Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: The 2016 GE thread

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    The United Left Alliance doesn't exist anymore. Who's that?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    The United Left Alliance doesn't exist anymore. Who's that?
    Clare Daly - I'll change that. Jees.

1,813 Posts
    So I voted all the way down to 6. That's was surprising.

Gave SD my 1st pref as my second is a shoe-in.

Also voted for an SF candidate for the first time ever.

(Not including my 2nd pref for Marty in the presidential.)
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,346 Posts
    Went down to 5 myself, and the 5th was a last minute decision.

Apparently turnout is only totalled around 57%, which is a terrible shame.

583 Posts
    Exit poll indicates huge drop for Fine Gael, big rise for Fianna Fail, disaster for Labour, expected gains for Sinn Fein, monster "Independent/Other" vote. FG/FF only viable coalition, and can't see it happening.

1,813 Posts
    23% for FF

What sort of retarded bunch of cretins are we?

2,629 Posts
    Parochial, insular, I'm alright Jack, cronyist bullsh1t. Couldn't believe what I was reading tonight. Ireland deserves everything it gets.

172 Posts
    i'd be very surprised if FF (aka an Ireland for all my cronies) got much support in the general dublin area.
    The FF problem lies outside the capital
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

2,346 Posts
    Almost feel like it's time to emigrate.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    i'd be very surprised if FF (aka an Ireland for all my cronies) got much support in the general dublin area.
    The FF problem lies outside the capital
    Unfortunately there's a rake of people outside of Dublin.

I'm out of here at grad. Feck it!

It's like marrying your abuser. We need to rename Stockholm Syndrome. The bank robbers had nothing on what we do to ourselves.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Unfortunately there's a rake of people outside of Dublin.

I'm out of here at grad. Feck it!

It's like marrying your abuser. We need to rename Stockholm Syndrome. The bank robbers had nothing on what we do to ourselves.
    I've never voted FF but thats a bit much - FG and FF are one and the same - good to see them combined at less than 50% - thats a bit of progress I think

1,813 Posts
    But they're not one and the same. Regardless of policy similarities that people consistently seem to argue, FF are doing what they always do and on the back of the last election and the preceding 3 years and all that came out since and it mattered not a jot.

It's mind boggling. I just can't get my head around how people saw FF as a positive option.

488 Posts
    So what happens now?

Kenny out. Adams out. Try again in the summer?

773 Posts
    Burton out first surely - Kenny will be under pressure - Adams no id say.

488 Posts
    I could see Adams resigning on Easter Monday.

This Michael Collins guy in Cork. Is he any relation to the other one?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    But they're not one and the same. Regardless of policy similarities that people consistently seem to argue, FF are doing what they always do and on the back of the last election and the preceding 3 years and all that came out since and it mattered not a jot.

It's mind boggling. I just can't get my head around how people saw FF as a positive option.
    TBF Bonnie there isnt a whole lot between them................

583 Posts
    I look forward to the 33rd Dail being helmed by Taoiseach Varadker, Tanaiste Kelly and Opposition leader McDonald.

Seriously though, when I first started voting ten years ago, I used to get really annoyed at candidates/supporters who lost blaming the "stupid" electorate for not knowing what was good for them. But ten years of watching poll results in this country, with a few exceptions, has shown me that a huge chunk of the Irish electorate - that I do think is very slowly getting smaller - have no idea how to rationally select candidates. Letting Fianna Fail off the hook so quickly is jaw-dropping to me.

The big news in Limerick was Sinn Fein finally getting Maurice Quinlivan over the line, and even with my antipathy towards Sinn Fein I have to give him credit. I wasn't surprised, but still strange seeing it. I think bigger news was Jan O'Sullivan hanging on, which is a minor miracle as far as I'm concerned.

In other news, hard to see Renua surviving as an an entity: as politically relevant now as the Christian Democrats, Identity Ireland or Fis Nua. Soc Dems will only retain their three and get no more, which is still a success, came very close in Dublin Central. Glad to see the Greens get representation again. God knows if the country can forgive Fianna Fail, we can forgive them, who had way less to do with the disaster.

999 Posts
    Somebody described the FF vote as an abused spouse crawling back to their abuser... quite a good analogy
    I think.

21. Thanks From:

583 Posts
    The livebloggers at the Leinster Leader - who were abused by FF'ers yesterday when they didn't applaud Kildare South's Sean O'Fearghail being elected - had the following to say this morning, which I think is apt:

We’re a funny sort of voting nation.

We’re better at disliking people than liking them, so we tend to vote with revenge in our hearts rather than inspiration.

Often times if you managed to get elected, it's not because you're great - it's because you weren't somebody else. Some day it'll be your turn to be the wrong one.

We’re more likely to remember those who did things to us than did things for us, because eaten bread is soon forgotten.

We really don’t like people with grand visions or idealism. We all think we do, but the parties who do best will always be the least idealistic and most centrist.

If they move too far in any direction, we get a bit nervy. We prefer the fixers to the builders, evolution over revolution.

We like being told we’re great, and we don’t like being told we’re whingers, regardless of the truth in either sentiment.

Above all, we like people who are a nicer, more competent and more hardworking version of ourselves - people who are dead sound, can speak well, be well groomed, buy a round, answer the phone at 4 in the morning and fix every pothole worth fixing.

Good luck with that!

23. Thanks From:

488 Posts
    The latest talk seems to be that FF will abstain if Kenny is nominated as Taoiseach. Depending on how it all finishes up he will need a few independents to get him over the line assuming the various leftist parties all vote against him.

There's going to be motorways from Killarney and Dingle to Tralee JHR International Airport.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast