Page 15 of 133 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565115 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Underage Soccer

Kids are interested in playing soccer. The Ennis Town Football Academy has about 150 kids ranging in age from 5 years to 12 or 13 attending every Friday evening. The problem is, maintaining that interest later on. The GAA has the traditional and established set up where there are adults prepared to put in the hours to coax them along. Teenagers want everything put on a plate for them and the GAA are willing to do that for them. Soccer clubs, with the obvious exceptions such as Park, do not have the facilities the money or the manpower to do for the kids what the GAA are doing so if the kids are getting treated better by the GAA (and increasingly, by Rugby clubs), soccer clubs have a huge uphill struggle to hold on to players.
    Mind you, the ridiculous situation that exists with the Clare Youths league this season doesn't help either. For the first year that I can remember, 10 or 12 clubs entered the Youths league and it looked like there might be a decent league for a change rather than the same old few. Than what do the Clare league do? They split the league into two divisions and have each team play the other teams in their division 4 times!!! When clubs queried this, the reason given was "To cut down on travel". That's fine for THe Bridge, Bunratty Lifford and Turnpike who were all put in division 1 but Kilkishen then found themselves having to travel twice to each of St.Pats, and Moher .... no issue with the smaller clubs having to travel then!!! And don't tell me it was because of the huge gulf between the teams - Bunratty drew Kilkishen in the cup and would consider themselves lucky to have got through on penalties. The result is that because of having to travel and play the same clubs week after week (St. Pats last 3 games are all against Moher) lads have just got sick of it and aren't bothering to turn up. I know that with Kilkishen, after starting with a squad of well over 20 players, they are now struggling to field a team and the guys that put in the huge effort to get that team off the ground this season are pretty disillusioned with it also. The same goes for the guys over Bunratty youths so I can only believe it counts across the board.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    All they were promised was the oppurtunity to play youths football....

Something which Newtown, Park, Shn Tn, Special Oly and Rineanna cannot offer...

They got a set of gear sponsored and may get more depending on performance.

Cousin,You talk alot of sense most of the time but the above is crap.
    Correct me if i am wrong,your A team manager got a fella from Rinneanna to sign up all the decent youths in or around shannon with the lure of tracksuits,bags,Dreamteam etc,Yes these lads are easily lead.If i am wrong cousin,tell me this how many of your youth team was with Bunratty last year????00000

Quote Originally Posted by BallBreaker
    Cousin,You talk alot of sense most of the time but the above is crap.
    Correct me if i am wrong,your A team manager got a fella from Rinneanna to sign up all the decent youths in or around shannon with the lure of tracksuits,bags,Dreamteam etc,Yes these lads are easily lead.If i am wrong cousin,tell me this how many of your youth team was with Bunratty last year????00000
    Fair enough point Ballbreaker and I can see what you are getting at.

Bunratty had no U 17 or U 18 team last season so none of the current youth team would have had the oppurtunity to play with the club.

The setting up of the current youths team had very little to do with the A team manager. All he did in fact was secure a sponsor for the set of gear they got.
    The current youths manager was not happy with the lack of help he got from the club he was involved with last season during and after the U 17 final. He therefore expressed interest in moving to a new club so Bunratty saw an oppurtunity and approached him. Its as simple as that.

I would say that the trophies won by Bunratty over the last 10 years had a lot to do with having strong youth teams in the past.
    Is this the reason why you seem to be jibing all the time about the "re-incarnation" of the Bunratty youths.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Fair enough point Ballbreaker and I can see what you are getting at.

Bunratty had no U 17 or U 18 team last season so none of the current youth team would have had the oppurtunity to play with the club.

The setting up of the current youths team had very little to do with the A team manager. All he did in fact was secure a sponsor for the set of gear they got.
    The current youths manager was not happy with the lack of help he got from the club he was involved with last season during and after the U 17 final. He therefore expressed interest in moving to a new club so Bunratty saw an oppurtunity and approached him. Its as simple as that.

I would say that the trophies won by Bunratty over the last 10 years had a lot to do with having strong youth teams in the past.
    Is this the reason why you seem to be jibing all the time about the "re-incarnation" of the Bunratty youths.
    I would just like to qualify what cousinsyl was saying. I work with and know personally the youths manager in question, and had to endure last year a lot of moaning about how little help he was getting from the club. He wanted to continue on into youths with the players he had worked with but was reluctant to stay with .... let's get it out there ..... Rineanna. Bunratty offered him the opportunity to do so, the players wanted to continue to play under him and Rineanna had nobody else willing to run a youths team. I can think of no more logical solution.

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    I would just like to qualify what cousinsyl was saying. I work with and know personally the youths manager in question, and had to endure last year a lot of moaning about how little help he was getting from the club. He wanted to continue on into youths with the players he had worked with but was reluctant to stay with .... let's get it out there ..... Rineanna. Bunratty offered him the opportunity to do so, the players wanted to continue to play under him and Rineanna had nobody else willing to run a youths team. I can think of no more logical solution.
    Okay I can agree with some of this but this was done very cloak and dagger and no one had the decency to explain this to Tommy Austin who is one of the most genuine people in Clare soccer. Maybe the Youth Team Manager and players should have shown just a little respect for this individual instead fo going behind his back as seems to be the normal. If you make a decision at least have the balls to advise the people you are leaving rather than they find out from a third source. The two individuals no doubt are not on speaking terms which is probably just as well for one of them!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    Okay I can agree with some of this but this was done very cloak and dagger and no one had the decency to explain this to Tommy Austin who is one of the most genuine people in Clare soccer. Maybe the Youth Team Manager and players should have shown just a little respect for this individual instead fo going behind his back as seems to be the normal. If you make a decision at least have the balls to advise the people you are leaving rather than they find out from a third source. The two individuals no doubt are not on speaking terms which is probably just as well for one of them!!!!!!!!
    I can't tell whether they are on speaking terms and I'm not sure how much anyone in Rineanna knew about the situation beforehand but I would have to agree with what you say about Tommy Austin. Any club would be blessed to have such a hard working member. Tommy is Rineanna and they would be totally screwed without him. However, in a way, it merely strengthens what I was saying. Too many people in the Rineanna club are far too willing to just sit back and let Tommy do all the work. He served them loyally as a player for years and even back then was a hard working club member. Now, as far as I can gather, he is the one who lines the pitch etc. for most, if not all games and last season, I even witnessed him lining the pitch for a few U-17 games. Surely, so much should not be allowed to fall back on one person and from what I know, this was a large part of the reason - right or wrong - that last years U-17 manager decided to go to a different club.

I bet you find this in every club one person seems to be doing everything while everyone else just turns up on a Sunday expecting to be picked. This is why our clubs are behind the teams in Limerick, fellas are only interested in themselves and not bothered in the club!

Quote Originally Posted by handyman
    Dont think this is the case at every club
    Well Tony's your one Man, doubt if he gets much help to run the club.

for years Tony has had to bear the brunt of the loins share of the work at Olympic, its true, but your seriously misinformed if you think that is still the case. Rob McSherry, like him or loathe him, is making a massive effort down there and earning the respect of the players and everyone invloved with the club. Likewise James Carrig and Jimmy Bullman. Fair play to them !

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    for years Tony has had to bear the brunt of the loins share of the work at Olympic, its true, but your seriously misinformed if you think that is still the case. Rob McSherry, like him or loathe him, is making a massive effort down there and earning the respect of the players and everyone invloved with the club. Likewise James Carrig and Jimmy Bullman. Fair play to them !
    Your club seems to be taking off this year!! Joey and Jimmy must be scoring for fun, I was told last Sunday that their effort basically won the game. Must fancy your chances against Kilrush this Sunday!

Gone quiet on the Bunratty Front!

Wink Hacker

good luck to ye , Tony and James deserve a bit of luck

Quote Originally Posted by riverside
    good luck to ye , Tony and James deserve a bit of luck
    Thanks riverside,

think Jimmy Bullman has used up his quota of luck for the next decade though.........re: his goal direct from a throw against Newmarket B a few sundays ago

Your club seems to be taking off this year!! Joey and Jimmy must be scoring for fun, I was told last Sunday that their effort basically won the game. Must fancy your chances against Kilrush this Sunday!

Gone quiet on the Bunratty Front!
    We'd have to fancy our chances against our recent form and judging kilrush have only picked up 4 points i think out of 12 games. We are missing one of our best players and they have home advantage which helps them but i still think we'll be to strong for them.

The Clare League are responsible for the lack of interest not only at youth level but at junior as well. This league we play in is nothing short of a joke, a laughing stock for all of those around us to poke fun at. Teams with no pitches, no dressing rooms and no ambition, just going through the motions week in week out. Arriving 10 minutes from kick-off after rounding up players that morning. A league that pumped mountains of money into a facility in Doora where games are decided by the prevailing winds!! I have to admire the likes of Newtown, Bunratty, Bridge, Newmarket for at least showing a bit of ambition and having decent facilities and they know how to look after them. No point in having a cracking pitch and then letting a lad on a council mower in to wreck it. I was going to say Olympic, kilkishen and Bridge Celtic but they seem to be happy at the level their playing. Some teams try and then lose the players that they have brought through because of the lure of the Limerick League where we will all agree the standard and facilities are so far ahead, its frightening. I for one agree with Newtown in trying to get out of the Clare League, at least it will entice the youth of the area to play again on good pitches, to a good standard and have a league that's run properly.

Quote Originally Posted by devilfish
    The Clare League are responsible for the lack of interest not only at youth level but at junior as well. This league we play in is nothing short of a joke, a laughing stock for all of those around us to poke fun at. Teams with no pitches, no dressing rooms and no ambition, just going through the motions week in week out. Arriving 10 minutes from kick-off after rounding up players that morning. A league that pumped mountains of money into a facility in Doora where games are decided by the prevailing winds!! I have to admire the likes of Newtown, Bunratty, Bridge, Newmarket for at least showing a bit of ambition and having decent facilities and they know how to look after them. No point in having a cracking pitch and then letting a lad on a council mower in to wreck it. I was going to say Olympic, kilkishen and Bridge Celtic but they seem to be happy at the level their playing. Some teams try and then lose the players that they have brought through because of the lure of the Limerick League where we will all agree the standard and facilities are so far ahead, its frightening. I for one agree with Newtown in trying to get out of the Clare League, at least it will entice the youth of the area to play again on good pitches, to a good standard and have a league that's run properly.
    Maybe CousinSly can enlighten us as I have heard a rumour that the Premier Clubs have met to decide the future of Clare Soccer? Any proposals or discussions with the League on this one?

Quote Originally Posted by devilfish
    I can understand Newtown wanting to play on better pitches etc. but where will that leave the league? - the two biggest (arguably) clubs in Shannon playing in a league in a different county and taking the best young players from the biggest soccer base (no. of players-wise). Clubs like Newtown have set the standard in Clare in terms of facilities for other clubs to aim for. I know most clubs will never be able to achieve this without the financial backing and population base that Newtown have but if they leave, it's a backward step for the rest of us. If Newtown had, for arguments sake, got their way a few seasons ago and moved to Limerick, do you think they'd be able to compete at a reasonable level with the squad of players they currently have? Of course not. However, they'd be using that very incentive you spoke of - better pitches, facilities etc. to entice away the best of the up and coming talent and it would be the likes of Olympic, Bunratty etc that would suffer the most. When you have a league such as ours, someone is always going to have the best facilities and if that someone, each in turn decides "I'm better than all these others, so I'm off somewhere bigger and better", systematically, the league gets weaker while others get stronger and that's one of the reasons the Limerick league is so much stronger than ours. The vicious circle dictates that every season, many of our strongest players will hit off into Limerick where we should be doing whatever possible to get those guys back playing in the Clare league and reverse the trend.

Maybe CousinSly can enlighten us as I have heard a rumour that the Premier Clubs have met to decide the future of Clare Soccer? Any proposals or discussions with the League on this one?
    There is a proposed meeting of managers/officials from premier and 1st division clubs to discuss the situation. I believe some members of the league are pushing hard for summer soccer. Many of the stronger clubs are in favour of this but I'd imagine there would also be a lot of opposition to it, particularly from the rural clubs. Anyone fancy a Summer league made up of Newtown, Olympic, Bridge Utd, Bunratty, Avenue, Turnpike and Hermitage?

Any date set for this meeting?

Fridays rant........

I can understand Newtown wanting to play on better pitches etc. but where will that leave the league? - the two biggest (arguably) clubs in Shannon playing in a league in a different county and taking the best young players from the biggest soccer base (no. of players-wise). Clubs like Newtown have set the standard in Clare in terms of facilities for other clubs to aim for. I know most clubs will never be able to achieve this without the financial backing and population base that Newtown have but if they leave, it's a backward step for the rest of us. If Newtown had, for arguments sake, got their way a few seasons ago and moved to Limerick, do you think they'd be able to compete at a reasonable level with the squad of players they currently have? Of course not. However, they'd be using that very incentive you spoke of - better pitches, facilities etc. to entice away the best of the up and coming talent and it would be the likes of Olympic, Bunratty etc that would suffer the most. When you have a league such as ours, someone is always going to have the best facilities and if that someone, each in turn decides "I'm better than all these others, so I'm off somewhere bigger and better", systematically, the league gets weaker while others get stronger and that's one of the reasons the Limerick league is so much stronger than ours. The vicious circle dictates that every season, many of our strongest players will hit off into Limerick where we should be doing whatever possible to get those guys back playing in the Clare league and reverse the trend.

As a current player, there are two things which really get on my wick. The first is the pitches. The clare League will never progress beyond its currently shambles if some standard of quality is not brought in for the pitches. In the 1st division there are probably only 3-4 decent pitches. In the premier probably 5-6. Most need serious improvement. Training week in/week out on a decent pitch and then having to go out on a sunday and play on these "fields" is getting ridiculous. This brings me on to my second point. Without decent pitches, trying to play a passing game is futile. I think this is the main reason Newtown have decided to up sticks. In the Limerick league, because the pitches have been of a good standard for the last 10 years, their passing game is now well developed. Not only has this bred more success for Limerick League clubs in national competition it is also more enjoyable to play. Most teams in the Clare League play a kick and chase type game especially in the lower divisions, which will never succeed outside Clare. If anyone is at this proposed meeting of 1st and Prem clubs, then they would be well advised to bring up this point. I think this represents the feeling of most players in my club, and down in Newtown. Whether the powers that be choose to listen is another story...........

One more thing.........passed the doora pitch the other day, and the outside at least, seems to be in a complete state of disrepair, completely overgrown with hedges and litter everywhere.........i think that says it all about the CL's commitment!

Thumbs down

Summer soccer for clare would be a disaster,the reason the clare league is in the shape its in at the moment is because a lot of clubs struggle against the GAA for players,if you go head to head with the GAA in clare there will only be one outcome.