Page 43 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3341424344455393 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy Reid(b 1982)

Typical Culchie no principles. He should only say sorry if he thinks he was wrong.
    In Trap we trust

130 Posts
    Great goal, the first one, although it was against a Norwich side who are extremely porous at the moment. I dont rate the guy as highly as some others on here at the moment, although I do think he should be in the squad. If he can force himself into the starting XI on a regular basis for Sunderland, Trap may call him up, but its unlikely to happen before the end of this campaign imo.

As an aside, poor Gaz Doherty appears to be having a torrid time at the bacl for Norwich.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Typical Culchie no principles. He should only say sorry if he thinks he was wrong.
    I don't think there's any doubt he was in the wrong, he broke a curfew and when given a second chance to leave after the initial break decided to hang on. That seems to be the accepted version of events in any case.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Wrong!

2,796 Posts
    I think Trap has said implied that the row isn't the issue. He said he had lots of arguments with players in Italy. I still believe that he thinks that Reid's demeanour when not playing was the issue. Neil McD supplied quotes to back this up.

He's definitely good enough for our squad. He can play right across the middle-4 and as support to the forwards.

49 Posts
    ffs he loves his sing song. big deal, hes learned from it im sure. i with trap all the way but i hate the fact reid isnt with us. hes pure class and has carried himself with dignity and passion when talking about playing for ireland. got himself fit for this season(never bothered me he was a bit chunky anyway). obvisouly trap just dosent want him and it dosent matter what andy does which is a real shame and a waste of a real talent. i just hope andy keeps his head down and does his stuff and hope for the best. if i was manager in the morning id be ringing andy to apologise. chin up andy

Or, if playing for your country means doing anything he can, a lot easier and more realistic than swimming hte irish sea for example, biting his tongue and saying sorry means he can do it, then do it.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Or, if playing for your country means doing anything he can, a lot easier and more realistic than swimming hte irish sea for example, biting his tongue and saying sorry means he can do it, then do it.
    How do you know he hasn't already apologised?

1,928 Posts
    If the Mainz party was the big issue then Andy would not have been togged out and primed to come on against Montenegro.

Even if it was the issue between them, Andy looks the type of lad who could apologise, Not at all like having to wait forever for some Roscommon culchie to finally cop on and own up to their behaviour

2,771 Posts
    theres certain times when you should apologise even when you dont think youre wrong - i think this is one of those times for the chubby funster.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    The reason I don't 100% believe that is because Brady, around the time, said that there was absolutely no problem with Reid's attitude. I can't see why the assistant manager would say something so completely untrue given what what been discussed.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    If the Mainz party was the big issue then Andy would not have been togged out and primed to come on against Montenegro.

Even if it was the issue between them, Andy looks the type of lad who could apologise, Not at all like having to wait forever for some Roscommon culchie to finally cop on and own up to their behaviour
    If after: all his efforts, losing 8kg, a stunning goal and display last night, a total loyalty and willingness to play for Ireland, an absolute need for quality in the IRELAND team….Andy is not selected for the squad, it is a total travesty.

If we do not win in Cyprus with Andy not in the squad, Trappatoni will be turned upon, and rightly so, as it stands already, he is VERY lucky that the honeymoon period has extended this far in the Irish media.

As for misdemeanors of Roscommon sheep botherers, Andy will score a hat-trick in a World Cup Final before you get any remorse there!

Interesting though that some posters want Andy to apologise when Trap smacked him across the ear but think Trap should beg Stephen Ireland to come back to the side! Notably, these are the views of the great hypocrite Roy Keane.
    Last edited by Scram; 25/08/2009 at 3:24 PM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    If after: all his efforts, losing 8kg, a stunning goal and display last night, a total loyalty and willingness to play for Ireland, an absolute need for quality in the IRELAND team….Andy is not selected for the squad, it is a total travesty.

That fact that a professional sportsman needed to lose the guts of a stone and a half and has taken until now to do it is a travesty.

I hope to see him back in the squad by the way but his condiition over the last few years has held him back for club as well as country.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    That fact that a professional sportsman needed to lose the guts of a stone and a half and has taken until now to do it is a travesty.

I hope to see him back in the squad by the way but his condiition over the last few years has held him back for club as well as country.
    Agreed, and it highlights the error in judgment of those who said his weight was not an issue. Granted, the guy had the skill to basically pass his way to a paycheck the last couple years but one must wonder what he would have been capable of if he had the proper enthusiasm from the beginning of his career. It is all well and good to "shape up", but starting at the age of 27 is pretty late in the game. Regardless, I hope he can play his way into the Ireland squad this season

I would say that he probably has to work harder than other players to shape up and he was probably just doing the same as others. But sometimes the same is not enough and this is the case.
    In Trap we trust

Agreed. Would love to see Andy back in the squad and delighted he has spent the close season removing the main excuse people rely upon to overlook his obvious technical brilliance and outstanding vision (qualities which are sorely lacking in the current squad). I've never actually been completely convinced that he has been 'overweight' - I might be alone in thinking this but I cannot see how it stands to reason that a guy playing week in, week out in centre midfield at a functional Premier League club can still manage to be overweight and/or unfit. It's a contradiction in terms (cue deluge of photos of Andy looking tubby!). I hope he gets a call-up but, barring a considerable broadening of Trap's opinion of what a centre midfielder should do, I can't see it happening. He seems to have settled on a profile of 'gritty, hardworking watercarrier' as the campaign has gone on alright, but if he saw fit (ahem) to include Reid in the first few squads he must clearly have envisaged a role for him.

Or a roll for him.

Sorry. No more fat jokes.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan View Post
    Agreed. Would love to see Andy back in the squad and delighted he has spent the close season removing the main excuse people rely upon to overlook his obvious technical brilliance and outstanding vision (qualities which are sorely lacking in the current squad). I've never actually been completely convinced that he has been 'overweight' - I might be alone in thinking this but I cannot see how it stands to reason that a guy playing week in, week out in centre midfield at a functional Premier League club can still manage to be overweight and/or unfit. It's a contradiction in terms (cue deluge of photos of Andy looking tubby!). I hope he gets a call-up but, barring a considerable broadening of Trap's opinion of what a centre midfielder should do, I can't see it happening. He seems to have settled on a profile of 'gritty, hardworking watercarrier' as the campaign has gone on alright, but if he saw fit (ahem) to include Reid in the first few squads he must clearly have envisaged a role for him.

Or a roll for him.

Sorry. No more fat jokes.
    He's just lost nearly a stone and a half!! I'd say that's a pretty good indication that he was over weight! I would agree that he has to do a bit more then some to keep the weight down but that what he should have been doing for years. He can eat and drink what he likes when he retires but he needed to apply himself. I'm delighted he finally did, hope he keeps it up and would love to see him on a plane in the squad for SA next year.

Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan View Post
    Agreed. Would love to see Andy back in the squad and delighted he has spent the close season removing the main excuse people rely upon to overlook his obvious technical brilliance and outstanding vision (qualities which are sorely lacking in the current squad). I've never actually been completely convinced that he has been 'overweight' - I might be alone in thinking this but I cannot see how it stands to reason that a guy playing week in, week out in centre midfield at a functional Premier League club can still manage to be overweight and/or unfit.
    QFT.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    He's just lost nearly a stone and a half!! I'd say that's a pretty good indication that he was over weight!
    While he may have been visibly a bit over weight it never effected his fitness has he played the full 90 minutes in the majority of games comfortably over the past few seasons.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    How do you know he hasn't already apologised?
    Reading into what he said in that interview, makes me think at least that he hasn't apologised, becuase he doesn't really see the need to apologise i.e. he thinks he has done no wrong. And maybe he hasn't and we are all speculating and he will now be called into the squad sooner rather than later.

If not though I reckon, he hasn't apologised, for whatever he may have done (and potentially unaware of what he has done).

Page 43 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3341424344455393 ... LastLast