Originally Posted by tommy
Well that makes everything ok then.No problems another great season for Newtown having been beaten by the enormously talented Corofin!!!
Your far too ambitious altogether.
Ok maybe dire straights is an exageration but for a club like newtown to be out of contention for league or cup in Feb is a serious under achievement. Last year they played really well and you would expect return of a star player should make them better.
Look at the teams below them Newmarket and Bridge Celtic will definitely stay up. Mountshannon and cratloe favourites to go down. That leaves only bunratty below them and I'd fancy them in a relegation battle. Only stating the obvious that if Newtown lose a few games they could be in relegation zone. They have lifford on Sunday so you would have to fancy an away win. So its not rocket science to think they could be dragged further down.
Dont get me wrong I dont think they will go down just think for a club of newtowns stature especially on last years performances they should be challenging for league and cup. Lots of talent there. League is very tight from top to bottom so nobody too good to go down yet.
Well that makes everything ok then.No problems another great season for Newtown having been beaten by the enormously talented Corofin!!!
Your far too ambitious altogether.
no disrespect to newtown but i think ye are seriously not the team ye were when ye had johnny o coru up front! i think he is equally as good as davy wall and has a serious workrate. pity he is injured! as for davy wall you cant be relying on one player to do all the work there are plenty of other good players for newtown so cant see whats gone wrong with ye! im sure ye will bounce back hopefully with a win against lifford sunday!![]()
As for avenue i think we can get better of lifford in cup! league is another story as its still up for grabs! hopefully we can go one better this year and do the double!!
very easy to slag off clubs.. not so long ago when newtown won 3-4 cups in 1 season .. they were micky mouse cups ... !! and now after a cup defeat to the holders at home ... suddenly a major crisis and newtown are a rubbish team.. newtown have been hold and cold for last year or 2 .. plus lost a few players through injuryOriginally Posted by manalishi
players leaving ... definatly problems at club but a crisis / disaster is a bit strong...
more of a crisis at bunratty with there current position & also out of cup for a team that should have been 1 of top teams in clare recently,,, we do not know full story behind any teams unless personally involved & it is very easy to slag them of on this site![]()
Manalishi = Boss??
Seems to me that 'new signing' Manalishi is trying to rise Newtown ahead of a big game with Lifford. Seem to remember a certain 'Boss' doing the same thing with Newmarket ahead of a Lifford game. Couldn't be the same person could it???
I heard that the Clare U16s were beaten by Moneypoint 3-2. I also heard the so called county team had no jerseys (had to borrow spare set off moneypoint), no water for the players etc. Just basic organisation. And then people ask questions about youths, oscar trayor etc. Problem runs a lot deeper im afraid.
Fair play Tommy, im sure there are plenty of people on this thread who support united (man that is) and were only delighted to win a (worthless????) trophy this season. to win any cup will help team spirit, provide a good night out and can be a springboard for next season. Nothing to be laughed at. best of luck to yee for the rest of the season.Originally Posted by tommy
Fancy Avenue for the Cup.
Lads,there is nothing wrong in Newtown,we were coasting in Corofin at 2-0,lots of lads playing well,took our foot off the pedal and found ourselves back at 2-2,had 80% of the play in the 2nd half and missed too many chances,Approaching fulltime Corofin broke from their defence and your man shot from approx 20 yards,it deflected off one of our centrehalfs and flew into the goal,that is the way soccer goes........we wished Corofin the best, the season is not finished yet,we will continue to do what we are doing,Having Davy Back is great but he is only one man who has bad games as well,we have had a horrendous injury list all season,looked to have cleared up around christmas and now has returned,no point in moaning you go with who you have and give it your best shot,As for relegation you are never safe till you are mathematically safe,we will continue till the end and defend our 3 trophies that we won last year.Originally Posted by myleftfoot
'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush
If I was you I would go and talk to the person who gave you this wildly inaccurate information and ask them where they got this from.Originally Posted by Brazil Nut
Get this.The Clare under 16s had a friendly against Moneypoint and wore (is this in big enough writing for you) [B]a brand new set of gear,in the right colors, sponsored by the CSSL's new sponsor UMBRO.They were leading 2 nil and made a number of changes after which they were beaten 2-3.Aidan O'Neill the manager was quite happy with the run out as it showed him a few areas he needed to address.
I am extremely interested in your (now) fully informed reply??
corofin won the cup for the first time last year.. the first time the village had won anything. it was never going to be easy for them (newtown)on sunday and in fairness they must have taken foot off the gas to end up losing the game. as for corofin maybe they could get the playoff place in div1 this year. they are a strong side.Originally Posted by manalishi
i'd say olympic will have a problem or 2 with moher also. while oly must be favourites moher lads have cup final memories and will prove tough nut to crack![]()
Yeah i have to agree with you there Plastic Pitch. They had some bad results early on in the season before they had there full team available. They are a tough side, and will easily climb out of the relegation battle.Code:corofin maybe they could get the playoff place in div1 this year. they are a strong side.
Hacker do you have any of the other odds?????
I am temporary retired from this site but please dont associate me with him.Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
If I want to slag off newtown i am well able to do that myself thanks.
yeah i remember the games against olympic.. ye were a bit of a bogey team for us. yeah we both have a long way to go before we meet. Avenue are inreally good form and will be tough to beat. Hopefully our injury list will clear up and we can give it our best shot!!Originally Posted by tommy
think they only do the premier, but i could be wrong!Originally Posted by loose cannon
Sure Olympic arent in the premier and he has quoted odds of 16/1.
Just replying to all this rubbish bout the corofin newtown game,newtown dominated the first 20 mins and got 2 goals corofin dominated second 25 and scored twice and should have got more.newtown owned 2nd half but couldnt take chances.harps created a chance and scored.think corofin not getting the credit they deserve,just cause newtown are premier they have no god given right to win,harps are cup champions and tough to beat at home.
Tommy nobody having a go at newtown. But for all their talent they should be doing better. If they had the battling qualities that Corofin obviously have they would be top of the league. Cos the league is so close the remaining four or five games will all be cup ties so if your side are not up for the battle they could be in trouble thats all. I think ye have the talent to beat Lifford on sun but not the toughness if its a battle.
However fair play to Corofin, Olympic and Moher could show up a few more premier teams in the Cup yet.
sorry loose cannon. dat bookies only give odds on the premier league and the cup... but i have been known to be wrong so don't take it as gospel!Originally Posted by loose cannon
Nevermind it was just the cup odds i was after. I Suppose Avenue and yourselves are favourites. Plastic Pitch what odds are ye?
I heard half the Newtown team is missing for the Lifford match including Noel Donnellan and the other half have a function on so Lifford will stroll it on Sunday??Some commitment!!!!They are worse than playing a country team with a load of GAA heads so you dont know from week to week who you are playing!!This is hardly fair to Avenue or the Bridge not to mention that they will be back in the relegation battle after losing.Originally Posted by myleftfoot