Results 2,101 to 2,120 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    newtown won 2-1 after extra time. very scrappy match, no football played. difference between the teams was davy walls clinical finishing. also, i thought the referee was poor. didnt let the game flow, was a bit too whistle happy. all in all, was pretty sh*t but fair play to newtown and best of luck in the next round.
    agree davy wall was the difference. big noel didn't lose a header all game at the back also. oly keeper was in good form. newtown keeper that comes under fire saved newtown in et 2 good saves. i thought the ref was quiet good especially in et. for instance the penalty kick oly where looking for. he booked the oly player and gave a free out. right decision as well. he blew a couple of offsides which i thought were right (couldn't judge one that newtown where giving out about, but willing to give ref the nod as he didn't get much wrong in the game) newtown are away to nenagh celtic so could easily progress. it would be good for clare soccer if newtown and avenue could get to 1/4 and hopfully bridge cel can get there in fai as well.
    ps why wasn't the man joey starting??????????
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    newtown won 2-1 after extra time. very scrappy match, no football played. difference between the teams was davy walls clinical finishing. also, i thought the referee was poor. didnt let the game flow, was a bit too whistle happy. all in all, was pretty sh*t but fair play to newtown and best of luck in the next round.
    I agree , it was never going to be a classic..too much at stake. Both sides were cagey. Set pieces from both sides were the main threat. Some good battles around the pitch. Fairly even overall but Newtown had a bit more possession & a few more chances. It was tight but the result was just about right.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Joey was just back from a back injury, hadnt trained for 2-3 weeks so he started on the bench.

Had to be a penalty for olympic that time!!! (or at least an oscar :-) )

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    I agree , it was never going to be a classic..too much at stake. Both sides were cagey. Set pieces from both sides were the main threat. Some good battles around the pitch. Fairly even overall but Newtown had a bit more possession & a few more chances. It was tight but the result was just about right.
    Yeah, Newtown just about desereved it. The more experienced lads showed great heart. Agree donellan very strong in the air all day. pity the game never got going from a footballing perspective but you get that in cup derbies!

This might be a stupid question but has there ever been a clare team in the munster senior league?
    If so,who?
    If not,why?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd
    This might be a stupid question but has there ever been a clare team in the munster senior league?
    If so,who?
    If not,why?
    no there never ever was a clare team in the munster senior. i know avenue were invited to join the connaught senior league years back and accepted but were turned down when they applied. where told to join munster senior but wasn't viable travel wise. most games were cork and further where as galway area would have been majority of other games.

while on the subject whats the thought of a clare u21 team. i think we could do like kerry, pull from all teams. play in digi. who knows it could be the start of a league of ireland team setting up in clare in ther future?????????????? also could be a shop window for promising under age to get spotted by bigger clubs?????
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

fixtures & xmas break

anybody got fixtures for next weekend 16th/ 17th dec

and any word when league will be finishing for winter break

You can find the fixtures on clareleague.com

Fixtures...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 17/12/05
    Clare InterYouths League Cup
    Digifone Park: Clare V North Tipperary
    Referee: P.Markham 2.30
    Assistant Referees: F.Coote, A.Murphy

Sunday 18/12/05
    F.A.I. Junior Cup 5h Round

Lee Estate Limerick: Star Rovers V Bridge Celtic
    Limerick Officials 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers A V Avenue United A
    P.Mulready 11.00

Bunratty: Bunratty V Bridge United A
    P.Cullen 11.00

Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic A V Newtown A
    D.McCarthy 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford A V Cratloe Celtic
    P.Markham 2.30

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
    Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Corofin Harps
    J.Stanford 2.30

Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United B V Hermitage
    D.McCarthy 2.30

Mullagh: Burren United V Moher Celtic
    F.Coote 2.30

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Kilmaley United A.Murphy 2.30

SEL Print Second Division League
    Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Kildysart Celtic
    P.Markham 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Kilkee J.Stanford 11.30

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Ennistymon Town
    A.Murphy 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 1: Turnpike Rovers V St.Pats A
    F.Coote 11.00

Suttons Lightings Third Division League
    Quin: Rhine Rovers V Newmarket Celtic B

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Lifford B

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V St.Pats B

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Inch Crusaders

Note: The C.D.S.L would like to wish its Players, Referees, Sponsors & Supporters a happy Christmas and peaceful New Year. Games will commence again on Sunday 08/01/2006

Shannon Olympic 3 - 0 Corofin

OG
    Hanley
    O'Neill

Any other results from the 1st??

Sorry

Shannon olympic 3 - 1 Corofin

Weekend Results

Taken from Clare Fm

Rinnanna Rovers A 1-1 Avenue United A
    Bunratty 2-3 Bridge United A
    Newmarket Celtic A 4-1 Newtown A
    Lifford A 2-1 Cratloe Celtic

Shannon Olympic A 3-1 Corofin Harps
    Avenue United B 2-2 Hermitage
    Burren United 4-1 Moher Celtic
    Connolly Celtic 0-0 Kilmaley United

Tulla United Kildysart Celtic
    Bridge United B 5-2 Kilkee
    Shannon Olympic B 1-1 Ennistymon Town
    Turnpike Rovers 6-1 St. Pats A
    Rhine Rovers 1-2 Newmarket Celtic B
    Newtown B pp Lifford B

christmas break

merry christmas & best wishes for the new year for all your clubs
    don't drink & eat to much think of all the extra training in january

Youths and u-17 Leagues Tables

Why are there no Youths and under 17 League tables published anywhere????

Fixtures

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 07/01/06
    Clare U17 Soccer League
    Lees Road Pitch 4: Turnpike Rovers V Connolly Celtic J.Deniffee 2.30

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Kilmhill: St.Pats V Newtown
    F.Coote 2.30

Ruan: Lifford V Hermitage
    J.Stanford 2.30

Liscannor: Moher Celtic V Cratloe Celtic
    P.Markham 2.30

Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic V Bridge United
    A.Murphy 11.00

Sunday 08/01/06
    Oscar Traynor Cup First Round
    Casement Park Cork: Cork A.U.L. V Clare
    Cork Officials 2.00

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Cratloe Celtic
    P.Sutton 11.00

Mullagh: Burren United V Rock Rovers
    D.McCarthy 11.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic V Hermitage
    P.Markham 2.30

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Avenue United B P.Gleeson 2.30

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Bridge United B
    F.Coote 2.30

Kildysart: Kildysart Celtic V Turnpike Rovers
    P.Mulready 11.00

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Shannon Olympic B P.Cullen 11.00

Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V St.Pats A
    P.Gleeson 11.00

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers B V Rhine Rovers
    A.Murphy 1.30

Lees Road Pitch 1: Lifford B V Newmarket Celtic B
    J.Deniffee 2.30

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Bridge Celtic B
    J.Stanford 2.30

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Manus Celtic
    A.Murphy 11.00

word has it davy wall is heading back to limerick pike

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1
    word has it davy wall is heading back to limerick pike
    He only transferred to Newtown a few weeks back so what can have happened that's making him leave?????

I seriously doubt he is going anywhere....

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    He only transferred to Newtown a few weeks back so what can have happened that's making him leave?????

I seriously doubt he is going anywhere....

Maybe he realised how bad Newtown are.I heard they were a joke against a poor Newmarket team that kicked them off the stubble field??The old boys are fat,on the **** and only good enough for the B team while the young guys
    suffer from noheart disease????

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi
    Maybe he realised how bad Newtown are.I heard they were a joke against a poor Newmarket team that kicked them off the stubble field??The old boys are fat,on the **** and only good enough for the B team while the young guys
    suffer from noheart disease????
    your knowledge of local football & particularly Newtown astounds me. Ever think of writing articles and match reports for any papers??
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Question

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    your knowledge of local football & particularly Newtown astounds me. Ever think of writing articles and match reports for any papers??
    So is it true,is he going and was what I heard about the Newmarket match RIGHT????