dugouts should be positioned.

1,550 Posts
    We should stick the Derry dugout right behind the nets next time just for the giggle.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    How does a team replace a midfield of that quality? Saints fans will be talking about that midfield in 50 years time.
    Add in Fahey and 20+ Goals Conan Byrne in 2014 and now we have Shane McEleney playing centre mid

(McEleney was decent on Friday in fairness to him.)
    Here on a technicality.

246 Posts
    Still fecked off with our performance on Friday night. We were outstandingly brutal. We'd nothing at all on the wings, with no service going to Patterson, hence his two shots all game. I'd be seriously worried that we'll struggle for goals this season again. Doherty stood still for the first goal, he should have come out and gathered it. No idea what was going on with the second (unless it was offside). Our tactics didn't really change the whole game either, which is less than encouraging.
    Can't make excuses for that muck we seen (though I've heard from backroom staff that the dugout in United Park gives a poor view, so I'd guess it's much the same at Finn Park), we were beaten by a poor enough side due to general lack of effort and poor tactical decisions.
    On Harps, they're a slight improvement from last season, but they showed far more heart than ourselves. I reckon they'll find it difficult this season though.

Re: the flares, it was the same crowd who were causing bother in Longford on the last day of the season in October past. A few older lads with some younger hangers on. As far as I could tell, I didn't recognise any of them, and don't think they go to the Brandywell. I know Harps have photos of them, but I don't know what good that will be. They'll pick the odd match to turn up to and cause a bit of bother (and accrue some fines for ourselves). The solution would be for them to be identified by Derry and for Derry stewards to stop them at the gates of away grounds. I doubt that'll happen though. I'd add that I think the guards/stewards could have been a bit more heavy-handed with them, not many were thrown out.

On the match night organisation, it really wasn't well planned. The view in Finn Park is horrific at the best of times, I accept, and there was some more space in our section down towards the Chestnut Road end, but people weren't aware of this space. Using the Navenny entrance should not be considered for future games. The path is too narrow, people are reluctant to move on down the terrace, some people stood at the River end wall and it was really only a matter of time before someone went behind the barrier and stood on the slope of the River end.
    Next time, go back to using the Chestnut Road end as we've done for years and stick a manned barrier at the River end. The addition of an extra chip van was good though, do that again.

2,446 Posts
    FAI and Gardai request was to use the river end entrance, and to use the gantry side. Harps complied with every instruction given. There's an awful lot wrong with Finn Park, but when you're told what to do by the FAI and Gardai, you can't go against their wishes.

But it's funny, Limerick fans used the same entrance and lower end of the stand beside the river end last season and caused no problems.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Strange match. We looked fairly comfortable till the goal. After that we went to pieces. Anto had a mare. Some positives to take from the game but I worry about us in the final third. On to next week. It's been a long winter.
    Tight match up until Antos fcuk up (first of two). Bohs were set up to play for 0-0 and were lost when 2 goals went in. finished strongly but overall Cork were better side and deserved the 3 points.
    Galway and Harps the surprise results of Matchday(s) 1, especially Galway, must be their lucky leprechaun inspiring them on.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Still fecked off with our performance on Friday night. We were outstandingly brutal. We'd nothing at all on the wings, with no service going to Patterson, hence his two shots all game. I'd be seriously worried that we'll struggle for goals this season again. Doherty stood still for the first goal, he should have come out and gathered it. No idea what was going on with the second (unless it was offside). Our tactics didn't really change the whole game either, which is less than encouraging.
    Can't make excuses for that muck we seen (though I've heard from backroom staff that the dugout in United Park gives a poor view, so I'd guess it's much the same at Finn Park), we were beaten by a poor enough side due to general lack of effort and poor tactical decisions.
    On Harps, they're a slight improvement from last season, but they showed far more heart than ourselves. I reckon they'll find it difficult this season though.

Re: the flares, it was the same crowd who were causing bother in Longford on the last day of the season in October past. A few older lads with some younger hangers on. As far as I could tell, I didn't recognise any of them, and don't think they go to the Brandywell. I know Harps have photos of them, but I don't know what good that will be. They'll pick the odd match to turn up to and cause a bit of bother (and accrue some fines for ourselves). The solution would be for them to be identified by Derry and for Derry stewards to stop them at the gates of away grounds. I doubt that'll happen though. I'd add that I think the guards/stewards could have been a bit more heavy-handed with them, not many were thrown out.

On the match night organisation, it really wasn't well planned. The view in Finn Park is horrific at the best of times, I accept, and there was some more space in our section down towards the Chestnut Road end, but people weren't aware of this space. Using the Navenny entrance should not be considered for future games. The path is too narrow, people are reluctant to move on down the terrace, some people stood at the River end wall and it was really only a matter of time before someone went behind the barrier and stood on the slope of the River end.
    Next time, go back to using the Chestnut Road end as we've done for years and stick a manned barrier at the River end. The addition of an extra chip van was good though, do that again.
    Never knew Derry had that issue with those scumbags until that game in Longford last year. Started fighting with themselves and then when thrown out they made their way round the back of section o and started throwing stones and one even attempted to scale the floodlights to get in at the home fans. Derry fans are one of the most welcoming and friendliest in the league and you could see that night they wanted nothing to do with the scumbags, really hope ye get it sorted

46 Posts
    https://youtu.be/zMfFrgbi1bo

Goals from Limerick v UCD

675 Posts
    FAI and Gardai request was to use the river end entrance, and to use the gantry side. Harps complied with every instruction given. There's an awful lot wrong with Finn Park, but when you're told what to do by the FAI and Gardai, you can't go against their wishes.

But it's funny, Limerick fans used the same entrance and lower end of the stand beside the river end last season and caused no problems.
    Intense, highly-anticipated derby match presents different safety and security issues shocker.

I hope Harps will feed back to the FAI/Gardai on it - the walk along the single-file River End before kick-off was a bit of a disaster and felt intrinsically unsafe.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Add in Fahey and 20+ Goals Conan Byrne in 2014 and now we have Shane McEleney playing centre mid

(McEleney was decent on Friday in fairness to him.)
    Indeed. That's quite a midfield to have to replace. Agree with you about McEleany. I don't think he's the answer we need in centre mid, but I was pleasantly surprised by some of his touches on the ball on Friday. I can't see that midefield being first choice for long. Maybe Keith Treacy will offer us something, and Timlin probably needs to start. It's only one game though. We were poor, but let's see how it goes. (Defending was awful for all of the goals too by the way.)
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

My question is if this did happen, with 2000 people at the Game why no video or photo of the flag on fire
    Harps supporters gave photos to Gardai of lads throwing flares etc

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0307/773265-dunphy/
    Dunphy also weighed in on the troubling scenes in Sligo this weekend, as Shamrock Rovers made a winning start to their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season against the Bit O’Red.

A Sligo flag was set on fire during the game, while a small section of travelling fans chanted: “We’re Shamrock Rovers, we’re burning your flag.”

There were also reports of advertising hoarding having been damaged and skirmishes in the away end.

“I think zero tolerance is what you have to have,” Dunphy said.

“I was at Millwall in the mid-60s when this football hooliganism, as they called it, started, and the police were very tolerant and civilised with the people responsible, and it grew and it grew.

“You’ve got to crack down on it from the beginning and have no tolerance for it whatsoever, no matter what you have to do; close grounds, prosecute people.

“Once you let it grow and show the slightest bit of tolerance, then it becomes a fetish.

“Guys who wanted to cause trouble - no interest in football - they turn up at the match, there’s a prospect of a fight or trouble and they love that.

“You’ve got to be very, very tough.”
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

555 Posts
    Dunphy should stick to English football. Why do RTE even ask him to comment on Irish football?

21. Thanks From:

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    My question is if this did happen, with 2000 people at the Game why no video or photo of the flag on fire
    Harps supporters gave photos to Gardai of lads throwing flares etc

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0307/773265-dunphy/
    Dunphy also weighed in on the troubling scenes in Sligo this weekend, as Shamrock Rovers made a winning start to their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season against the Bit O’Red.

A Sligo flag was set on fire during the game, while a small section of travelling fans chanted: “We’re Shamrock Rovers, we’re burning your flag.”

There were also reports of advertising hoarding having been damaged and skirmishes in the away end.

“I think zero tolerance is what you have to have,” Dunphy said.

“I was at Millwall in the mid-60s when this football hooliganism, as they called it, started, and the police were very tolerant and civilised with the people responsible, and it grew and it grew.

“You’ve got to crack down on it from the beginning and have no tolerance for it whatsoever, no matter what you have to do; close grounds, prosecute people.

“Once you let it grow and show the slightest bit of tolerance, then it becomes a fetish.

“Guys who wanted to cause trouble - no interest in football - they turn up at the match, there’s a prospect of a fight or trouble and they love that.

“You’ve got to be very, very tough.”
    Did they manage to get the flag lit? I thought that the ability to make fire marked the transition from simian to human so I would be surprised if they did.

23. Thanks From:

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast