Page 25 of 111 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy Reid(b 1982)

keane/shoulder chips, andy/fat chr!st lads come up with something new, PLEASE!
    zombie/thread killer..

andy reid is a great player and possibly our best player at the mo so a bit more praise lads come on...a great lad

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    "Face it ladies, its not the dress that makes you look fat. Its the FAT that makes you look fat." - Al Bundy
    off topic, but i'l stop buying the xxxxxxl shirts then, if im fat im fat
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Where do they sell them shirts, !!!
    In Trap we trust

some nice comments about reid on bbc here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/F972347...267857&show=50
    zombie/thread killer..

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Where do they sell them shirts, !!!

the fatman shop
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

1,928 Posts
    Another blow up over late comers to Sunderland training and who would have guessed it, but Andy Reid arrives late for training on Monday and is going out on loan to Wolves.

Apparantly Andy is bunking in with Liam Miller and gets a lift in with Miller.
    Keane blew his top and said something about just because he scored on Saturday means féck all on a Monday.
    Reid said something like, you wouldn't know much about that (scoring goals) Roy, you couldn't even bend a cucumber.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Another blow up over late comers to Sunderland training and who would have guessed it, but Andy Reid arrives late for training on Monday and is going out on loan to Wolves.

Apparantly Andy is bunking in with Liam Miller and gets a lift in with Miller.
    Keane blew his top and said something about just because he scored on Saturday means féck all on a Monday.
    Reid said something like, you wouldn't know much about that (scoring goals) Roy, you couldn't even bend a cucumber.
    April Fool?????

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull-4-life View Post
    andy reid is a great player and possibly our best player at the mo so a bit more praise lads come on...a great lad
    Exactly, the fat jokes are just a little tiresome at this stage. He is the one Irish player that i am excited about at the moment. A very exciting player with an exceptional passing range. When on form he can make Ireland and Sunderland tick. His performance at home to Germany was one of the very few bright spots from the last campaign. Unlike a certain Mr. Ireland he doesnt disapear during games and he actually wants to play in the green jersey

okay sorry, i had to, but this guardian article is flattering to reid (well, his skill anyway) and comes with such chuckles as:

"Whenever I saw him I thought of Bob Paisley's observation about Ray Kennedy: 'He's not quick, but he's nippy.' Paisley had a habit of making pronouncements so gnomic they came with their own fishing rod and cap, yet you always knew what he meant, just about."

http://sport.guardian.co.uk/columnis...270805,00.html
    zombie/thread killer..

If his size is getting people talking about him then I'm happy.

this is the one and only player i have ever hyped to friends about ( ok well apart from duff ) and now finally he is proving it. I remember the first time watching him live and the vision he has was unreal - the only other to match him was keane and thats why they are so good together. you cant get this feel for a player by watching him on tele, you need to see the whole pitch and position of players to realise this. Reid is class - he could be world class with the right midfield partner.

He was without doubt world class against Germany. When Cyprus put pressure on him in the next game though he wasn't half as good. It'll be interesting to see how well he does now that everyone in the premiership knows about him.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Wonder why he started out solely as a left winger?

He's not particularly good at dribbling, average speed and fairly poor stamina. He's real talent is passing, he can tackle too and his positioning is excellent. Everything a centre mid needs, wonder why he and his managers are only realising this now.
    The fact that there is a lack of players who can pass/shoot with their left foot probably contributed to this. Most small left footed players end up as a LB pr as a left winger. It started at Forest where they had CMF covered and needed a left winger. He played well there for a few seasons and then Spurs brought him in to fill that roll. As he's become more mature and confident on the ball it has become apparent he has what it takes to play CMF.

I'm not sure but I think he started off as a striker and even played a few games for Ireland at U21 in that position or did I just dream this? If so this would also have retarded his development into a CMF player.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Wonder why he started out solely as a left winger?

He's not particularly good at dribbling, average speed and fairly poor stamina. He's real talent is passing, he can tackle too and his positioning is excellent. Everything a centre mid needs, wonder why he and his managers are only realising this now.
    you are wrong about him having poor stamina. Thats a very lazy view that alot of people have of him because of the way he looks. Look at the goal last week he scored, it was in the 95th minute and he was still getting forward into the box. Everytime I see him he works hard and Ive never seen him go down with cramp. Few years ago when he was at Spurs Martin Jol said that Reid was consistantly in the top few players at the club when they did fitness tests
    Its really not that complicated!!!

He's a great footballer and we need him...end of.

he looks quite broad here but not actually fat, very small though i think thats probably why he looks squatty:

http://www.cuchulainnsgaa.com/

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    you are wrong about him having poor stamina. Thats a very lazy view that alot of people have of him because of the way he looks.

Have to disagree with you there... I seen play a few games for Charlton and ireland and his tackles in the last 20 minutes of games are very scholes like... Less relevant when he's playing more advanced I know, but for me he does lack the engine of a 'complete' central midfeilder..

Still a quality player...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Still a quality player...
    That's all that matters

2 bonus points in the fantasy football this week. Jones beat him to man of the match.

Page 25 of 111 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast