A refereeOriginally Posted by OpenGoal
What kind of a PAGAN would work on a Sunday???????Originally Posted by 4-4-2
A refereeOriginally Posted by OpenGoal
Absolutely not,fair play to Corofin,Newtown never whinged about losing the game,the whinged like all the teams do when they get that ejit the famous Paddy.He was only doing the line but again he needs centre stage.On the match Newtown missed a hatful of changes but Corofin hung in there and got what they deserved.I would also like to wish both Corofin and Moher all the best in the Final.Originally Posted by MadMick
Newtown played well in the Shield final,2 lovely goals by Johnny O and Cheeky to lead 2-0 at HT,Jay Stretton added a 3rd with a penalty.Great night in the lodge with the cup with hopefully 2 more to follow,we play Bridge Celtic on Sunday in Doora in the FAI area final (2pm) and Rinneanna Rovers in the Munster area Final the following week in Rinneanna,both games will be tough.It was great to see Cousinsyl there,i thought he might have given his views on the match.![]()
Was Paul Carr playing for Newtown,Ballbreaker??Originally Posted by BallBreaker
Sean Lindsay is a legend!!!!Originally Posted by OpenGoal
Came on for the last 15 mins,Paul has struggled with an injury since christmas,he been back on the panel for the last few matches,Originally Posted by Revolver
and i agree Lindsay is magic,he puts everything into it,he shows great heart in all games.![]()
I actually was speaking to a Newtown guy in Shannon last night and he told me he just can't get on the team.Originally Posted by BallBreaker
Injured or not???
What a player,shame if he is wasted on the bench.
Lot's of clubs would be crying out for a guy as talented as him,Ballbreaker.
I am not sure it should be wasted on the bench, he is were he is because "He is always wasted in the Pub"!!!! Harsh maybe but Paul has a Junior International Cap, without doubt the most gifted player we have produced and a joy to watch when on song but a flawed attitude, now we could all name a few players with less ability but have done more, ability does not always guarantee success!Originally Posted by Revolver
Apologies did not mean to affend, just trying to make a point!! I think the world of Paul and he would freely admit his achilles heel.Originally Posted by handyman
With sean lindasay playing well and Pcarr to come back into the team next year, along with the youngsters okoro & cheeky etc., newtown must be fairly confident of a good year next year?? Am i right?? Hope fully the olympic can drag themselves kicking and screaming back up into the premier so we can contest the derby games again.
[QUOTE=4-4-2]We play in the Clare league did you expect anything else other than confusion
Come on 4-4-2, it's not rocket science. Would you prefer the league to drag on for another week and have no fixture Sunday?
[QUOTE=Prem Rep!]So you have a full team tonight?Originally Posted by 4-4-2
[QUOTE=Prem Rep!]Got it in one its not rocket science so why do the fixtures always seem like someone from another planet came up with them...i play for Olympic and we had the same a week or two ago where we played 2 games with only one day in between them and our lads were tired in the second game, now dont get me wrong this could be an advantage to Olympic come sunday but you have to think past this season and ask the question are the league showing respect to players who give up alot in a season be it work or time with there family's to train and play games during the winter in the muck and S**T and come the end of the season have to plan around fixture's which someone just picks of the top of his head so he can get the season over with...if Connoly were in the playoffs would there be only one days rest...i think not so thats my rant over for the day, feel free to come back and say what a great job he is doing with the fixtures but its the way i and most people i have talked to feel,Originally Posted by 4-4-2
P.S are the fixtures made out at the start of the season ,if a fixutre is not fulfilled it should be put to the end of the season if not why is this not in place and published at the start of the season so teams know who and when they play... rant rant rant
Newtown confidence appears to be on a high at the moment.
Any predictions for Sunday.
Newtown 2 - 1 Bridge Celtic
[QUOTE=4-4-2]In a part time amateur league it would be impossible to have a master fixture list published at the start of the season. There are too many variables such as weather, clubs wanting free weekends, not knowing who will survive in the cups etc. If the fixtures were published and then changed, you would always have some club disadvantaged as a result and you can be sure they would complain then with the "master" list to back up their argument. Please bear in mind that Mike Lydon is doing this in his "spare" time with no reward. I actually remember last season hearing people giving out that he wasn't doing his job and at the same time he was trying to care for his father who was dying. The guy is doing a job that no-one else would agree to do. I challenge anyone who thinks they can do a better job to step up to the mark. I have been accused of being too pro Mike Lydon but really why must it be a contest? I happen to think he is doing a good job with very little help (Barry Downes being the one exception).Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
[QUOTE=oldspice]Well this is one of the only countries at Amateur level not to have a fixture book, this can generate money through sales and sponsorship, but the main reason is to give everyone a fair idea of the fixtures they have to play, a full fixture book is not actually a difficult thing to produce and can be done in minutes, I agree the weather is a problem and giving teams free weekends to be honest is a joke. For the league to improve then it really must decide what it wants to achieve, as I have said before it should be 3 Divisions but I think that for the good of the game we should be playing the 2 main divisions on a Saturday and the Reserve League on a Sunday!!! Again there was a meeting between four or five prem clubs but nothing has been heard of since, obviously could not agree on anything!!!!Originally Posted by 4-4-2
[QUOTE=MadMick]Some good stuff in what you say,icluding the good work Michael Lydon does,but the rules have been bent to suit GAA clubs including his own and that cannot be allowed to nhappen.Originally Posted by oldspice
however the Saturday fixtures is totally unrealisdtic because of work culture here.Im amazed how you come to that as a solution???
Newtown are hopelessly inconsistent.How they managed to keep a clean sheet in any match is just by chance but bear in mind that Damien Alford was missing against Corofin due to a family commitment and was playing against Newmarket.Originally Posted by gaffer
[QUOTE=oldspice]Sorry but we are all doing it in our spare time and while im sorry about anyone who has to go throught a loss such as he did i still think it can be done better and a master list as you call it is very easy to do when you just stick to it, players know when and where they are playing and they can plan around it and i agree with madmick( may i burn for doing so ) you could make money from selling it althought i was thinking more along the lines of a web site or print it in the paperOriginally Posted by 4-4-2
..........................as I have said before it should be 3 Divisions but I think that for the good of the game we should be playing the 2 main divisions on a Saturday and the Reserve League on a Sunday!!! Again there was a meeting between four or five prem clubs but nothing has been heard of since, obviously could not agree on anything!!!![/QUOTE]
have to agree with madmick here. saturday football is an excellent idea. Who wants to stay in on a saturday night in their teens/ 20's????