Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Hello All

I have been asked to post a reply , about the Lombardo in goal for Rineanna last night. A certain member of the Rineanna team ( currently injured ) asked the question , who is the goal keeper and the number 7!!!!!!!!, when he hobbled in to Newtown last night.
    I don't want to start a conspriacy but Rineanna have a great record of finding players that no one has ever seen before.
    Maybe Tommy needs to get a scouting job from 1 of the big boys across the water.

Just another observation , I have been away for a while but the standard has really dropped , it says alot when the opinion is that Jimmy houlihan is the "best ball carrier in the county". He has the first touch of a rapist.

rineanna v olympic

fair play olympian .. for coming on about last night match... would have to disagree tactics,,, ye should have went for it in the last 10 mins might have as well lost 2-0 / 3-0 ye sent up wrong centre half in the end ,, cannot remember his name paul i think took all goal kicks / free kicks at back he should have went up front

were was big derek collins (gazza ) when you needed him

first . hello all

Quote Originally Posted by First
    Hello All

I have been asked to post a reply , about the Lombardo in goal for Rineanna last night. A certain member of the Rineanna team ( currently injured ) asked the question , who is the goal keeper and the number 7!!!!!!!!, when he hobbled in to Newtown last night.
    I don't want to start a conspriacy but Rineanna have a great record of finding players that no one has ever seen before.
    Maybe Tommy needs to get a scouting job from 1 of the big boys across the water.

Just another observation , I have been away for a while but the standard has really dropped , it says alot when the opinion is that Jimmy houlihan is the "best ball carrier in the county". He has the first touch of a rapist.
    would have to agree with you on standard it has really dropped even the top teams in premier are not impresive
    as for jimmy houlihan did he not leave a double winning bunratty a to join olympic says a lot about his commitment & ambition

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    as for jimmy houlihan did he not leave a double winning bunratty a to join olympic says a lot about his commitment & ambition

Just wanna state that when Jimmy Houlihan was a Rat he always gave 110% and total commitment. He was one of the main reasons we won a double last year. It was very disappointing to see him go but he had his reasons for leaving.

As for his 1st touch being compared to that of a rapist... I'm afraid I've never had the experience of a rapists 1st touch like our new friend First so that I cannot comment on... I have however witnessed Jimmy's 1st touch with a football and it would be a strong point of his game in my opinion.

From watching last nights game, I have to say that Jimmy wasn't the only Olympic player that lacked ambition last night. As for Rineanna there ambition was fulfilled again last night. " Lets just survive". Its a shame to see the clare leagues better players are all moving into limerick, Mike O'Malley, Davy Wall , Martin O' Neill. As I said earlier I have been away for a while , but is it true that there was no youths team in Shannon this season. If this is so good bye the Clare league.

For a young fellow its a shame to see him giving it up.
    You must also feel for the lads on the line who can also see his lack of interest. Was he too good to take off . Not on last nights showing.

And where is Gazza , a true gentleman and a fighter. He wouldn't have shirked the tackles that i seen some of the olympic boys pulling out of last night.

Football is a simple game , keep the ball and pass it.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker
    maybe ye should all stop having a go at jimmy...the fact that he was on that bunratty side says it all about him...as for ambition if a fella doesn.t want to play serious football why knock him for that surely it is his choice..as for the match last night have to say all though donnacha is a great player..his injury slowed him down last night and where i could understand his passion in wanting to stay on olympic had a lad 6ft something on the bench..could have thrown him upfront for last ten minutes at least..

He would surely have been a better option that the center half they threw up front for the last 10. I was thinking they would throw Osi up there but he is lethal from 60 yards from goal as we learned in Bunratty.....

For a young fellow its a shame to see him giving it up.
    You must also feel for the lads on the line who can also see his lack of interest. Was he too good to take off . Not on last nights showing.

And where is Gazza , a true gentleman and a fighter. He wouldn't have shirked the tackles that i seen some of the olympic boys pulling out of last night.

Football is a simple game , keep the ball and pass it.
    have to agree ,,, jocks & pat fahy would have earned their win last night if gazza was about at least he would have had a go !!!

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    have to agree ,,, jocks & pat fahy would have earned their win last night if gazza was about at least he would have had a go !!!
    Gazzie is on his holidays unfortunately otherwise he definately would've been in the team.

It's great to see Jocks back , a great player

a great player but wasted at centre half .. but good to see him back

Re JH please lets not slag off players for lack of commitment etc. At least he is getting off his a*se every Sunday & doing something positive. Hes a good player & at the age where even the most committed waver a little in favour of a few pints & skirt chasing. A player with his talent will come good again.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    Re JH please lets not slag off players for lack of commitment etc. At least he is getting off his a*se every Sunday & doing something positive. Hes a good player & at the age where even the most committed waver a little in favour of a few pints & skirt chasing. A player with his talent will come good again.
    maybee it is a good thing we are slagging of players is it we expect
    more of players with good ability & skill ,, still must add there was worst players on olympic than jimmy houlihan..

Smile standard

i believe the standard isnt great at present but it doesnt help when ya have your better players headin off to limerick! surely if they didnt do this the league would be more competitive! also i think the league should be played on saturdays! not mentioning any names but there would be a lot better performances if players were actually sobered up when playing! i for one love playin soccer but also like my saturday nights! i know i play way worse when you have(had) to go back to windy moher for 11 on sunday after been hammered nite before! why not play saturdays and enjoy the nigth and sleep in after it! id say that could tempt nabs back from the lim league! somethin needs to be done! also think premier league should be enlarged! and started earlier in aug with x mass break!

Quote Originally Posted by number?
    i believe the standard isnt great at present but it doesnt help when ya have your better players headin off to limerick! surely if they didnt do this the league would be more competitive! also i think the league should be played on saturdays! not mentioning any names but there would be a lot better performances if players were actually sobered up when playing! i for one love playin soccer but also like my saturday nights! i know i play way worse when you have(had) to go back to windy moher for 11 on sunday after been hammered nite before! why not play saturdays and enjoy the nigth and sleep in after it! id say that could tempt nabs back from the lim league! somethin needs to be done! also think premier league should be enlarged! and started earlier in aug with x mass break!
    WOULD AGREE WITH STARTING LEAGUE EARLIER & A BREAK FOR XMAS
    BUT IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AS IT WOULD CLASH WITH HURLING / FOOTBALL SEASONS !! . CANNOT SEE SATURDAY SOCCER HAPPENING EITHER ,,, SUPPOSE IT IS UP TO EVERY PLAYER IF THEY WANT TO GET HAMMERED ON A SATURDAY NIGHT ,,, WE ARE ALL PLAYING FOR THE ENJOYMENT & OK WINNING WOULD BE A BONUS

saturday soccer

think the tables would be difernt if league was played on a saturday! young players are gonna want to go out on a saturday night after week of college or work! just feel the league tables would give a truer picture of how good each team was rather than it does been played on sundays! ya it is tru bout startin earlier clashing with gaa so suppose that cant happen

a real hero and great example to young players

Dont waste our words on mediocre players when we have the one and only Sean Lindsay proving once again what agreat player he is.He scored the winner yesterday from a header(not his greatest skill) to give newtown their third trophy of the season.Captain Noel Donnellan was so proud of him that he asked Sean to accept the cup.Sean left everyone in no doubt as to the fact that he was proud to be playing in Clare again next year with Newtown.
    Afterwards he was awarded First Team Player of the Year and Payers Player of the Year.
    ROLL ON SHANTO

Who did Newtown beat and in what????? Was it in Doora?

Congrats to Sean anyway... Everyone has to admire and respect the long career he has had...

I see the cup final was called off on Saturday evening. Awful news about that 18 year old in Miltown Malbay. Seems he was related to 2 of the Moher lads...

We beat rineanna in the munster area final...was played in rineannas pitch...shows the importance of the cup then ey!
    Dats the 3rd cup won...their only mickey mouse trophys but ey...someones gotta win them!!
    Rather us then ye.

Lindsay the legend

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    Dont waste our words on mediocre players when we have the one and only Sean Lindsay proving once again what agreat player he is.He scored the winner yesterday from a header(not his greatest skill) to give newtown their third trophy of the season.Captain Noel Donnellan was so proud of him that he asked Sean to accept the cup.Sean left everyone in no doubt as to the fact that he was proud to be playing in Clare again next year with Newtown.
    Afterwards he was awarded First Team Player of the Year and Payers Player of the Year.
    ROLL ON SHANTO
    absolute legend - strong, skillful, committed & playing better than ever. The 3 cups Newtown won may not be the biggest prizes..but the hard work in winning these was done a lot earlier in the season & its a great way to finish the season off. Heres to a long break before the pre-season torture begins!!