Results 1,161 to 1,180 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    ..........................as I have said before it should be 3 Divisions but I think that for the good of the game we should be playing the 2 main divisions on a Saturday and the Reserve League on a Sunday!!! Again there was a meeting between four or five prem clubs but nothing has been heard of since, obviously could not agree on anything!!!!
    have to agree with madmick here. saturday football is an excellent idea. Who wants to stay in on a saturday night in their teens/ 20's????[/QUOTE]

Guys thanks for the comments, I feel like a normal person again!!!!!!! So if we have some agreement should we not all pass these comments to our Manager's and Committees of our clubs to put forward to the Clare League. I know I will print this and pass it on for our Club to discuss at our AGM. At the end of the day if we do not change the way things are done they will never change. Role on the Revolution!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    I challenge anyone who thinks they can do a better job to step up to the mark. I have been accused of being too pro Mike Lydon but really why must it be a contest? I happen to think he is doing a good job with very little help (Barry Downes being the one exception).
    In fairness using an SQL database with a Stored Procedure you could quite easily do up a fixture list which could be easily modified to cater for free weekends etc. Well thats what I'd do if I were in charge of fixtures.

Simple & straighforward & none of the manual labour.

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    In fairness using an SQL database with a Stored Procedure you could quite easily do up a fixture list which could be easily modified to cater for free weekends etc. Well thats what I'd do if I were in charge of fixtures.

Simple & straighforward & none of the manual labour.
    With respect to the IT man, doing up a database is the easiest part of it. It becomes difficult when Clubs come in looking for changes here there and everywhere. Mike Lydon currently tries to accomodate clubs when they give him the requisite notice and really, it's difficult for any club to know at the start of a season when they will want a weekend off. However, if he has prepublished all the fixtures and then a club looks for a particular Sunday (or Saturday if Mick has his way) off, their intended opponents may see it as an opportunity to capitalise and insist the fixture goes ahead. From our own point of view, during the season just gone, we had a few occoasions to look for frees, none of which we could have predicted before the season began. I think a master list would cause more problems than it would solve. Perhaps a compromise would be to give suggested dates and then let the clubs involved organise the games, with the proviso that they have the first 5 games played in August, the next 4 played in September etc. It could be a disaster but could also work if it were carefully monitored. Any comments?

Is anyone going along to Hogan park tonight ??

[QUOTE=4-4-2]
    Sorry but we are all doing it in our spare time and while im sorry about anyone who has to go throught a loss such as he did i still think it can be done better and a master list as you call it is very easy to do when you just stick to it, players know when and where they are playing and they can plan around it and i agree with madmick( may i burn for doing so ) you could make money from selling it althought i was thinking more along the lines of a web site or print it in the paper
    Sorry 4-4-2 didn't mean to be smart earlier with the rocket science comment.

I'm sure there are better ways to formulate fixtures and I am also sure that Mike Lydon has explored these avenues. Don't be fooled, it would be much easier and a lot less work for Mike to generate a yearly fixture list and stick to it but would it get the support of all the clubs. I doubt it as most clubs like to have their 2 free weekend system in play.
    Say for example two clubs in the one division apply within the rules for a free weekend on the same weekend. Should that mean that the clubs who they may have been down to play have no game or should they play each other?? Sometimes we have to look at the enviromental and logistical aspects and say that it is easier for a fixtures secretary to organise a league in Ireland and especially Clare with more flexibility or else the league would take 12 mths and not 9.

Madmick, we are struggling for a side tonight but will be ok. Calling a few of the buzzers in.

FAI area Final

Quote Originally Posted by gaffer
    Newtown confidence appears to be on a high at the moment.
    Any predictions for Sunday.
    Newtown 2 - 1 Bridge Celtic
    I think it will be a tough match and too close to call,Celtic have some smashing players,if both play to their potential i think it could be one of the games of the season

3-2to newtown...Lyndsey,Cheeky and James McDade to score the winner

Amalgamation

The Newtown/Park Rangers Amalgamation is offically finished,In 8 months there was a lot of hard and good work done,ther was a steering committee from both clubs elected,it came to a head when P Rangers insisted on their ground being the main one for development and junior soccer and Ballycasey be used for schoolboy football,Newtown felt that this was not the right way to go and proposed that we alternate pitches for Juniors until we got an Independent study done and from that decide where the main facility would be.P Rangers rejected this.
    Newtown could not understand the logic behind this demand as all things would have to be considered like planning permission and so on before anyone could make that decision,also how could we tell junior players to play at Riverside where they have containers for dressingrooms while the schoolboys would have state of the art dressingrooms with showers,again no logic.
    The reason Newtown entered this amalgamation was to improve the standard of soccer in Shannon where we had a dream of bringing national trophies to Shannon,for that dream Newtown do not owe anyone an apology,we have lots of good friends in the Clare league but as a club we had to explore all options open to us and yes we would love Olympic to get promoted to have the real derby back.
    I will answer any question that ye may have as honest as i can.

Can't really understand Parks logic in not wanting to use your facilities.
    Bit odd that.

I've heard that there were quite a few in your club that were not happy with this proposed move & if it had gone ahead, they were even considering setting up another club. Any truth in that rumour.

I can't really see how joining with Park would have improved the standard in Shannon. If people are that concerned about playing in the CFL then why not just sign for Park alltogather??

I'm wondering why newtown believed that an amalgamation with Park would have improved the standard in Shannon. Park already have the better players so where is ye're logic ??

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    Can't really understand Parks logic in not wanting to use your facilities.
    Bit odd that.

I've heard that there were quite a few in your club that were not happy with this proposed move & if it had gone ahead, they were even considering setting up another club. Any truth in that rumour.

I can't really see how joining with Park would have improved the standard in Shannon. If people are that concerned about playing in the CFL then why not just sign for Park alltogather??

I'm wondering why newtown believed that an amalgamation with Park would have improved the standard in Shannon. Park already have the better players so where is ye're logic ??
    I'll answer these as you gave them to me....

Park felt there's were the better facilities.

Yes there were lots of people unhappy about the amalgamation,now i will be looking to these people to bring the club on as they didn't want it to die.There was no way they could set up another club but we may have lost some players to other clubs.

By improving the standard we mean this was 2 big clubs joining together,this would mean the people who run Newtown and also Park speaking from the one book. Part of our plan was to have a schoolboy academy to run all the agegroups from 6 or 7 up with qualified coaches,this would mean you can not take a team unless you have your coaching badge.This would be done over a period of between 5 - 10 years before we would see the improvement.Park haven't the bodies to do this nor have Newtown but together,then there was a chance.Their is not enough kids in Shannon and the surronding areas to go around,i think their is nine clubs within a five mile radius with everyone robbing each other.

If people are honest the Clare league is the worst league in Munster (standard wise) that is why any half decent player with any ambition will play in Limerick and not in Clare,look at parks team,at the moment full of ex Newtown,Bunratty etc,they joined park because they are in the Limerick league,that's why Davy Wall,Mike Malley,Seamie Lawlor,Daryl Eade,David O Grady and so on are all in the Limerick league because of the standard.This New club would have hoped to bring a lot of these back or even if not down the years stopping the exodus that is happening

Very well put together Ballbreaker.Won't say the Clare league is the worst league but it does highlight something is wrong when all ye're best players are leaving to go and play in Limerick.

The Newtown facilities are second to none and would put a lot of limerick clubs to shame.It would have been great to have facilitated ye in the Limerick league next year and maybe ye could have seen a lot of ye're former players return in to ye're fold.

We heard all about ye're attempts to the FAI senior council to get approval for ye're club in to the Limerick league and that showed ye're ambition as a club.

Hang in their Ballbreaker,don't give up on your dream!!!

You're points are well made BallBreaker & I agree with you in saying that the Clare League is probably the worst in Munster. When I say I agree I mean that facilities & how things are run in general are a disgrace. The main reason for this is the power base that the Gaa has in the county.

There are too many teams full of Gaa players just keeping their level of fitness up for the winter. How many teams seasons are ruined every year just because they lose players to the Gaa at vital times.

Junior football in Limerick is only 2nd to Rugby & the standard there is excellent as is proven by their results in the national competitions.

Saying all that there are alot of excellent players who have come out of Clare so the standard of player is there, (Nabs, Davy Wall & Brian Donnellan to name but a few) its just the way the whole thing is run which is wrong. Even from a publicity point of view its a shambles.
    Look at the leader every week & you will see full match reports from alot of the divisions. The champion & clare fm give practically exclusive coverage to the Gaa.

Bunratty, Newtown & Newmarket are the only teams who have decent facilities & even then Newmarkets pitch was a disgrace, but fair play they are sorting it out.

After all that I'm still not so sure that you should be so ready to up & leave your county league. If every team was to have that attitude that would spell the death of the game in alot of the county & with that the loss of alot of potentially excellent players.

Your ideas for having a schoolboy academy are excellent & you should still try & press ahead with that. Jeez I know when I was a young fella I would have loved to have something like that to be involved in. I don't see why you have to join the Limerick league to do that. Why not get involved with the clubs around you & get something like this in motion. After all its for the kids at the end of the day & will benefit the club & the surrounding area in general greatly.

Lifford are doing it in Ennis. Moher are doing it back the West & Newtown could be the hub for the south east of the county. If you can manage to start it you will always get the benefit of retaining the better players as you have the facilities & generally if young lads are treated right they will show a loyalty towards your club.

Of course there are alot of other clubs who need to step up to the mark but Newtown & all credit to ye are in the best position to get it started in Shannon & the surrounding areas.

Ye have done great things in Shannon & fair play to ye cause ye are a credit to yourselves & and example for other clubs to follow but joining the Limerick league may not be in your best interests overall.

I hope all that made some kind of sense.

Smile Newtown

I couldn't have put it better myself,the only thing i will say is the Newtown decision to try to leave Clare was not taken overnight,we 1st tried approx 16 years go,then 2 years ago we went to Munster and lost and went to the fai and also failed,i have the best of time for the people running the clare league like Jim Madden and Michael Lydon and so on but the onus was on them to make sure Clare soccer was getting better scope,i think we missed the boat when we won the oscar traynor thats when we should have made Clare soccer better and got it more coverage.unless things change Clare teams in shannon will be feeder clubs for the LDMC,it is a bit different for the parish teams as they tend to stay together although that 2 might have changed as a few have moved into the limerick league but in general they will return to their parish team.Thanks for the positives and Newtown will continue their dream.

Quote Originally Posted by BallBreaker
    I couldn't have put it better myself,the only thing i will say is the Newtown decision to try to leave Clare was not taken overnight,we 1st tried approx 16 years go,then 2 years ago we went to Munster and lost and went to the fai and also failed,i have the best of time for the people running the clare league like Jim Madden and Michael Lydon and so on but the onus was on them to make sure Clare soccer was getting better scope,i think we missed the boat when we won the oscar traynor thats when we should have made Clare soccer better and got it more coverage.unless things change Clare teams in shannon will be feeder clubs for the LDMC,it is a bit different for the parish teams as they tend to stay together although that 2 might have changed as a few have moved into the limerick league but in general they will return to their parish team.Thanks for the positives and Newtown will continue their dream.

Guys

we are all making good points but the real issue is can the clubs come together outside of the league and have a think tank forum to improve Clare Soccer. This has to be the way ahead, unless we take control we will always be individual clubs fighting each other. the way I see it the following Clubs Avenue, Bridge Utd, Newtown and Newmarket and Bunratty should be driving a think tank by contacting each club(not team) for One of Two reprensentatives and basically writing down each initiative that is brought forward and having a full and forthright discussion to make improvements to all aspects of Clare soccer. Will this happen? I doubt it for many reasons!!!!!

If people are honest the Clare league is the worst league in Munster (standard wise) that is why any half decent player with any ambition will play in Limerick and not in Clare,look at parks team,at the moment full of ex Newtown,Bunratty etc,they joined park because they are in the Limerick league,that's why Davy Wall,Mike Malley,Seamie Lawlor,Daryl Eade,David O Grady and so on are all in the Limerick league because of the standard.This New club would have hoped to bring a lot of these back or even if not down the years stopping the exodus that is happening
    Ballbrwaker,
    I agree with a lot of what you have said and can understand what at times seems to be a desire to improve soccer in Clare. However, you throw it all away with the above quote. How can you possibly claim to be for the betterment of Clare soccer when Newtown have been for years trying to get out of the Clare League and in doing so bring some of our best young players into Limerick. Above you say the "New" club would hope to "bring a lot of these back" or "stop the exodus that is happening". I just can't understand this logic when in my view, you would be actively encouraging them to abandon soccer in Clare. Are you claiming that you would get established in Limerick and then start promoting Clare Soccer? or would you just be providing a further enticement for the best players in the Clare League to join you in a "Better" league in town? Please be honest.

Ballbrwaker,
    I agree with a lot of what you have said and can understand what at times seems to be a desire to improve soccer in Clare. However, you throw it all away with the above quote. How can you possibly claim to be for the betterment of Clare soccer when Newtown have been for years trying to get out of the Clare League and in doing so bring some of our best young players into Limerick. Above you say the "New" club would hope to "bring a lot of these back" or "stop the exodus that is happening". I just can't understand this logic when in my view, you would be actively encouraging them to abandon soccer in Clare. Are you claiming that you would get established in Limerick and then start promoting Clare Soccer? or would you just be providing a further enticement for the best players in the Clare League to join you in a "Better" league in town? Please be honest.
    Well said Oldspice, seems Newtown want their bread buttered on both sides, what I will say is their facilities are very good, but it is time the Club came out said it was committed to the Clare League, the best way to show this is to start working with other clubs, ie as per my earlier thoughts that seem to have fallen on deaf ears!!! Trouble with Newtown is they openly critise other Clubs and players and have isolated themselves, maybe an olive branch would be the way forward.

Ballbrwaker,
    Oldspice, you have it wrong,there is no club more dedicated to Clare soccer than Newtown,we have never done anything under the table,in our attempts to join the limerick league the clare league were always involved.The committee of Newtown have felt for the last number of years that the club is dying,the main reason being that any player with ambition and who is good enough will play in the Limerick league.Maybe a lot of it is perception but thats a hard thing to change,The Shannon clubs are more in danger than any other team,there are 4 clubs in Shannon and 5 within a 5 mile radius,the 5 outside would be considered Parish teams where they would all pull together,Shannon hasn't got that parish feeling because there are 2 many clubs,maybe madmick has it all said above,we need the main clubs to form a steering committee and look to improve the standard,this goes from facilities,refs and a lot more.

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    Well said Oldspice, seems Newtown want their bread buttered on both sides, what I will say is their facilities are very good, but it is time the Club came out said it was committed to the Clare League, the best way to show this is to start working with other clubs, ie as per my earlier thoughts that seem to have fallen on deaf ears!!! Trouble with Newtown is they openly critise other Clubs and players and have isolated themselves, maybe an olive branch would be the way forward.
    Well Madmick looks like i was ahead of you,again i will state Newtown FC are totally committed to the Clare league,we do not want our bread buttered on both sides,we have never fallen out with the league and have been upfront in everything we have tried to do.with everything fallen through we have no problem working with the other clubs to improve the standard.

Oldspice, you have it wrong,there is no club more dedicated to Clare soccer than Newtown,we have never done anything under the table,in our attempts to join the limerick league the clare league were always involved.The committee of Newtown have felt for the last number of years that the club is dying,the main reason being that any player with ambition and who is good enough will play in the Limerick league.Maybe a lot of it is perception but thats a hard thing to change,The Shannon clubs are more in danger than any other team,there are 4 clubs in Shannon and 5 within a 5 mile radius,the 5 outside would be considered Parish teams where they would all pull together,Shannon hasn't got that parish feeling because there are 2 many clubs,maybe madmick has it all said above,we need the main clubs to form a steering committee and look to improve the standard,this goes from facilities,refs and a lot more.
    Did newtown inform the clare league about all they were doing in relation to forming a new club with park??????

Results....

Premier division playoff...

Cratloe 5 2 Rineanna

Rineanna now play Olympic in the playoff to decide who will play premier football next season. Thurs night in Newtown I believe.

Fai Area final....

Newtown 2 1 Bridge Celtic.