3. paul Dinan (lifford)
    4. Brian O'Connor(olympic)
    5. daniel (bridge cel)
    6. davy Wall(newtown)
    7 O'Malley(newmarket)
    8. Canny(kilkishen)
    9 black haired lad(corofin)
    10. Carmody(inch ithink)

Feel free to correct me anyone, i think they are correct.
    b rochford started first match and padraig started second half
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    suprisinly bumby.??????????????????????????????????????????
    when the game was over there was a groundsman (i presume) out cutting the grass????? the pitch was cut up from match that was on at 11. was divots replaced before lifford match??????????????????? rolled etc. actually were they replaced or any ground repair after lifford match??? how many games has been played on this pitch since last season?????????
    dont be surprised. imagine if it was used every week.
    ps what 2nd half incident) thought there was a few late tackles (from both sides) that were let go but didn't see anything major
    #
    dont know if you agree or disagree clifford with bumpy pitch... and i' not trying to make excuses if you think i am...
    incident im refferring to is when ave player got hurt lifford goalie kicked ball out and then after throw in ave player kicked it out deep in lifford half... that was un sporting.... agree/disagree??

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    I dont know them all but i'll make a guess

1st half:

1. Bridge celtic keeper
    2. Pa Fahy(rinnenna)
    4. Paul O'Connor (olympic)
    6. davy Wall (Newtown)
    7. O'malley(Newmarket)
    8. J. Ryan( Olympic)
    9. Trevor twoomey(bunratty)
    10. Ger O'Connell(Bridge Cel)

2nd half

2. maxwell(sixmilebridge)
    3. paul Dinan (lifford)
    4. Brian O'Connor(olympic)
    5. daniel (bridge cel)
    6. davy Wall(newtown)
    7 O'Malley(newmarket)
    8. Canny(kilkishen)
    9 black haired lad(corofin)
    10. Carmody(inch ithink)

Feel free to correct me anyone, i think they are correct.
    Bridge Celtic Keeper is Adrian Dhuaig
    Daniel Aherne is Bridge Celtic player in midfield.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch
    #
    dont know if you agree or disagree clifford with bumpy pitch... and i' not trying to make excuses if you think i am...
    incident im refferring to is when ave player got hurt lifford goalie kicked ball out and then after throw in ave player kicked it out deep in lifford half... that was un sporting.... agree/disagree??
    i know your not using it as an excuse and i agree with state of pitch. shocking condition for so little games on it. there was a guy cutting it after the game honest. no repairs done etc i am not a landscaper but surely you cut the grass before a game and repair it after??????????
    i saw that and asked what the story was, was actually not impressed myself, until told why they did it.
    the reason for that happening was lifford did it to avenue in the first half. (i missed that incident, but some of the players were annoyed by it but will investigate further, r did u see it plasticpitch)
    avenue had a throw back just before half time and he gave it back to the keeper and the thrower was giving out to for not throwing it over the endline or out for another throw.
    so when your keeper kicked it out instead of throwing it back into the corner avenue player kicked it out for a throw?
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

congrtas to colm ryan olympic A for their strong start but i think they have a lot more in the locker than they are currently showing. lets hope they will be promoted to he premier this year and not fall away like they always seem to do. no excuses this time lads you have a talented squad there and shud get out of the devision.

anyway best of luck for the season

good to see davy wall back playing in clare. easily the best player in the county. newtown should vastly improve after a morale boosting win over st. brendans in terrible conditions. if davy had been there im sure newtown would have been there or there abouts this season as they have a talented young squad and shud now kick on to finish mid-table again

Quote Originally Posted by el_nino84
    good to see davy wall back playing in clare. easily the best player in the county. newtown should vastly improve after a morale boosting win over st. brendans in terrible conditions. if davy had been there im sure newtown would have been there or there abouts this season as they have a talented young squad and shud now kick on to finish mid-table again
    Kick on to finish mid table i can see them all now busting a gut down training..........

b rochford started first match and padraig started second half
    rochford is the only avenue player on squad !! were are the rest
    or is a case of everybody else trying their best in training & friendlys
    and then hughie kelly picks 4-5 avenue lads for competive match

nothing personal here but i still think only players in preimer
    league should be picked for oscar traynor ... anybody else agree

I completely disagree. The oscar traynor squad should be a collection of the BEST players in the entire league, whatever the division. some of the lower teams in the premier are weaker than the top of the first so i dont understand your comments.

I share your bewliderment at the lack of Avenue(& Lifford) players on the squad. Arent they the top two in the premier???

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    I completely disagree. The oscar traynor squad should be a collection of the BEST players in the entire league, whatever the division. some of the lower teams in the premier are weaker than the top of the first so i dont understand your comments.

I share your bewliderment at the lack of Avenue(& Lifford) players on the squad. Arent they the top two in the premier???
    WOULD DISAGREE WITH YOU ON BEST PLAYERS IN ENTIRE LEAGUE
    IF PLAYERS ARE SO GOOD IN LOWER LEAGUES WHY ARE THEY STILL THERE.. ALSO A GOOD PLAYER IN 1ST / 2ND LEAGUE MAY NOT BE SUCH A GOOD PLAYER WHEN HE COMES UP AGAINST BETTER PLAYERS WHO ARE PLAYING AT A HIGHER LEVEL .... I STILL THINK
    THAT YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PICK 20 PLAYERS OUT OF THE PREIMER LEAGUE NO PROBLEM ... I COULD NEARLY PICK 20 FROM AVENUE/ LIFFORD / NEWTOWN / NEWMARKET / BRIDGE UTD ALONE .... AS FOR AVENUE / LIFFORD
    LETS SEE HOW MANY MAKE STARTING 11 ON FIRST OSCAR TRAYNOR MATCH WITHOUT EVEN HAVING TO ATTEND TRAINING SESSIONS !!
    Last edited by old boy; 18/11/2005 at 9:31 AM.

I have to agree with the Robust open goal here, of course the Clare team should be picked from the best players in the county regardless of what division they are in. Your theory is nonsense, actually its insulting.

"you are only as strong as your weakest link"

The reason teams are in a lower division is because they do not have quality throughout their sides. The top players at most clubs are quality(whatever division), and in the top clubs that quality permeates throughout the squad. This does not mean that ALL premier division players are neccessarliy better than ALL first(or lower) division players. I think you are overestimating the gap in quality between the divisions old boy. In practice, most county players would probably come from the premier, but to say that they should ONLY be from the premier is a bit stupid.

Case in point, that guy Carmody scored a nice goal the other night (I think) and he's playing for Inch Crusaders in the 3rd Division. Some people want to play football for their home town or with their mates. It doesn't make them any less of a player.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leftie
    Case in point, that guy Carmody scored a nice goal the other night (I think) and he's playing for Inch Crusaders in the 3rd Division. Some people want to play football for their home town or with their mates. It doesn't make them any less of a player.
    i think there is three avenue players. eamonn o 'reilly, brendan rochford and padraig vaughan on the oscar panel. thats all that was asked as far as i am aware. i know there is 4 or 5 more good enough to get on that panel from avenue A team. there is also 2 or 3 from avenue B team that i think would make panel if not the team. (cossie, ritchie fitz and horse davitt {if he was bit fitter})
    also this thing about team been picked from premier is a load of ********. if you r good enough it shouldn't matter who you play for. you can have a crap team but one player might be quality. should he not be given a chance?

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    rochford is the only avenue player on squad !! were are the rest
    or is a case of everybody else trying their best in training & friendlys
    and then hughie kelly picks 4-5 avenue lads for competive match

nothing personal here but i still think only players in preimer
    league should be picked for oscar traynor ... anybody else agree
    is that avenue players fault if that happens. that would be up to hugh, but if you don't train u shouldn't be played, no matter who it is. he has picked 3 avenue players and all were preasent on night in question. they had just done 2 hours training with avenue in lees road and then stayed on for oscar match.

Suprising that Monnie wasnt picked. Are both Devitts playing for Avenue now i thought it was only Deccie.

Are they the devitt brothers from newmarket?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

i think there is three avenue players. eamonn o 'reilly, brendan rochford and padraig vaughan on the oscar panel. thats all that was asked as far as i am aware. i know there is 4 or 5 more good enough to get on that panel from avenue A team. there is also 2 or 3 from avenue B team that i think would make panel if not the team. (cossie, ritchie fitz and horse davitt {if he was bit fitter})
    also this thing about team been picked from premier is a load of ********. if you r good enough it shouldn't matter who you play for. you can have a crap team but one player might be quality. should he not be given a chance?
    so you are honestly telling me some of the lower division players
    picked are better than the preimer players who were not picked
    going on ure reply above avenue should have at least 8 on panel..

i will agree that there is some good players out there in lower leagues.... but still cannot understand how some preimer players are not even considerd for oscar traynor

Quote Originally Posted by loose cannon
    I have to agree with the Robust open goal here, of course the Clare team should be picked from the best players in the county regardless of what division they are in. Your theory is nonsense, actually its insulting.
    so you would agree that nobody in preimer league
    is a better player than carmody of inch crusaders in 3rd division
    p.s. this is not a dig a carmody either ... just trying to get a point across ..

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    They are not considered because of the manager.He has managed a few clubs in clare and has fallen out with the lot of them.They wont win the oscar trainer this year and then he will be gone.
    there is a few i know that won't play. (past and present) bit like wales saga.
    in fairness to hugh he cant make them give commitment all he can do is ask. i'd prefer to see someone playing that is 100% committed to the cause.
    (breaking news lads keane has left man utd mutual consent)