Quote Originally Posted by CLIFFORD
    no panic a2z fault.
    tage champions
    avenue b runners up
    burren or kildysart 3rd place play off
    What about Kilmaley v Rock from Wed night?

Clare soccer publicity - or lack of

4 teams in with a shout for league is what u need every year, but apart from us what publicity has it got. did u see champions effort on league table pleaseeee soccer on clare fm will give us update across the water first. premiership would kill for an ending like this, dream scenarios but who knows so who cares. one week of hype and u could have 3 to 4 hundred watching bridge game instead of 40 people. then highlight lifforrd/bridge. like in the second division if they left avenue/tage till the last fixture it would still be nip and tuck and attract crowds.
    Agree with you totally about the lack of publicity for Clare soccer, its a shame but its good to have this and now the new site http://www.clareleague.com to highlight the big games and league details... I noticed already with the Shannon Olympic/Bridge Celtic Game recently that it had a good crowd at it, largely thanks to the build-up it was given on this site.... Of course it adds to the tension, when you know the game will be discussed the following day on-line.

As for Clare Fm and Clare champion, Soccer coverage is very poor. I often texted ClareFm with a soccer result for sports programme but never was it read out.Really disappointing, I wouldn't just blame J.Madden like some people have, Clare Fm sports policy is directed towards GAA and I know Jim has made a big effort but is just not given the time on Clare Fm. He does do a comprehensive soccer update every saturday on Killaloe Radio's Sport watch programme as his time is not restricted. He promotes the league excellently on that and also discusses some of the league issues we have mentioned on old threads.

I think we should forget about the local media for help in promoting our "beautiful" game and concentrate on the web with foot.ie and clareleague.com... At least we have a say on what the content is.

Well said Murphman.

Have to agree with everything you've said there.

shannon olympic b 1- kilkee 3

Jus finsihed watching the Man U v Newcastle game. Man U back to normal ways after there defeat toNorwich last weekend and Newcastle still lokked shaky. Fat boy Rooney played well again and nice to see Wes Brown scoring.
    Any replies

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy
    Jus finsihed watching the Man U v Newcastle game. Man U back to normal ways after there defeat toNorwich last weekend and Newcastle still lokked shaky. Fat boy Rooney played well again and nice to see Wes Brown scoring.
    Any replies
    what a day for the townies. avenue united beat bridge 2-1 in a game where i thought avenue controlled and looked comforable. brian honan scored from the spot in the first half after a handball in the box. barry nugent scored a second 10 minutes into the second half. bridge scored with 2 minutes remaining. looks good for avenue but watch this space??????
    tage go 2-0 down to turnpike after 5 mins game ended 2-2 very entertaining. tage received cup as league champions. hope they dont have as many arrested tonight as they did when they won the shield.
    avenue b beat kildysart 5-0 micky byrns (only when his too close to the fire) with 2 and alfonso d'auria with a hat rick. what does this mean for 2 div. apparently burren never showed for cooraclare game (must confirm) and if this is true would lose the 3points and another 3 taken off then. (cousinsyl over too u to confirm) that would mean if pike win last game will have a playoff with kildysart for 3rd. might have 4 town teams in 1st div (and rock)
    u'll never beat the townies..............u'll never beat the townies.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

what a day for the townies. avenue united beat bridge 2-1 in a game where i thought avenue controlled and looked comforable. brian honan scored from the spot in the first half after a handball in the box. barry nugent scored a second 10 minutes into the second half. bridge scored with 2 minutes remaining. looks good for avenue but watch this space??????
    tage go 2-0 down to turnpike after 5 mins game ended 2-2 very entertaining. tage received cup as league champions. hope they dont have as many arrested tonight as they did when they won the shield.
    avenue b beat kildysart 5-0 micky byrns (only when his too close to the fire) with 2 and alfonso d'auria with a hat rick. what does this mean for 2 div. apparently burren never showed for cooraclare game (must confirm) and if this is true would lose the 3points and another 3 taken off then. (cousinsyl over too u to confirm) that would mean if pike win last game will have a playoff with kildysart for 3rd. might have 4 town teams in 1st div (and rock)
    u'll never beat the townies..............u'll never beat the townies.
    Lifford kept up their hopes of premier honours with a good 1-3 win against a valiant rineanna rvrs yesterday.... a first half hat-trick meant game was over by half time.... rineanna got a deserved consolation goal a couple of minutes form the end.... pat fahy popping up from centre half again..... bad news for rineanna as they slip into the playoff position below cratloe. cratloe beat bunratty 5-2.....???? i've heard bunratty had only 8 players ...is this true??
    one thing for certain avenue have bit betweeen their teeth now and were deserving winners against bridge...... i thought bridge played into ave hands... they weren't in the match for long periods and only scored when they made some long overdue substitutions.... Karl hogan and brendan rochford were excellent for ave

Bunratty Bees...

What a win for the Rats B team yesterday. Last game of the season and 2-0 down after 10 mins.

Tactical genius form the sideline masterminded a 7 goal scoring spree to win the game 7-2 for Bunratty.

To answer earlier query's....

1. Yes the rule states that a team that does not play should be deducted 3 points. However the Clare Lg should be notified of this as it is common that the team being deducted will come up with some story and the game will be re-played.

2. No its not true that Bunratty Had 8 players against Cratloe. But from what I saw of the game the sooner the season ends for Bunratty the happier they will be.

p.s. What a performance from CousinSyl in the Bulmersfulltime/TV3 sports quiz in Clohessy's last night. I was dissapointed there were no questions on Clare Lg football though.... Any comment on this 4-4-2.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    What a win for the Rats B team yesterday. Last game of the season and 2-0 down after 10 mins.

Tactical genius form the sideline masterminded a 7 goal scoring spree to win the game 7-2 for Bunratty.

1. Yes the rule states that a team that does not play should be deducted 3 points. However the Clare Lg should be notified of this as it is common that the team being deducted will come up with some story and the game will be re-played.

2. No its not true that Bunratty Had 8 players against Cratloe. But from what I saw of the game the sooner the season ends for Bunratty the happier they will be.

p.s. What a performance from CousinSyl in the Bulmersfulltime/TV3 sports quiz in Clohessy's last night. I was dissapointed there were no questions on Clare Lg football though.... Any comment on this 4-4-2.
    Well i felt we gave a good account last night and only for a poor round in 1,2,3,4,7 and 8 i felt we could have won it....as for questions on the Clare Lg i spoke with the man himself Ronnie whealen after the quiz and he is shocked at the way Rats A have fallen apart this season he realy felt they failed to buy in some big names this season, he had nothing but good things to say about Olympic and feels they have enough to go up this year, he whats to sign for us next season but im not too sure he has what it takes although he did drink a fair bit last night,

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch
    Lifford kept up their hopes of premier honours with a good 1-3 win against a valiant rineanna rvrs yesterday.... a first half hat-trick meant game was over by half time.... rineanna got a deserved consolation goal a couple of minutes form the end.... pat fahy popping up from centre half again..... bad news for rineanna as they slip into the playoff position below cratloe. cratloe beat bunratty 5-2.....???? i've heard bunratty had only 8 players ...is this true??
    one thing for certain avenue have bit betweeen their teeth now and were deserving winners against bridge...... i thought bridge played into ave hands... they weren't in the match for long periods and only scored when they made some long overdue substitutions.... Karl hogan and brendan rochford were excellent for ave
    thought eamon o'reilly was super. things weren't looking good before the match when there best striker mike o'mahony was last seen at 5.30 that morning in a heap in the market. league in liffords and avenues hands now. wouldn't it be great if it was a play-off. avenue play rineanna this wednesday and they need the points after slipping into the 3rd spot play-off. moher looked fecked. had they a big squad v newtown. anyoone got a match report?????
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by 4-4-2
    he had nothing but good things to say about Olympic and feels they have enough to go up this year
    Interesting to note ye are that confident considering ye are coming off a 6-1 defeat...

43 Posts

looks like burren had they game pulled as they had no manager. don't know how true this is but they should be booted out for the state of their pitch and putt ground.

Interesting to note ye are that confident considering ye are coming off a 6-1 defeat...
    We dont speak of that match anymore our team shrink has told us to go to our happy place whenever someone mentions it so i just think of Bunratty B in the 2nd div next season

Quote Originally Posted by hacker
    any results from 3rd division yesterday esspecially the ennistymon one
    Just looking at the table a win and a draw from the last 2 games will see Olympic B into 3rd spot. Think we can make a deal with Ennistymon and Rinanna?

CousinSyl, any fixtures for next week?

Great win, should be some game between Kilmaley and Tulla to decide who finishes 3rd from Bottom.

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    CousinSyl, any fixtures for next week?

Great win, should be some game between Kilmaley and Tulla to decide who finishes 3rd from Bottom.
    I think Tulla could find themselves in that playoff place if they dont wake up i think they have B Cletic to play yet...have to admit this season is great for the first div you just dont know who is going to go down, stay up or go up just shows that all the teams are giving it a good go this year

Quote Originally Posted by hacker
    not sure depends on how they got on against newtown
    It's not Ennistymon we need to overtake, but Manus. They are 3 points better off than us with all their games played.

Quote Originally Posted by 4-4-2
    I think Tulla could find themselves in that playoff place if they dont wake up i think they have B Cletic to play yet...have to admit this season is great for the first div you just dont know who is going to go down, stay up or go up just shows that all the teams are giving it a good go this year
    Kilmaley have to be favourites, I think whoever finishes third in Div 2 will fancy playing them. So big 3 days for you?

Foot.ie! Premier title

Lifford are definitely the form team at the mo. Great win over rinana. Look fresh for this stage of the season. Avenue looked solid against Bridge and deserved to win. O'Reilly and Rochford both outstanding at the back but nothing much from midfield up. They could struggle to get goals. Bridge were very poor dont think they can do it now. Lifford to go all the way. Bridge could be out by the time they go to Ruan and Newtown nothing left to play for. Avenue have Rinana and Moher who will be fighting for their lives.

Fixtures.

Lynch Hotels Clare & district soccer League
    Saturday 31/04/05
    Michael O`Gorman Youths Cup Final
    Digifone Park: St.Pats V Lifford A.F.C
    Referee: P.Gleeson 2.00
    Assisiant Referees: P.Cullen, F.Coote