Page 51 of 111 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast
Results 1,001 to 1,020 of 2218

Thread: Andy Reid(b 1982)

Geysir, I like the meticulous use of most apt words.

Slowest, being most apparent.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    That was not enough on it's own, I'd hazard a guess that Trap continued to observe Andy in the subsequent squad.
    I'd hazard a guess that perhaps Trap was still annoyed, but for the betterment of the team thought about playing Andy.

He then realised that we could do without reidy, with what was currently there, and therefore didn't pick him again, clouded by his anger somewhat.

That was not enough on it's own, I'd hazard a guess that Trap continued to observe Andy in the subsequent squad.
    Yeh I know that. I saw Reid before the Cyprus game and I can understand why he wasn't in the squads. His attitude wasn't right last season but he's a decent intelligent fella and looks to have copped on.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I saw Reid before the Cyprus game and I can understand why he wasn't in the squads. His attitude wasn't right last season but he's a decent intelligent fella and looks to have copped on.
    Exactly... That has to be shown to be worth something at least.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

161 Posts
    Outstanding play from Andy Reid for Sunderland's goal. Brings ball in from the left hand side line. Floats past two players and gives Bent a simple chance to finish. Brilliant play.

2,710 Posts
    Yeah, just saw it on the "red button" option. He's a different wide proposition to Duff. Duff is a conventional winger, Reid can also beat a man and put in a good cross (he's done just that against Bolton) but he also has the cut-inside & pick a pass option. In my mind this is what we need to get Keane & Doyle more into play. McGeady does this too, but which of the two is better? I'd be inclined to say Reid - he's just more effective I think.

Given Trapp's system, I think the question is not whether he should be in the team ahead of Whelan or Andrews, but whether he should be in ahead of McGeady or Hunt.

At the very least I think it's time for everyone to cop on and have this guy back in the squad. I'm all for making examples of players, but a year in the wilderness is a strong message.

In club parlance, having Reid back would be like a new signing. Having both Reids back, plus Finnan, would be a huge shot in the arm.

Just make sure if you put Reid in the squad you take out a player his EXACT height weight and playing style, and someone who enjoys the same music as Andy or some on here will yell at you.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

Another clever assist from Andy Reid and yet another example of what he can offer to the Irish team. i don't honestly think he can do any more to warrant being picked for the next squad. He has stated he would swim the Irish channel to play but we have a manager that wouldn't even have the decency to come across and watch a few 'live' games but instead puts his feet up at home in italy what do we expect.

The first one he saw this season was a Man City game AFTER he's picked the squad, and who was he going to see...Shay Given??? Ah, sorry Trap but I think you should be going checking out a few of our more up and coming players. He even stated in one press conference that Chris McCann passed the ball 4 times in one game against Man Utd, when stats showed he had played 20. Nuff said!!
    “I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    Reid didn't have a regular place for his club team at the time though nor was he playing particularly well.
    How many ****ing times does it have to be mentioned before retards drop this untruth and misconception?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Said it before on this thread. Reid does not fit into Traps system...and two sitting central midfielders who can tackle and are physical in the midfield..
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I'm not sure whether it's true Reid couldn't play this role. In my opinion it's discipline and awareness that's required, rather than tenacious tackling ability.
    He's proved he can play that position before (for club and country) as long as he is not the main person involved in that role. Now that his fitness is better than it has been for years he should be able to perform even better there.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Maybe Brady isn't positive about his return?
    Brady has spoken well about Andy. Brady appeared to flatly contradict the perception that Trap had an issue with Reid's overall attitude while with the squad.
    I was going to say the same thing. That comment from Brady has always intrigued me. I'd be more inclined to believe him over Trap about it. With all the (correct) stick that Trap was getting over the exclusion it was in his best interest to make it seem it was more to do with off-the-field issues rather than footballing based.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Andy Reid has only started two Premiership matches for Sunderland this season. They have two more Premiership matches before the international break:

Sunday September 27 home to Wolves
    Saturday October 3 away to Manchester United

If he plays 90 minutes in BOTH matches and handles himself well, I don't think that there's any way Trapattoni could exclude him from the squad.

LFC Was it not Man City versus Wolves that he went to see, so there was more than just Given playing who was Irish. Although I dont mind Trap getting those stats wrong as longa s the most important stat which has played 8 games and 16 points and unbeaten so far. Enough said.

I think even if Reid scores a hat trick in both games, Trap will not call him up.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 19/09/2009 at 7:02 PM.
    In Trap we trust

2,710 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFCSixty/Eighty View Post
    He even stated in one press conference that Chris McCann passed the ball 4 times in one game against Man Utd, when stats showed he had played 20. Nuff said!!
    I think he wasn't intending to be taken literally. My take at the time was that he was simply saying McCann didn't make much of an impact on the game. All of a sudden all the stattos came out and called him up on it. If you are to be totally statistical about it, 20 passes in a game isn't exactly an indication that the next Pele is in our midst.

65 Posts
    Just watched Bent's goal for Sunderland - sublime ball from Reid.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Just watched Burnleys second goal and Reid was a mile away from the full back crossing the ball. Gave him a free cross in. 2 sides to the game and as far as trap is concerned he looks at the defensive more than the attacking esp for central midfielders or wingers.
    In Trap we trust

3,327 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Just watched Bent's goal for Sunderland - sublime ball from Reid.
    savage through ball, but I was more impressed with the earlier cross from the inside left position. Any decent target man would have converted it to a shot on target.

Bit worried about Chris McCann, went off midway through the first half with a nasty injury.

He was half culpable for the first goal too, let his man go for that too but terrible tackle by Ferdinanad also.
    In Trap we trust

65 Posts
    Dont think you can blame him for the first, his centrehalf should have dealt with it.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

You could as he let him go and did not have the pace to get track him. You should track the runners. Centre back then had to come across and deal with it, and to be fair Ferdinand fecked up too. Rash tackle but Reid still should have tracked him.
    In Trap we trust

2,710 Posts
    Will look out for it. I saw none of the second half.

Page 51 of 111 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101 ... LastLast