INCORRECT ITS AN END OF SEASON COMPETITION AND ON OCCASION IS PLAYED WHEN THE SEASON IS FINISHING OFF SO MAYBE YOU CAN UNDERSTAND THE OBJECTION CLEAREROriginally Posted by shelbourne1904
On this subject,did anyone see the new GAA Player Club Exemption Form from the League yet?To be fair its fairly detailed and anyone who gets this staus deserves it as it will take ages to fill out.Originally Posted by BallBreaker
INCORRECT ITS AN END OF SEASON COMPETITION AND ON OCCASION IS PLAYED WHEN THE SEASON IS FINISHING OFF SO MAYBE YOU CAN UNDERSTAND THE OBJECTION CLEAREROriginally Posted by shelbourne1904
a bit of a lottery after season is finished ,, some clubs may have players that are leaving or just retiring.... would it not be betterOriginally Posted by riverside
for a team to use what ever players they have from last season / new season![]()
Check the dates it took place over the last 3 years.My areguement is that ,as it is in memory of a man who was dedicated to football it should maintain its importance,but if its last years season it should be played as close to last season as possible not closer to next season.as has become the practice now!!!Originally Posted by riverside
So what teams are we expecting to see parading their "skills" this year???
Shannon Towm A,B,C
Park Rangers A,B,C
Olympic A,B
Newtown A,B
Any others? Do bunratty, rinnenna, etc get involved in this, i cant remember?
it was originally just for shannon teams only... not sure if rinneanna / bunraty are involved now ... have not even watched any of the last 2 years competion ... it seems to be dying a death a couple of years back this was the best cup to win nearly even better than winning your own league ... and always was very competive matchs with local pride at stakeOriginally Posted by OpenGoal
we got kicked out of it 2 years ago because we beat shannon town b 13-1 and we had 2 players who just signd with us playing so they kicked us out sayn that we had 2 players who warnt playing in the bunratty team the year before so there kicking us out...that was the sad'st thing i ever herd like its a joke havn rules like that!!!![]()
It was always meant to be a tournament for shannon teams though, so i suppose ye probably we always going to suffer the wrath of some malcontent up in shannon town anyway. What kind of a season did shannon town have anyway? Still mid-tabling in 1A ???
I think Shannon Town tumbled down to 1B after their stint in the premier. They were however in a playoff for promotion back to 1A a few weeks back. Did anyone hear how they got on?Originally Posted by OpenGoal
On the rules of the Wesely Webb I do think its a bit harsh that its played at the beginning of 1 season and players from the previous season have to play. Does not always prove possible.
When HK was our manager he played 2 of the "new crop" and we got a 2 year suspension. We knew the situation though and at the end of the day I suppose rules are rules...
Did Newtown get a 2 year suspensionthey played Dean Richter and Davy Wall "illegally" a few years back?Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
They musnt have because they were considering withdrawing from the next year but played anyway.Does that suspension only seem to apply to clubs outside Shannon!!!!!Originally Posted by oldspice
Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
Shannon town actually won division 1B they went on an eigt game unbeaten run to overtake the long term leaders coonagh ..Fair play to them ...back in 1A next year
The Wesley Webb tournament was always meant to be an end of season competition and with the Shannon teams only involved.Initially it was a fiercely competitive tournament. Unfortunately it is not always played in that period and drifts,causing problems for all.Indiscretions by some clubs have meant that Bunratty and S.D.C. were expelled. ShannonTown need to review the reasons why they run the tournament as it is in memory of a man that gave them great service and should not be forgotten for the principles he proudly promoted with them. Oldspice and cousinsyl and opengoal and a few more, might just be too young to remember him but are well informed locally and seem popular enough with the rest of the contributers so get on to them and spread the word, GET THE WESLEY WEBB BACK TO THE STATUS IT WAS, INCLUDING ALL OFTHE TEAMS FROM THE LOCALITY.
By the way S. Town won Div. 1b last week
Agreed on the fact that Wesley Webbs name needs to be honored properly.The problem is Shannon Town leaving it too late too run it and then coming across with this "official" rubbish.If they were official theyd run it at the corrrect time and the problems would not arise in the first place.Originally Posted by riverside
If you are a S. Town Member let them know your feelings at the A.G.M or through a committe member and get more of the members to support the idea of promoting the tournament for what its supposed to beOriginally Posted by shelbourne1904
Last edited by riverside; 02/06/2005 at 11:14 AM. Reason: mispelling
you need to be a big drinker in the crossroads to meet shannon town committe membersOriginally Posted by riverside
totally agree tournament should be promoted better but suppose this is really up to shannon town![]()
Of course you are right, all we need is for all or any of the S. Town contributing to this forum to have the b...ls to raise the issue and get the ball rollingOriginally Posted by old boy
Do any of you know the outcome of the list of recomendations sent to the Premier clubs which came from the League for this years premier??
is there any newmarket lads here..what's tha story with holly's tour what date is it on?...and will it be played in bunratty again this year??
Lads,
Do you know that the Limerick League still isnt over yet??
And we think we have it bad??