A 2-1 win.So why 1-4 in the last one???Originally Posted by papa-j
do you not trust your sources? By the way did you hear about the Newtown v Newmarket matches 2 weeks previous & a few months ago? The old/young lads played in them aswell.Originally Posted by manalishi
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
A 2-1 win.So why 1-4 in the last one???Originally Posted by papa-j
yes a 2-1 win & a 4-1 win previous to this. Bad day out on last occasion.Originally Posted by manalishi
Point is you have made a statement slagging off Newtown players based on one match. Next time get the facts right before hiding behind a login & slagging off people.
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
So was the score not 1-4 and were Newtown good and Newmarket had Rinaldo playing for them??Is he not illegal??Where was the 2-1 victory played??Was that not in the away ground in the Munster Cup??Originally Posted by papa-j
ce? i no speaka da jibberish! Newmarket have beaten Newtown for the first time in a few years, fair play to them. They deserved it on the day. End of, goodbye!Originally Posted by manalishi
I'd have to disagree....what would you call that sh!t you were talkin on the bus home from killarney then ey? hehehehe.....Originally Posted by papa-j
Last edited by Spudd; 05/01/2006 at 9:26 PM.
Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..
Hail Hail!!
Who's Rinaldo???Is he from newmarket??Originally Posted by manalishi
Spudd / Tommy , I dont rightly remember due to being slightly intoxicated. But I do remember the likes of yourselves( me included) hangin over the back of bus seats & roaring out rebel songs. That lad from Newmarket was very funny tooOriginally Posted by tommy
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 07/01/06
Clare U17 Soccer League
Turnpike Rovers 1 Connolly Celtic 3
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
St.Pats (P-P) Newtown
Lifford 4 Hermitage 2
Moher Celtic 1 Cratloe Celtic 1
Newmarket Celtic 2 Bridge United 0
Sunday 08/01/06
Oscar Traynor Cup First Round
Cork A.U.L. 1 Clare 1
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Mountshannon Celtic 0 Cratloe Celtic 1
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Burren United 1 Rock Rovers 0
Moher Celtic 2 Hermitage 1
Connolly Celtic 1 Avenue United B 3
SEL Print Second Division League
Kilrush Rangers 1 Bridge United B 1
Kildysart Celtic 2 Turnpike Rovers 1
Cooraclare Celtic 1 Shannon Olympic B 1
Ennistymon Town 2 St.Pats A 2
Suttons Lightings Third Division League
Rinnanna Rovers B 1 Rhine Rovers 3
Lifford B 3 Newmarket Celtic B 2
St.Pats B (P-P) Bridge Celtic B
Newtown B 7 Manus Celtic 2
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 14/01/06
Clare U17 Soccer League
Bunratty: Bunratty V Turnpike Rovers
P.Markham 2.00
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Fairgreen: Hermitage V Moher Celtic
P.Markham 11.00
Sunday 15/01/06
Munster Senior Cup 2nd Round
Ballinhassig Cork: Ballinhassig V Avenue United
Cork Officials 2.00
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Newmarket Celtic A D.McCarthy 11.00
Lees Road Pitch 4: Cratloe Celtic V Bunratty
P.Markham 10.30
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Newtown A
P.Mulready 11.00
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers A V Mountshannon Celtic D.McCarthy 2.00
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Burren United
J.Stanford 11.00
Corofin: Corofin Harps V Hermitage
A.Murphy 2.00
Liscannor: Moher Celtic V Rock Rovers
P.Markham 2.00
Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Avenue United B A.Murphy 11.00
Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Connolly Celtic
J.Stanford 2.30
SEL Print Second Division League
Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Cooraclare Celtic
Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Kilrush Rangers
F.Coote 11.00
Lees Road Pitch 2: Turnpike Rovers V Shannon Olympic B 2.00
Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Bridge United B
N.Bennett 2.30
Kilkee: Kilkee V Kildysart Celtic
F.Coote 2.30
Suttons Lightings Third Division League
Quin: Rhine Rovers V St.Pats B
Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic B V Rinnanna Rovers B 11.00
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic V Newtown B
P.Mulready 1.30
Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Lifford B
OSCAR TRAYNOR
does anyone know if Clare beat cork yesterday in the OT?
Clare scored in the last minute to get a 1-1 draw. Supposed to be a deserved result though. S. Lawlor got the goal for Clare.Originally Posted by OpenGoal
Are they still in the competition or what???
Heard Clare were the better side for first half but were lucky in the end to equalise. Mike Heath had great game in goal pulled off a few wonderful saves. Could have been two or three nil if it wasnt for him. Rochford and Davy Wall played very well but rest were only average. You cant expect to win if you don't pick the best players from the premier. How come only one Lifford player in the side and we are the best team in Clare still on top of the premier. McNaboe travelled all the way to Cork but didnt even make the subs bench - a disgrace. Some guy from Corofin brought on - they are not even in the premier. Same thing happened with other Lifford players last year like Anton, Colm Quigley and Damien Quirke.
I heard they had a strong team out, of course there are going to be disappointed players. There has been a trend in the past however that the top Premier teams (with the exception of Avenue) are poorly represented on OT. In 2003 Bridge United won the league and had no representative on Oscar Traynor. Seems to be the same with Lifford this year or is this being harsh on the lads who played. Team seemed strong enough from what I heard.
Heath, Fahy, Rochford,?, ?, Lawlor, O'Malley, ?, ?, Wall, O'Connell. (missing four)
Totally agree, the year before 2003 there seemed to be a better mix apart from the Bunratty fallout, If I recall there was at least 4 Bridge lads called upOriginally Posted by Prem Rep!
4 you are missing are...Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
Paul OConnor... Olympic
John Ryan....Olympic
Jocks...Rineanna
Eamonn O'Reilly...Avenue.
4 or 5 subs came on... 1 from Corofin, Trev Twoomey, Dan Ahearne.
Strong enough side so. I know Billy Maxwell also came on in the second half. From what I hear the biggest gripe about Sundays selection was that there were lads playing who hadn't been training. I have no idea of who these may be but I do know that numbers for training were poor enough over the Xmas. (this is to be expected i guess)
Clare were lucky enough to get a draw in the end but over the 90 mins it was a fair result. Clare in control in first half without creating too much. Cork totally dominant for most of 2nd half. Clare lost their discipline and shape after the Cork goal and could have paid the price. The positives were the defence which looked very solid throughout despite coming under huge pressure in 2nd half. Mike Heath very safe made one outstanding save from a free-kick. unfairly criticised in my opinion for the Cork goal. Also made one or two clearances outside the box in the 2nd half when Clare were under real pressure. Rochford absolutely outstanding in front of him. Havent seen a better defensive performance. Cant remember him missing a tackle or losing a header all day. Kept Clare in the game in the 2nd half and was always driving them on from the back. Beside him Pat Fahy was very solid - very unlucky (strange decision) to be taken off. O'Connor and O'Reilly can be very pleased with first games for Clare although they tired a little in the 2nd half. Midfield was scrappy and the Clare lads did ok without creating a lot apart from Lawlors late strike which was class. Clare began to lose control when Jocks got tired. Ger O'Connell was lively and worked hard up front. Davy Wall wasn't in the game much but still produced two moments of magic with two fantastic shots- one saved and one off a post. Great to have a player like that who can be in and out of the game but still create something out of nothing. Billy Maxwell also did well when he came on. Overall a good days work but would need to improve if came up against teams like Limerick.
Heath 8, Fahy 7, Rochford 9 OReilly7 OConnor 7, Ryan 6, OMalley6, Jocks 7, lawlor 8, O'Connell 7, Wall 8.
PS anyone know why Davy Hogan (Bunratty), Anton Manning (lifford) and Tom Carmody from last years team not playing? Surely these guys are still good enough.
Originally Posted by myleftfoot
Davy Hogan not selected...
I'm surprised Mike Devitt from Newmarket is not on the panel either. Experienced OT player and surely good enough to make the panel anyway.
I believe its Skibereen Sunday week for the next game?????