Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who robbed the Northern Bank?

89 Posts
    Lads

Do you not think that Order considered all these possible consequences before he made this decision. I am sure he thought about the implications on a personal basis and the wider political spectrum. If he didn't believe there was value in doing this, or thought that there was significant doubt then he would not have done it.

Fair play to him, time the bank robbing murderers were challenged......
    Last edited by MariborKev; 07/01/2005 at 11:52 PM.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

I don't trust Sinn Féin or the IRA, but i have to admit this constant mudslinging is getting on my nerves- McDowell is at it all the time. Fair enough, everyone is pretty sure they're up to no good, but how is it that people can go around making these allegations with no proof. It really is one law for some, one law for others. If they have proof, let them charge people, otherwise they should treat people with some respect. its all well and good saying "the dogs in the street know it"- that was the case involving some FF politicians and corruption too- but you would have landed in court if you'd said it to the press.

piratemousey

Talking

the ira/sinn fein boys for sure.
    oli.burn (ahem) was only looking for some jhonny blues and got involved. he scared the sh**e out of the woman when he turned to her and said that Schels would get into the champions league group stages.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Lads

Do you not think that Order considered all these possible consequences before he made this decision. I am sure he thought about the implications on a personal basis and the wider political spectrum. If he didn't believe there was value in doing this, or thought that there was significant doubt then he would not have done it.

Fair play to him, time the bank robbing murderers were challenged......
    What actual evidence did Mr PSNI/RUC actually produce for this statement ?
    Im sure he is also well aware of the political Implications in declaring this, its the best way out of the GFA for the Unionists. Im sure they will be rubbing their hands at this."Thank you Mr Orde".

Dont know how long the remaining 'Pro-agreement' Republicans can put up with excuse after excuse and numerous stalling tactics by both Unionism and the British State. All they are doing is proving politics aint working. So in my opinion Ordes statement is not going to do this country any favours.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Im sure he is also well aware of the political Implications in declaring this, its the best way out of the GFA for the Unionists. Im sure they will be rubbing their hands at this."Thank you Mr Orde".

Dont know how long the remaining 'Pro-agreement' Republicans can put up with excuse after excuse and numerous stalling tactics by both Unionism and the British State. All they are doing is proving politics aint working. So in my opinion Ordes statement is not going to do this country any favours.

so ye wont be signing rolandinho then
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

exactly. FFS, if this was a specific criminal we were talking about, and he went out and blamed him without being able to prove it, he'd be open to a lawsuit. I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if it WAS the IRA who did it, but in the absence of proof, people should watch their words

Like people have said it most likely was the Provos but I dont like the way everybody has taken the word of a bloody Gman as gospel.

Proof cannot just be pubished during an ongoing criminal investigation but neither should the gman go around saying such things ffs

However IF it is proven (IMC perhaps) to be the PIRA then Provo SF have to be told where to go.
    Oh no not them again

I certainly don't like the way Orde's word has been taken as gospel, particularly down here, and particularly given past cases that the provo's have been accused, with big media fuss at politically sensitive times with no actual charges or convictions.

However, until P O'Neill says the RA didn't do it, I'll be sceptical of the shinners denials.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Like people have said it most likely was the Provos but I dont like the way everybody has taken the word of a bloody Gman as gospel.

Proof cannot just be pubished during an ongoing criminal investigation but neither should the gman go around saying such things ffs.
    Maybe your leader should have a word with the arsehole in the Justice dept so, and get him to keep his big gob shut too.

However IF it is proven (IMC perhaps) to be the PIRA then Provo SF have to be told where to go.
    I agree, but a lot of people vote for that party, and they have seats in the Dáil, in the Northern Assembly and in Westminster, so how can you actually keep them out of the political process?
    In the North, there does not seem to be any point in treating the SDLP as the main Irish/nationalist/republican party, when they clearly do not have the support. (mores the pity)

well something has to be done about the criminal acts scum fein/ira are doing but in saying that orde done alot of damage with his remarks saying the provos did it but our glorious leader bertie said on the weekend show on rte radio 1 that and i quote "our own security services have told me that the provisional ira are responsible for this robbery"

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    well something has to be done about the criminal acts scum fein/ira are doing
    Well what should be done is get the evidence to arrest and convict anybody involved in law-breaking, no matter who they are. If Orde, or any other policeman, has any evidence which allows him to say that such and such a gang did it, they should be testing this evidence in a court of law, not expressing opinions to a media press conference.
    McDowell has come out with the same type of stuff on numerous occasions over the last few years, but there seems to be remarkably little follow up by the DPP in bringing charges or convictions.
    I think that the GruppenFeuhrer should either put up, or shut up, especially as he was the first to scream and shout due process when it suited him.
    Otherwise though, personally, I'm sick to death of Sinn Fein, their endless criticising of other people/parties while ignoring their own sins, their creepy, two-faced TD's (All of them), their gobsh*te MEP, and most of all, their endless flyers in my door, telling me to contact them if I want things done in my community. How did we ever survive without them?....
    Last edited by patsh; 10/01/2005 at 11:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Maybe your leader should have a word with the arsehole in the Justice dept so, and get him to keep his big gob shut too.
    I agree

I agree, but a lot of people vote for that party, and they have seats in the Dáil, in the Northern Assembly and in Westminster, so how can you actually keep them out of the political process?
    In the North, there does not seem to be any point in treating the SDLP as the main Irish/nationalist/republican party, when they clearly do not have the support. (mores the pity)
    True but I'd expect them to make serious losses in elections if this turns out to be true
    Oh no not them again

89 Posts
    Personally SOC I would disagree with you

If this turns out to be true then who would not vote for them that voted for them last time out. If people could see past them being the political wing of an illegal army who carried out a campaign of terror for thirty years, why would a mere bank robbery change their attitude?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

I'd expect them to make serious losses in elections if this turns out to be true
    Don't really think that will happen. The people who vote for them need someone to stand up to the bigots and those with links to loyalist paramilitaries in the DUP, and I can't see anyone choosing the SDLP to do that.

IMC do need to get their finger out with regard to that. Paisley once siad he didnt trust Hume becuase he shook hands with a terrorist, this was around the time of his own flirtation with loyalism

I was thinking South of the border....down Mexico way, Provisional SF, I expect, would lose a lot of the recent gains they've made if the PIRA were found to to involved
    Oh no not them again

I was thinking South of the border....down Mexico way, Provisional SF, I expect, would lose a lot of the recent gains they've made if the PIRA were found to to involved
    On top of the whole McCabe issue raising it's head again, I think they would - particularly on transfers, which is where they made the 1st preferences turn into seats.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Personally SOC I would disagree with you

If this turns out to be true then who would not vote for them that voted for them last time out. If people could see past them being the political wing of an illegal army who carried out a campaign of terror for thirty years, why would a mere bank robbery change their attitude?
    Very good post, although the 'illegal army' and 'campaign of terror' is a matter of opinion (a 'minority opinion' at that going by democratic votes achieved by SF).
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Very good post, although the 'illegal army' and 'campaign of terror' is a matter of opinion (a 'minority opinion' at that going by democratic votes achieved by SF).
    how is it a minortity opinion ?? if that was actualy the case the scum fein would be in goverment, and the internatonal body set up to monitor the cease fire has said that they are up their their eyeballs in punishment beatings extorion and robberys that go back into scum feins/ira coffers : i think that constitutes an illegal army . . and every independent poll done by the media over the weekend showed over 80% of the people polled didnt trust sinn fein.
    and who can trust them now after its come out they wouldnt sign up to the criminality agreement. why wont scum fein/ira sign up to it ???????????????
    Last edited by exile; 10/01/2005 at 7:54 PM.

But they only achieved that level of votes after (or with the perception of) going exclusively ballot box and ditching the armalite. I suppose it's too early to tell how the voters that now thought they were acceptable will react.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast