Page 27 of 133 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777127 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Clare 1st Division

Kilrush 1 Bridge Celtic 5 (Paul McEvoy 3)(Ger O'Connell 2)

Any other scores?

Quote Originally Posted by hacker
    you say you haven't slated olympic..maybe you should look over some of you past treads

.too many primadonnas, lack of discipline,managment not good enough..managment to be told to f--k off by mid april...I could not imagine Jimmy and Joey working hard up front, unless the ball's to feet they would stand with hands on hips!! when are Special Olympic going to blow up....
    Well looks like I was right on one score,

Mountshannon 1 Olympic 0, now the trouble is you boys are doing your talking on this site and not on the pitch, Bridge Celtic next, 9 goals in two games, what can I say but have you the b.lls for Wednesday, when was the last time you won out there!!! you may say I slate Olympic but the facts are you are not good enough to win the division or get promoted, if the League was decided on this site you would win by a distance, but can you show the same commitment were it matters!! I doubt it and I would say Kilkishen will beat Rock twice to steal 3rd place and leave you all wondering what happened yet again. You might not like what I say but that could be because the truth hurts, did I not see a certain player on the tiles last night yet again!!

C'mon Bridge Celtic, We look to have turned corner... Couple of more wins and we are set. Great record against s olmpic in past seasons and to be honest we wouldn't be afraid of them.Roll on Wednesday Night!! May the best team win!

Corofin Harps 2-0 Bunratty B.

Very close game and Bunratty B's lack of a goalscorer was there downfall again. Corofin scored after 10 mins after a mistake by the Bunratty keeper but after this Bunratty had a few chances but could not take them. Harps sealed the points with a good goal in the 85th minute.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Corofin Harps 2-0 Bunratty B.

Very close game and Bunratty B's lack of a goalscorer was there downfall again. Corofin scored after 10 mins after a mistake by the Bunratty keeper but after this Bunratty had a few chances but could not take them. Harps sealed the points with a good goal in the 85th minute.
    Olympic Lost 1-0 to MountShannon in a good hard game with both teams having the chances to win, Olympic were caught flat footed for the goal and paid for it but gave everything trying to get one back and on another day could have had a hat full of goals but it was not to be and fair play to MountShannon they beat us twice and not many teams do that too often in one season best of luck to ye lads and thanks for the food after the match the old sweet and sour sauce was very nice with the chicken balls...as for the our next match,football is a funny old game and who knows we are due a win out there

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    Any news on Kilmaley v Kilrush last night?

Cousinsyl will you now have all the lads for the games against Corofin and Tulla or do you only have one game left this season?
    Kilmaley and Kilrush wasn't played ... pitch unplayable.
    Yesterday, Rock v Kilkishen off as some boy racers decided to do a few handbrake turns on Rock pitch Saturday night. Pitch is an absolute mess as is the Manus pitch beside it.
    Tulla Utd. 0 - Kilmaley 1. leaves Tulla wondering what has happened in the last few weeks and Kilmaley looking to climb out of the play-off spot. Tulla have reason to feel aggrieved with the ref again though. They thought they had equalised from the spot but ref told them to take it again. Keeper saved second attempt.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I now make it Mountshannon with 29 after 16, then Corofin on 23 after 14. Big group on 21 of Tulla after 14 games, Olympic after 12, Rock after 15 and Bridge Celtic after 12. That would make the alternative table look like :

TEAM------------PLAYED------POINTS--------PERCENTAGE--MAX AVAILABLE
    Mountshannon------16-----------29-----------------60-----------35
    Olympic------------12-----------21-----------------58-----------39
    Bridge--------------12-----------21-----------------58-----------39
    Corofin-------------14-----------23-----------------55-----------35
    Kilkishen------------11----------17------------------52-----------38
    Tulla---------------14-----------21-----------------50-----------33
    Rock---------------15-----------21-----------------47-----------30
    Kilmaley------------12-----------15-----------------42-----------33
    Bunratty-----------13------------8------------------21-----------23
    Kilrush--------------15-----------8------------------18-----------17

Still very little decided except Kilrush now cannot be promoted, Bunratty can only achieve a play-off spot (Olympic must play Corofin, Corofin must play Bridge etc. so at least one of them will have more than 23 points) and Mountshannon are looking extremely good for promotion 'though they can still be caught for the title. Kilmaley will be looking to beat Rock next Sunday to help avoid the play-off spot at the other end. Although Rock are currently in joint 3rd place in the league, they have 3 tough games left (Kilmaley and Kilkishen twice) so it's concieveable that with at least 21 points, they could be relegated via the play-off. Will Wednesday be the biggest game of the season? ... or is it just being touted that way?

Olympians are very quiet this morning. Cmon and slag the Rats or something there will ye. Its just not the same without ye.

Have any of ye got a report on the game yesterday for us??????

I will post fixtures and results as soon as I get them.

Fixtures for Sunday 10th

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 09/04/05

Michael O`Gorman Youths Cup Simi Finals
    Digifone Park: Turnpike Rovers V Lifford A.F.C.
    Referee: P.Markham 11.00
    Assistant Referees: T.McInerney, F.Coote

Digifone Park: Bunratty V St.Pats
    Referee: F.Coote 1.30
    Assistant Referees: T.McInerney , P.Markham

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Fairgreen: Hermitage V Moher Celtic
    A.Murphy 11.00

Sunday 10/04/05
    Clare Cup ¼ Finals
    Corofin: Corofin harps V Newmarket Celtic A
    M.O`Brien 11.00
    Fairgreen: Avenue United A V Newtown A
    D.McCarthy 2.30

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Avenue United B
    P.Markham 11.00

Note: If home teams pitch is unplayable the game will automatically revert to the away teams pitch, fixtures secretary mist be notified by 3.00 on Saturday so referee & away team can be contacted. Failure to do this may result in expulsion from the cup.

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Kilmaley United
    P.Mulready 11.00

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Kilkishen Celtic A
    T.McInerney 2.30

Bunratty: Bunratty B V Mountshannon Celtic
    M.O`Halloran 3.00

Sel Print Second Division League

Fairgreen: Hermitage V Burren United
    F.Coote 11.00

Fairgreen: Turnpike Rovers V Cooraclare Celtic
    D.McCarthy 5.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V St.Pats B
    A.Murphy 6.00

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
    O`Briensbridge:Bridge Celtic B V Kilkishen Celtic B
    D.Cunningham 2.30

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V St.Pats B
    J.Stanford 2.30

Kilkee: Kilkee V Rhine Rovers
    P.Dunne 2.30

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Rinnanna Rovers B
    P.Markham 2.00

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Tulla United B
    D.Brosnan 11.00

Fixtures Midweek 11th to 15th

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Monday 11/04/05
    Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League

Lahinch: Moher Celtic V Cratloe Celtic B
    M.O`Brien 6.45

Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic B V Ennistymon Town
    J.Stanford 6.45

Tuesday 12/04/05
    Munster Youths Cup Clare Area Final
    Digifone Park: Lifford A.F.C. V Turnpike Rovers
    F.Coote 6.15

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bridge United A
    P.Markham 6.30
    Shannon: Shannon Olympic A v Tulla United A
    T.McInerney 6.45

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Tulla United B
    D.Cunningham 6.45

Wednesday 1304/05
    Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic A V Rinnanna Rovers A
    M.O`Brien 6.45

Fairgreen: Avenue United A V Bunratty A
    M.O`Halloran 6.45

Bunratty: Bunratty B Bridge Celtic A
    A.Murphy 6.45

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Kilkishen Celtic A
    P.Cullen 6.45

SEL Print Second Division League
    Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Turnpike Rovers
    J.Deniffee 6.45

Thursday 14/04/05

Coonagh: Cratloe Celtic A V Lifford A.F.C.
    T.McInerney 6.45

SEL Print Second Division League
    Fairgreen: Avenue United B V Cooraclare Celtic
    F.Coote 6.45

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic B V Manus Celtic
    J.Stanford 6.45

Friday 15/04/05

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Kilrush Rangers
    T.McInerney 6.45

Ballycasey: Newtown B V Kilkee
    D.Cunningham 6.45

Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Rhine Rovers
    J.Stanford 6.45

Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Newmarket Celtic B
    A.Murphy 6.45

Clare Cup ¼ Final
    Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Moher Celtic
    M.O`Brien 6.15

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    To be totally honest SLY we deserved at least a point yesterday but we couldnt get the ball into the net.We outplayed mountshannon for most of the game but nothing went our way.We were also let down by some poor refereeing but i think every team is let down by a ref at some stage.Back to the drawing board for the gaffer mcsherry.I think he wants the team to travel to bridgetown tonight in preperation for wednesdays game.
    Talk to your tenants and they may give ye the loan of some mobile accomodation for the couple of nights.

clare cup

clare cup resumes this week. anybody got any views on who's going to win this cup? cousinsly who do you think will win the tie between olympic and avenue b ? just asking since ye played both teams recently.

Quote Originally Posted by footstar
    clare cup resumes this week. anybody got any views on who's going to win this cup? cousinsly who do you think will win the tie between olympic and avenue b ? just asking since ye played both teams recently.
    After playing Avenue B I would have given them a chance against Olympic but I was very impressed with Olympic when we played them. I knew they had good players but the team spirit they showed against us was something I had not seen from an Olympic team in years. If they can match that hunger against Avenue they will have no problems.

I would imagine that the strikeforce of JAJ will cause a lot of problems for Avenue. However I did expect Olympic to take Mntshn yesterday so you never know in this game...

Very suspicious that Avenue, Bridge was called off yesterday cos of a waterlogged pitch. Saturday was one of the best days of the year and Hermitage played on the same pitch at 2.30....

Any Avenue lads an explanation... Looks fraudulent to me.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hacker
    Very suspicious that Avenue, Bridge was called off yesterday cos of a waterlogged pitch. Saturday was one of the best days of the year and Hermitage played on the same pitch at 2.30....

Any Avenue lads an explanation... Looks fraudulent to me.

ya syl the same can be said about the third division...kilkee had 3 games in hand of every one a couple of weeks ago....then both us and manus had four games in 11 days while kilkee only had 2 in 14 days.ok its up to us to win our games but playing 4 in 11 days would take its toll on any team..then they get 2 walkovers..no match last sunday when the gaelic football is on in clare..
    and to top it all off they are down to play manus this tuesday only to hear from a ref on sunday that the actually played last wednesday instead..clare league is getting to be a joke....

great start to my intro to site. got hooked in reading the last 32 threads and nearly burned the feck*n dinner. ennis lad ye' re looking for with little (inside)knowledge about ennis teams. where do i start?????? (most questions seem to be about avenue for some reason????????????)
    last tuesday avenue baet newmarket 5-1 and thursday b team lost to hermitage 1-0 on mud bath. fridays and saturdays games called off. ref walked pitch saturday and decided to call off sundays games as well to give pitch a chance ( tage decided to know better not for the first time). avenue are on a role with 9 wins in a row so no advantage to call it off.
    (previous topics) avenue dont have a pitch because unlike newmarket and st pats there is no one willing to give them a few acres of land for a euro. ( but according to reliabe source watch this space)
    avenue a team made up of older a team players. i dont think there was a falling out with anyone but a desire to be still involved playing without the training. example the average age of back five v tage last thursday was around 35.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Ah its about time someone from Ennis came on here.

Saw a bit of Avenue B yesterday & they're still a damn good side & will give anyone they're playing plenty to think about.

The amount of teams from Ennis is pretty slack nowdays.

What are your thoughts on that ??

Quote Originally Posted by CLIFFORD
    great start to my intro to site. got hooked in reading the last 32 threads and nearly burned the feck*n dinner. ennis lad ye' re looking for with little (inside)knowledge about ennis teams. where do i start?????? (most questions seem to be about avenue for some reason????????????)
    last tuesday avenue baet newmarket 5-1 and thursday b team lost to hermitage 1-0 on mud bath. fridays and saturdays games called off. ref walked pitch saturday and decided to call off sundays games as well to give pitch a chance ( tage decided to know better not for the first time). avenue are on a role with 9 wins in a row so no advantage to call it off.
    (previous topics) avenue dont have a pitch because unlike newmarket and st pats there is no one willing to give them a few acres of land for a euro. ( but according to reliabe source watch this space)
    avenue a team made up of older a team players. i dont think there was a falling out with anyone but a desire to be still involved playing without the training. example the average age of back five v tage last thursday was around 35.
    I passed by the fairgreen on Thursday and saw a little bit of the Avenue B v 'Tage game. It really was a mudbath and I'm not surprised there were no games played there at the weekend. Regardless of how fine a day Saturday was, the pitch was badly cut up. We were down to play Rock on sunday morning at Tiermaclane. While the game was called off due to damage caused to the pitch by vandals on saturday night (to both Rock's pitch and the Manus pitch just beside it) there was a massive difference between the two pitches as Rock had a game in the rain on Thursday while Manus didn't. I would say that any pitch that had a game on Thursday will take a while to recover.

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts

Saw a bit of Avenue B yesterday & they're still a damn good side & will give anyone they're playing plenty to think about.

A few years back the premier division (or first as it was back then) was made up of roughly half Ennis teams and half non Ennis teams. Every Ennis club had a team in the top flight and they were the ones to be feared. Nowadays, you have Avenue and this season, Lifford/Oldtown a recent analgamation of two clubs that were up to then struggling. Back them the thought of Hermitage being in the bottom division (as they were last season) and Turnpike struggling in the second (last season also) would have the boys throwing on the white coats. All through that time, there have been strong underage clubs in Ennis but there it seems to stop. For me, there seems to be a few reasons. You no longer have "country boys" going in to town to play for the strong Ennis teams as used to be the case and the Ennis clubs no longer have the facilities within the town bounds - (Tiermaclane, Ruan and a number of teams sharing the fairgreen ... I rest my case.) The rise in the number of clubs outside Ennis has meant that the townies no longer have the dominance they once enjoyed (this also applies to Newmarket) so the same level of interest does not exist.

Anyone know the result of Cratloe vs Moher last night?????

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Anyone know the result of Cratloe vs Moher last night?????
    Just saw on A2Z Cratloe won it 1-0....

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts

you' d be ****ed off too playing in that **** weekin week out. the standard of pitches and refs is brutal. try to keep people interested but the package has to improve. look at youths and underage soccer. most clubs have none and biggest problem is someone to train them at grass roots level,. the basic things. take gaa or rugby. training pitches foodlights changing rooms. those that have underage teams 99% of there very good players are the ones that are the no1's on the gaa team school team burning them young???
    ennis has avenue a and b good underage structure, as do lifford and pike. tage who will be premier in 2 years have a youths team.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.