Thread: pat fenlon has a rant

pat fenlon has a rant

taken from ww.unison.ie he makes some very good points
    and i love little asterix at the end that says pat fenlon is manager of shelbourne

League must truly embrace professional era
    Wednesday January 5th 2005

Shelbourne manager Pat Fenlon was far from impressed with the way the eircom League's top brass marked his team's title triumph last year

FOOTBALL in this country has a future - and a bright one at that - but a lot needs to change at the top for our clubs to realise their ambitions.

It is frustrating to see the lack of support from Merrion Square for the likes of Shelburne, Bohemians, Cork City, St Patrick's Atheltic, Derry City and Drogheda United who are pumping so much effort and resources into their clubs because they want to move forward.

Those in charge of the game are not slow to jump on the bandwagon when a club does well in Europe, but most of them are found wanting when we want help to push the bar even higher.

Improving Ireland's co-efficient is suppose to be a key objective of the FAI and a few years ago, in an effort to help teams prepare properly for Europe, they started to give each of the four qualifiers £10,000 each.

That money is no longer available, although it is still badly needed. Getting it would help Shelbourne, for example, defray the costs of sending our players to a pre-season training camp, while part-time clubs like Longford would be able to take their players out of work for a few days before a UEFA Cup game to prepare properly.

The lack of real professionalism in the administration of the eircom League is something that really frustrates me, and other managers, because there are some really stupid things which shouldn't happen in a properly run sporting organisation.

The FAI's technical department has been advising clubs over the past few years to adopt the best practice in sports science and seminars have been run to show managers and coaches how to prepare players properly.

However, I get the impression that the eircom League are not aware of this and expect players to turn up on the first day of the season and start performing.

Three weeks after the end of the 2004 season no manager knew when the new season was going to begin or whether it would be played over three or four rounds.

At Shelbourne, this played havoc with our plans. On the Monday after our final league game of the season against St Pat's, we brought in all the players to be weighed and have their body fat checked. However, we were unable to give them a close-season programme - we didn't know when training would start because we didn't know when our first league game next season was going to be.

We also had changes to the suspension system last season without proper consultation. Players and managers weren't aware, until it started to happen, that bans kicked in after four games or that the scheme which rewarded players for going a period of games without being booked had been removed. Had that excellent system remained Barry Ferguson would have been able to captain Longford in the FAI Cup final.

The presentation of the eircom League trophy at Richmond Park on the night we clinched the title was also a shambles. Two guys held up an eircom League Champions sign while the battered trophy was presented. And, six weeks on, the Shelbourne players have yet to receive their medals.

I could go on and on, so is it any surprise that people within the clubs often wonder why they should bother trying to develop a professional game in this country when there appears to be a complete lack of support for their ambitious plans? There is a feeling that there is no strategy or plan in place for the running of professional football here; that those in charge make it up as they go along.

What's needed is a professional management team, with no affiliations to any club, to run the eircom League. I would like to see some people who have worked in the game, like Damien Richardson for example, being involved in that management team in order to provide the insight that is so sadly lacking.

What is going on at the moment is very difficult to take. But it can be changed - it must be changed.

* Pat Fenlon is the manager of Shelbourne.

Pat Fenlon
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

details so many of the frustrations of being a supporter of this league. for once I totally agree with Fenlon.

1,081 Posts
    There was a few good articles on the EL in the Indo that day, including one from our own 'El Presidente' himself, Jim Hanley, which I think is posted below

.................................................. ......

I have to agree with the man .... But the people running our league now, we hear very little from them and half of what goes on, we never hear about.

The league needs to decide on what its doing and lay plans in place. We need a decent TV deal straight way .... and if we have to wait any longer for it, then people should step down. The fans and even more so, the clubs seem to just tolerate what ever happens, the powers that be get away with scandle after scandle .... if it is not one thing it is another.
    At the very least, appear to be addressing the issues that plague the league.
    While it is getting better .... there is such a long way to go, its unreal.

539 Posts
    what a bunch of muppets the league are!fenlon has some very validpoints about the eircom league administration and the time is now ready for change.football has gone backwards since the paul marney incident!

will a proposed merger between the north and southern leagues make any difference at all to the admin side? wouldnt be confident at all myself!

I thought the Idea of involing people like Damien Richardson in running the leauge in this country was a good idea.
    First Division Champions

Nuttsy said nothing that Dolan hasn't been saying for years. Of course Dolan was called a crank, so will Nuttsy get the same sort of treatment from the league now?

Thumbs up Fair play

Fair dues to whoever in Indo sports had the idea for running the series.
    It'd be nice to see more from other media who want to support the game at home.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Nuttsy said nothing that Dolan hasn't been saying for years. Of course Dolan was called a crank, so will Nuttsy get the same sort of treatment from the league now?
    My thoughts exactly. Fenlon is right in what he's saying but Dolan comes out with this kind of thing almost every week but unfortunately nobody listens. What makes Fenlon different and why would anyone take any more notice of him than they do of Dolan?
    Champions!

.................................................. .........

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    My thoughts exactly. Fenlon is right in what he's saying but Dolan comes out with this kind of thing almost every week but unfortunately nobody listens. What makes Fenlon different and why would anyone take any more notice of him than they do of Dolan?
    You have to question that alright ... i totally agree with Fenlon but in fairness, Pat has never been afraid or tried to be opportune when i highlightng the problems with the league, he doesn't pull any punches, and that probably rocks the boat for a few people.

1,081 Posts
    I presume Fenlon was just asked to do an article for the Indo, same as Declan Hanney and Jim Hanley, Dolan has his own newspaper column, no harm in hearing from other people..

What makes Fenlon different and why would anyone take any more notice of him than they do of Dolan?
    Nothing. Fenlon is merely echoing what Dolan has been saying all along. The fact that there is more than one person saying it, the eL powers might actually take more notice and do something about it.

But of course if Fenlon says anything he is wrong. No wonder people say City fans are bitter
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    But of course if Fenlon says anything he is wrong. No wonder people say City fans are bitter
    No in fairness despite our hatred for the little freak I think all City fans will acknowledge that what he's saying is correct.
    Champions!

What makes Fenlon different and why would anyone take any more notice of him than they do of Dolan?
    with dolan, most of his good points get lost, because he is usually making at least one ridiculous statement every week in his star column, he also comes accross as very much a soundbyte type person (e.g stadium of light, supersaints, rebel army etc).

wheras fenlon comes accross as more reserved, therefore when he does speak in the media it carries more weight than dolan (forgive the pun)

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    with dolan, most of his good points get lost, because he is usually making at least one ridiculous statement every week in his star column, he also comes accross as very much a soundbyte type person (e.g stadium of light, supersaints, rebel army etc).

wheras fenlon comes accross as more reserved, therefore when he does speak in the media it carries more weight than dolan (forgive the pun)
    Eh Dolan is a respectable well spoken and intelligent man while Fenlon is a dirty little jackeen whom a lot of people would find hard to take seriously.
    Champions!

1,081 Posts
    Not everyone is as anti-Fenlon as you lads are..

Its all well moaning about the eircom league management but afaik the league is run by the people elected by the clubs???

If the league has problems then surely only the clubs themselves thru the elected league members can solve it???

Dolan has lied before in front of the whole league.. He even had the cheek to takes his lies to court.

He got found out and I don't think he has fully recovered yet. People don't usually listen to the words of a LIAR.

I think Fenlon has conducted himself well over the past two years in front of the media and although people don't agree with him, sometimes Shels fans, he is a more credible person then the caught out LIAR...

Dolan has cried wolf enough times so people stop being interested.. Its simple
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

^^^

Sounds like a load of slanderous bluff which is not uncommomn from Shels people.

What lies do you speak of?

Seems like fairly serious allegations yuo are making there Higgins.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Dolan has lied before in front of the whole league.. He even had the cheek to takes his lies to court.

He got found out and I don't think he has fully recovered yet. People don't usually listen to the words of a LIAR.

I think Fenlon has conducted himself well over the past two years in front of the media and although people don't agree with him, sometimes Shels fans, he is a more credible person then the caught out LIAR...

Dolan has cried wolf enough times so people stop being interested.. Its simple
    Strong words indeed. But wouldn't that possibly apply to Ollie?