Page 25 of 133 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575125 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    Their chance looks to be gone no. They've more games played than any of the teams around them & just haven't gotton the points on the board in the last few weeks.

Bridge Celtic B seemed to have improved beyond all measure.

All of a sudden they've beaten Manus & Olympic B & only lost 1-0 to Kilkee in the last few games. This from a team that was being hammered every week.

Must have signed some new players !!
    I believe they did. Credit to them they deserved the win. There's no excuses for our performances of late. We can blame unkind referees alll we want but they don't like us for a reason. Our problem was really complacency. It was getting very easy for us and as a result most of the team stopped training and look at us now. Even if we do pull it together it may be too late to get our form back.

I have heard a rumour of late though that because some teams have pulled out of the second division that 3 will automatically go up this year. Does anyone know if this is true?

Alternative Div 1 table

A couple of weeks ago, I drew up an alternative table for the 1st division based on the number of points each team had out of the maximum available for their games played. This is it updated. I have also added in one other column which gives the maximum no. of points achievable for each team. It looks interesting and the only mathematical gurantees so far are that Kilrush can't finish in the top two and Mountshannon or Tulla can't finish bottom.

TEAM------------PLAYED------POINTS--------PERCENTAGE--MAX AVAILABLE
    Mountshannon------14-----------26-----------------62-----------38
    Olympic------------10-----------18-----------------60-----------42
    Tulla---------------12-----------21-----------------58-----------39
    Corofin-------------12-----------19-----------------53-----------37
    Bridge--------------10-----------15-----------------50-----------39
    Rock---------------14-----------20-----------------48-----------32
    Kilkishen------------10----------14------------------47-----------38
    Kilmaley------------11-----------12-----------------36-----------33
    Bunratty-----------11------------8------------------24-----------29
    Kilrush--------------14-----------8------------------19-----------20
    Last edited by oldspice; 29/03/2005 at 1:36 PM.

Clare Leage 1st Div Result

Bridge Celtic Have beaten Mountshannon 4-1 this evening in Scariff.

Results 29th

Results tonight 29-03-05
    Avenue 3 Newmarket1

Cratloe 5 Newtown 5 played at Ballycasey

The league looks to be between Avenue,Lifford and Bridge United,couldnt believe the earlier threads where lads were tipping Newmarket.

Connolly have pulled out of the PREMIER league,what a joke they should never be allowed enter a team again.

Does that mean top 3 teams of Div1 will go straight up?

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    Well I have herd this is a long way down the line and both clubs have drawn up a list of Club rules, picked a name and are working on the finance side, So I think this will go ahead, not sure how the Clare League are going to respond to this, if it does happen this could make the 1st Division a benificiary of the Premier, if Newtown finish outside the bottom 3 what will the league do, top 3 automatically promoted or top 3 plus a playoff place!
    Well if it does go ahead I wonder what the players will make of it? Do they join Park, give up Soccer or join another team in the region?

who are you hoping they will join?? the whole idea of this is to improve the standard of soccer in Shannon,Park Rangers and Newtown have got together and mapped out the process,next comes the hard bit which will actually be the joining of the 2 clubs. There will be lads unhappy on both sides the better players will join Shannon Town the others will prob join the specials where you dont or didnt have to train. All of this still may not happen but the Clare league is a disaster,as in the previous thread Connolly dropping out of the premier, Any team with a bit of ambition can not possibly stay in a Mickey Mouse league like Clare.It's mainly a league to keep GAA players fit in the close season,The teams i feel sorry for are the likes of Newmarket,Bridge United,Newtown,these are the only true footballing clubs in Clare,next are Bunratty and Olympic,Bunratty got a field given to them,developed it and have done nothing with it since. Olympic have a decent pitch but not sure will there be any further development,the teams that can go and jump are the Ennis teams,i dont know 1 which has it's own pitch,Avenue are the best example,prob the top club in Clare for 20 years,what do they have nothing,relying on their name to pull in players,they have no facilities whatsoever.getting tired,i know i have left out loads,i am sure i will be reminded,

Quote Originally Posted by hawkeye
    Does that mean top 3 teams of Div1 will go straight up?

don't know,the league are liable to do anything.............i would imagine that one more team will be relegated with connolly and the 3rd from bottom in the premier will play the 3rd from top in the 1st.

Tis a joke allright when a premier team drops out of the league.

Tis going from bad to worse !!

And just to add to that both Tullycrine Celtic & Cratloe B have dropped out of division 2.

Complete joke !!!
    Last edited by Pauliwallnuts; 29/03/2005 at 10:32 PM.

Extract from TullyCrine website

THE DREAM IS OVER: The Tullycrine Celtic rollercoaster has finally been halted. Crippling debts and a failed takeover by the Eugene Matthews led consortium led to the Board of Tullycrine Celtic taking the unprecedented step of selling the club’s most prized asset. The ball was sold to an un-named club for a nominal fee. This has resulted in the club being disbanded and this marks the end of one of soccer’s greatest club. For the club, once described by Sepp Blatter as an example to all, it is a sorry occasion.

Quote Originally Posted by hawkeye
    Bridge Celtic Have beaten Mountshannon 4-1 this evening in Scariff.
    Olympic 5 Rats B 3
    Played on a very poor pitch, both teams had very strong teams out but to be fair Olympic could have had more than 5 and the 3 goals Bunratty got have to go down to poor goalkeeping but everyone is entitled to an off night and fair play to the outfield players they done what they needed to do , Olympic captain taking the game to the rats with a fine headed goal in the first few minutes followed by great performances from the forwards and midfield, back 4 were as good as they have been all season and as i said a rare off night for the goekeeper but sure we have all had them, Just like to say that with all the crap said over the last few weeks that the Bunratty lads took the defeat well and have some fine young players coming up the ranks and they wont take long getting into the A team which can only be a good thing for their club...Looks like last nights result in the other g ame has opened thing's up again

Results...

Premier.
    Avenue 5 1 Newmarket
    Cratloe 5 5 Newtown

1st
    Oly 5 3 Rats B
    Mntshn 1 4 Bridge Cel

Have to agree to agree with 4-4-2's assesment of the game. Pitch was very heavy but a good tough but fair game was played. Rats were dissapointed afterwards as 4/5 players did not perform and defensive mistakes cost a number of goals but a few of the youth players on the field were decent. When it went 4-3 with 10 mins left it looked game on but another mistake cost Bunratty again.

However credit to Olympic they were hungry for it and fully deserved the 3 points. Seemed to have a very strong 6 down the middle and Donnacha Kelly, Jimmy Jazz and Joey were excellent all night.

FYI Ballbreaker Bunratty have begun work on an Asto Turf facility so how can you say "Bunratty got a field given to them,developed it and have done nothing with it since" Showers have also been added to the dressing rooms so not 100% sure where you are coming from there...

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Premier.
    Avenue 5 1 Newmarket
    Cratloe 5 5 Newtown

1st
    Oly 5 3 Rats B
    Mntshn 1 4 Bridge Cel

Have to agree to agree with 4-4-2's assesment of the game. Pitch was very heavy but a good tough but fair game was played. Rats were dissapointed afterwards as 4/5 players did not perform and defensive mistakes cost a number of goals but a few of the youth players on the field were decent. When it went 4-3 with 10 mins left it looked game on but another mistake cost Bunratty again.

However credit to Olympic they were hungry for it and fully deserved the 3 points. Seemed to have a very strong 6 down the middle and Donnacha Kelly, Jimmy Jazz and Joey were excellent all night.

FYI Ballbreaker Bunratty have begun work on an Asto Turf facility so how can you say "Bunratty got a field given to them,developed it and have done nothing with it since" Showers have also been added to the dressing rooms so not 100% sure where you are coming from there...
    Fair play Sly at the end of the day it is only a game, a game we all love to play and it was good to have a joke and a smile after it was over,would have to agree with you on development of the ground its not just the pitch that makes a club and i think you have done a fine job on the club house and from what i have been told the new astro turf pitch will be a great asset to your club....if you have any spare cuts left over pass it our way so we can make a nice little garden for our tenants at the Stadio Olympico

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    Who the hell is SLY.
    Sorry Handyman ment cousinsyldolan... by the way good game last night

Quote Originally Posted by 4-4-2
    if you have any spare cuts left over pass it our way so we can make a nice little garden for our tenants at the Stadio Olympico
    I must say I'm very impressed with the arrangement ye have there at the Stadio Olympico.... Its the 1st time I've been at a soccer match and watched Coronation Street at the same time. We will have to look at introducing the same facilities out at Woulfe Park....

Wrong dj and il tell u the plan.A comfortable win tonight and i predict bridge celtic to beat mountshannon also.That will leave us in second 4 points behind mountshannon with 4 games in hand.We will then go to mountshannon on sunday and beat them and the league will be over by next wednesday when we beat bridge celtic away.thanks for your time.
    Ye all heard it from me yesterday.[/QUOTE]

Leave that quote right there Handyman. I've a feeling it could make interesting reading in the future !!!! Talking of the league being over whn there's seven games to play ????

Cheers it was a good game-bunratty fought hard and never gave up.At 3 nil i thought that was it but fair play to bunratty to come straight back and score.And we all thought we wouldnt be hearing from 4-4-2 for a while!
    Cant keep a good man down i felt you were slipping last night at 3-0 so i had to put a bit of life back in the game normal services will resume Sunday

Leave that quote right there Handyman. I've a feeling it could make interesting reading in the future !!!! Talking of the league being over whn there's seven games to play ????
    Only having a laugh [/QUOTE]

Likewise. Ye are putting a pretty good run together though. Looks like ye might have gotten over the dreaded sticky patch early in the season. Bridge Celtic, Mountshannon and Tulla all seem to be dropping silly points at the moment while Kilkishen went through a 6 game run they'd rather forget about. A couple of tough games coming up in the next week mind you. The league table should be able to give a better indication of things by the end of next week.

Id be very happy to get 4 points from the next 2 games.These games will tell a lot.Id fancy ye to beat tulla again tonight.[/QUOTE]

I've learned to take nothing for granted. Tulla will be up for it after last Friday and we will be missing a few players due to a local funeral. We tried to get the match changed but couldn't so we'll have to go with what we have.

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    Id be very happy to get 4 points from the next 2 games.These games will tell a lot.Id fancy ye to beat tulla again tonight.
    I've learned to take nothing for granted. Tulla will be up for it after last Friday and we will be missing a few players due to a local funeral. We tried to get the match changed but couldn't so we'll have to go with what we have.[/QUOTE]

That's bad form from the Clare league, you should have told them there was a hurling match and you would have got it off,
    good run at the moment from kilkishen i know a few lads playing out that way and it would be great to see you go up after the start you had to this season..not at our expence of course

That's bad form from the Clare league, you should have told them there was a hurling match and you would have got it off,
    good run at the moment from kilkishen i know a few lads playing out that way and it would be great to see you go up after the start you had to this season..not at our expence of course [/QUOTE]

In fairness to the league, they offered us the option of deferring the game to tomorrow night. Unfortunately, that didn't suit Tulla as they had a few guys who got off work to play tonight and would find it impossible to change that to tomorrow at such short notice. Just one of those things I guess but it gives a chance to some players who might not have got a game tonight otherwise. That's the reason we have 16 or 17 in a squad and not 12 or 13 I suppose.