Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
    Bridge and Rineanna is on Friday Evening
    I would say the Bridge will give the game to Rineanna as they have nothing to play for and that should mean that Cratloe v Rineanna should be some game a real scrap, Rineanna I believe have won both Fixtures in the League this year which is quiet surprising considering the table and yes the League have done it again, name any other League in the World that would let Connolly keep the only 3 points they won before they pulled out, guess what it was Rineanna that lost. All results should be null and void for games against Connolly!!!!! When are we going to challenge the League with new ideas and the correct Rules?

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    I would say the Bridge will give the game to Rineanna as they have nothing to play for and that should mean that Cratloe v Rineanna should be some game a real scrap, Rineanna I believe have won both Fixtures in the League this year which is quiet surprising considering the table and yes the League have done it again, name any other League in the World that would let Connolly keep the only 3 points they won before they pulled out, guess what it was Rineanna that lost. All results should be null and void for games against Connolly!!!!! When are we going to challenge the League with new ideas and the correct Rules?
    Has any action been taken against Connolly other than going into the first division where they were heading for anyway, they should be put into the 3rd division next year and let a 3rd division team into the 2nd and so on...that would reward teams that put time and effort into ther season, im sure teams that are in the playoffs would agree

[QUOTE=MadMick]I would say the Bridge will give the game to Rineanna

You must be joking, Bridge don't roll over for anyone and would not expect anyone to hand a game to them. Last year when we needed 1 win to secure the league Rineanna came to the bridge and fought like dogs and earned a draw (fair play to them).
    They had nothing to play for then but didn't want us to win. Why should we return the favour.
    Any team that does not fulfil their fixtures should be fined, whether it be first or last game of the season. Clubs have to take responsibility for improving the image of the league as well. It is easy to point fingers at the Clare League committee (who may I add give hours and hours of voluntary time each year to facilitate our league).

We must improve our own clubs first. Well run clubs means a well run league and a well run club is a proud clud who does not give walkovers.

[QUOTE=Prem Rep!]
    I would say the Bridge will give the game to Rineanna

You must be joking, Bridge don't roll over for anyone and would not expect anyone to hand a game to them. Last year when we needed 1 win to secure the league Rineanna came to the bridge and fought like dogs and earned a draw (fair play to them).
    They had nothing to play for then but didn't want us to win. Why should we return the favour.
    Any team that does not fulfil their fixtures should be fined, whether it be first or last game of the season. Clubs have to take responsibility for improving the image of the league as well. It is easy to point fingers at the Clare League committee (who may I add give hours and hours of voluntary time each year to facilitate our league).

We must improve our own clubs first. Well run clubs means a well run league and a well run club is a proud clud who does not give walkovers.
    Yes but what about all the GAA lads??

[QUOTE=Prem Rep!]
    I would say the Bridge will give the game to Rineanna

Well said PremRep (I'll have to ask Beano if you are who I think you are!!!). Many are for too quick to slag off the league without realising how much work they do put in. It seems that the more time and effort you put in to the Clare League, the more duties fall into your lap and the more open you are to criticism. It would be easy for these guys to decide they can't be bothered with the hassle and just chuck it in, and where would we be then? Prime example is Mike Lydon who puts in endless hours in a thankless job. I also agree with what you're saying about not fulfilling fixtures. We had to go out last week and play a meaningless game against Rock rovers. Neither team had anything to play for as far as promotion or relegation was concerned but we did it anyway. The bottom line is, at the start of the season, you sign up to play soccer and to play out the season. Just because you get a bit cheesed off towards the end of the season is no reason to let your team-mates and club down.

Quote:
    We must improve our own clubs first. Well run clubs means a well run league and a well run club is a proud clud who does not give walkovers.[/QUOTE]

Well said Prem Rep. you are dead right. Clubs should take it upon themselves to improve their own clubs image's. The rest will follow suit. Plus what about a little thing called local pride? Why any club would give a walkover is beyond me?

Yes but what about all the GAA lads??
    For a club to be successful they cannot rely on the GAA lads. We in the Bridge are always relying on a few GAA lads to strenghten our squad but the core of the team would be soccer guys.
    If we are to accomodate the GAA guys it would ,mean we only have 3 months to get our business out of the way. Most Senior and football teams train for 9 mths in the year.
    It is hard in Clare to accomodate everyone but primarily I would worry about the Soccer guys first,GAA guys second.
    We can no longer play second fiddle.

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
    We can no longer play second fiddle.
    Thats the fighting talk needed Prem Rep!!!!!!

Good to see something worth reading on this forum. If all clubs had the attitude that some of ye have then we would improve with each season no doubt...

Huge game Friday really and good to see Bridge will be taking the attitude they took for the 2 game svs Cratloe. I'd expect nothing less from them.

Fair play to the rovers for getting the point in the Bridge last season.... I think we (Rats) gained most out of it when we fell over the line to the Premier title.... I think we had lost to Newtown the same night but won the league in Newmarket the following Sunday.... Happy days but seems yonks ago now!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    Ah those were the days
    my friend...

Premier League Shield Final @ Bunratty...

Newmarket 0 3 Newtown....

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Premier League Shield Final @ Bunratty...

Newmarket 0 3 Newtown....
    Bounced back from losing to Corofin, I hear they are still whingeing about that game last Sunday? What Kind of Team did Newmarket put out?

They played well considering the cup result.Im told Newmarket had some B team with them and some young lads(good mind you) but they had 16.Sean Lindsay was magic again.
    No whinging about Sunday other than about the Hound of the Baskeville who did the line on their side at Doora.What a pain in the ass that man is.

Sean Lindsay is still playing???? What age is he? I remember playing with him ten years ago and i thought he was finishing up back then. Fair play.

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    Sean Lindsay is still playing???? What age is he? I remember playing with him ten years ago and i thought he was finishing up back then. Fair play.
    I think he thought you were done 10 years ago

Quote Originally Posted by 4-4-2
    When are you scheduled to play your big game?

There could be news on that today or tomorrow clare league are in a hurry to get the season over so who knows what they'll do

Yes true, and he wouldve been correct

He retired about 7 years ago and made a comeback last year but could only play a few minutes with his knees.This year he is getting through most games.But he does more work and good stuff than most guys do in 10 matches.
    If he had been this consistent I,d say Hugh Kelly would have had him in the Oscars.Hugh is a great admirer.Roll on Shanto for another few years!!

premier/1st division playoff

The fixture(s) for the premier/1st division playoff are listed in the champion. It has a provisional fixture for Sunday at 11 Rineanna v Cratloe and also a fixture for 11 for Olympic v Rineanna or Cratloe. I presume this means that if Rineanna don't beat the Bridge on Friday, they will be playing Olympic on sunday (At Ballycasey). Then the Olympic fixture is repeated on Thursday at 7 in Ballycasey. It looks like this means if Rineanna do beat the Bridge on Friday, they will then play off against Cratloe on Sunday for the right to stay up while the losers will then play off against Olympic on Thursday. Confused?

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    The fixture(s) for the premier/1st division playoff are listed in the champion. It has a provisional fixture for Sunday at 11 Rineanna v Cratloe and also a fixture for 11 for Olympic v Rineanna or Cratloe. I presume this means that if Rineanna don't beat the Bridge on Friday, they will be playing Olympic on sunday (At Ballycasey). Then the Olympic fixture is repeated on Thursday at 7 in Ballycasey. It looks like this means if Rineanna do beat the Bridge on Friday, they will then play off against Cratloe on Sunday for the right to stay up while the losers will then play off against Olympic on Thursday. Confused?
    We play in the Clare league did you expect anything else other than confusion, people who might be working sunday will have to wait untill late friday to see if they are playing sunday morning or not...fair play to the league to think about the players, and they wonder why the limerick teams find it easy to get clare players to join there teams,why not have the game Friday followed by the playoff next weekend and if there has to be a match in between it can be played midweek...common sense is too much to ask