Page 32 of 133 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282132 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by gaffer
    I would agree that a ref should not be allow to do a game with the team closest to him. The number nine you mention from the bridge did get book for raising his arm, should be a red card if the ref followed the rule book. But I did see a Kilkishen player throw a thump off the ball and the ref took no action. We have played Bridge B twise this season and had no problems with them. At the end of it I dont think the Kilkishen players should have walked off the field no matter how bad the ref was, in a game they would have won in my option.
    Did you see the trip that the ref didn't blow for from which Bridge B scored??

Tell me how he could have missed that when there was nobody except those 2 players near the ball. The Kilkishen defender was in front of his man & would almost certainly have cleared that ball yet he was blatantly tripped. There wasn't even a doubt about it. When somebody allows that to happen without blowing for a free out then you know you are being cheated.

And then to send off a player for questioning him was just a total joke !!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    Surely, having a ref in charge of games involving the team closest to him should not be allowed. If I'm correct, this is the second time this season (at least) that this ref has officiated games between Kilkishen B and Bridge Celtic B, and each time in Bridgetown. He also officiated between Bridge Celtic A and Kilkishen A earlier in the season (again in Bridgetown) and I have to say on that occasion he was an absolute disgrace. Biased doesn't even begin to describe it!!!
    sounds like mulready. who was the ref lads??????????????????????????????
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

D.Cunningham is his name I think.

I did see the trip and I agree that the Bridge goal should not have stood. But I also see the ref warning the Kilkishen player before he sent him off. As we have played both teams in the last two weeks I would have to say that we have no problems with either of the two teams.

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    The number 9 playing for Bridge Celtic B was a disgrace & should have been sent off. He even threatened to kill one of his own players. He threw an elbow and a punch off the ball on the same player which the ref saw & didn't send the player off. Kilkishen dominated the game pretty much throughout & the goal that Bridge Celtic got was after a blatant trip on the last defender which the ref could not have missed yet he allowed the goal. When he was questioned about the decision he sent off the player that questioned him.

Yet he felt that punching somebody in the face only warranted a yellow card.

Outside of this Bridge Celtic hardly had a chance during the match.

All of this along with numerous other flashpoints & bad decisions during the game convinced the Kilkishen management that enough was enough & it was fairly obvious that the game wasn't being officiated in a fair manner so they pulled the team out of the match.

Any team in the division will tell you that Kilkishen B when they have their full squad are a match for most teams in the division & always play a fair game.

Ask around what people think of Bridge Celtic B & you will not get the same answer.

The ref is from the area & should not have been in charge of that match in the 1st place
    Have to agree about Bridge Celtic B. Their gameplan seems to involve stamping on feet, shoulders in the back, elbows and whatever else they can get away with. Which unfortunately in this league is quite a lot.

Which club are you from Gaffer ??

Quote Originally Posted by Pauliwallnuts
    Which club are you from Gaffer ??
    Living and playing soccer in shannon at the moment that should narrow it down for you.

Quote Originally Posted by gaffer
    Living and playing soccer in shannon at the moment that should narrow it down for you.
    any news on the fixtures for the next week?

Newtown I take it.

Ye feckin robbed us as well. Good match though.

How we didn't win it is beyond me. Very dodgy penalty ye got.

We had so many chances yet they just wouldn't go in.

It was the the worst downpour I've ever played in.

I've just noticed that D Cunningham is down to ref Bridge Celtic Bs home game this week also. At home to Tulla B tomorrow evening. I can understand the league wanting to cut down on refs travel, especially for midweek games but it can't be good either for any ref to be officiating at too many games for any one team. He becomes too familiar with the players involved and this gets in the way of an unbiased ref, let alone a local one.

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    any news on the fixtures for the next week?
    My source for fixtures and results every week is off work today so I wont have abything until tomorrow.

Sorry lads...

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    My source for fixtures and results every week is off work today so I wont have abything until tomorrow.

Sorry lads...
    Thanks, are you relegated or do you still have a chance of 3rd from bottom?

Quote Originally Posted by MadMick
    Thanks, are you relegated or do you still have a chance of 3rd from bottom?
    Looks bad at this stage I must admit....

Does anyone know if there is a CL meeting tonight????? If yes what time is it on?

Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Looks bad at this stage I must admit....

Does anyone know if there is a CL meeting tonight????? If yes what time is it on?

Cheers.
    I'm told it's on tomorrow night at 8.30. Not certain about the time but it should be about right. There was no meeting scheduled for this week but "matters have arisen". Don't know what they are.

In Memory sudden passing

Lads, i just heard some terrible news,Elliott Woods who plays with Newtown under 14's died this morning in a Dublin hospital,i believe he had some virus which went to his heart,ye might know Elliott's brother better (Julian Woods) this is terrible to the family and also the community in Shannon.
    Can everyone say a prayer for the family, At 13 years of age it's hard to believe,if ye want i can post on the details of arrangements when i get them.
    May he rest in peace.

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    I'm told it's on tomorrow night at 8.30. Not certain about the time but it should be about right. There was no meeting scheduled for this week but "matters have arisen". Don't know what they are.
    My Source has told me this is an internal meeting for the League and not for clubs.

Wink that ref

He becomes too familiar with the players involved and this gets in the way of an unbiased ref, let alone a local one.
    What a load of Rubbish.... Local?? I've lived in O'Brien's Bridge all my life and "That Ref" is not local...Define Local! If he is classed as "Local" then Refs from outside Clare should be used.....i.e Belfast Refs...
    Lads, everyone gets Peed off about Ref decisions, Every team has hassle with Ref's, just get on with it as the saying goes "It'll even itself out over the season"

Its a ****e job being a Ref and often its ****e being a Player... at least they get payed for the grief they get.

Rats B vs Specials next Sunday at 2.30.
    KilKishen vs Rats B Tues night at 6.45.

I should have all the fixtures later. They are in the Star though.

Quote Originally Posted by Murphman
    What a load of Rubbish.... Local?? I've lived in O'Brien's Bridge all my life and "That Ref" is not local...Define Local! If he is classed as "Local" then Refs from outside Clare should be used.....i.e Belfast Refs...
    Lads, everyone gets Peed off about Ref decisions, Every team has hassle with Ref's, just get on with it as the saying goes "It'll even itself out over the season"

Its a ****e job being a Ref and often its ****e being a Player... at least they get payed for the grief they get.
    I did not refer to the ref as "local". I said that Bridge Celtic is the nearest club to him. If you want to interpret that as local, fine. If you don't, then that's fine too. However, from what I've seen of him, not only was he biased,... he was also utter rubbish as a referee.